Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


173 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You win or you die
The Fantasy genre gets the HBO treatment in the adaptation of George RR Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire novels.

The story take place in the mythical land of Westeros where seasons can span decades, it follows four central families the Starks, the Baratheons, the Lannisters and the Targaryens, allegiances shift, betrayal is rife as is the quest for power to be...
Published on 4 Jun. 2012 by SF- A story is as real as you ...

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars struggling to get into it!
Its watchable but not gripping me yet, I have been told to persevere, so I'm onto 2nd season, but finding it hard to get motivated to watch it as each episode is quite long and there is a lot going on. I'm waiting for the awesomeness I believe is to come!
Published on 8 July 2013 by N. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

173 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You win or you die, 4 Jun. 2012
The Fantasy genre gets the HBO treatment in the adaptation of George RR Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire novels.

The story take place in the mythical land of Westeros where seasons can span decades, it follows four central families the Starks, the Baratheons, the Lannisters and the Targaryens, allegiances shift, betrayal is rife as is the quest for power to be seated upon the iron throne, becoming more bloodthirsty and wider reaching as it goes on.

Game of Thrones pushes the fantasy genre into a truly adult realm without becoming hokey or silly like the recent Conan remake and while the likes of the supernatural and sorcery do feature, it paints a much more grounded world full of human characters with human flaws, the relationships they build and the ploys they use to outmanoeuvre each other becoming centrepieces for the show. Characters you love to hate quickly emerge though as time goes on it becomes apparent everyone is not who they seem and even the most loathsome characters have their endearing moments. Season 2 introduces even more players into the mix, quickly becoming part of the on-going story continually building momentum to a climatic battle.

Like HBO's other drama series the focus is on character, it develops into an epic sprawling story but it's the people that will keep you coming back for more. Sean bean effortlessly heads up the cast slipping into the title role with ease bringing gravitas to a demanding role of a man with honour in a realm that has none. Peter Dinklage also shines in his emmy winning role as Tyrion, the sharp tongued quick thinking dwarf who is a firm fan favourite for a very good reason, despite being in the most loathed family you will quickly find yourself rooting for him.

The production value of the show is immense, from costumes to locations everything is brought to life as a screen marvel, beautifully shot with the best directors working on TV giving an episodic program a truly epic feel every time, creating not just a story but a world. Season 2's siege episode 'Blackwater' is unparalleled in terms of quality, never has TV felt so epic. Bone crunching, unflinching violence and graphic sex feature throughout an adult show not for younger viewers.

As book adaptations go the show is largely very faithful, fans of the novels will delight in seeing Martin's vividly described fantasy world coming to life, while there are a few changes, the end product is close to the source material but still manages to throw in a few surprises along the way. Going in without having read the books provides many twists and turns but as the show progresses attention must be paid to which families side with which and whose related to who.

Even if fantasy is not your usual taste its well worth giving Game of Thrones a go, there's a lot to enjoy, in a world you will quickly find yourself swept up in, bring on season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV for ages, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started watching on a rainy weekend and didn't stop till Tuesday. Completely addictive. Lord of the Rings crossed with the Sopranos. Sex (lots of it), violence (lots of that too) and the odd joke. Decent budget, massive cast, intricate plots, jaw dropping shocks, great characters and good acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Bought this as a gift for my husband. WOW what a brilliant series. Still working our way through the first series but can't wait for series 3. Would strongly recommend this series Not for the squeamish though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. G. J. Rhys-davies "Gush" (Carms United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Beautifully presented box set of a fantastic series, comes with booklets and ancestry of all the families etc. Seeing in Blu Ray give that extra dimension and shows off the cinematography so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impeccable....yet...., 10 Nov. 2013
The series,at production level,can only be characterised as impeccable.
The sets,the story/plot,the direction,the characters,the acting, are all outstanding.Action,cliffhangers and a sound dose of nudity and soft porn make up a most enticing dish of entertainment.
Any reservations ? Obviously none where the entertainment values are concerned.
Yet I cannot stop thinking that the atavistic path mass entertainment has taken in the last two decades is intentional,and not a bearer of good news for the world.
Science has long stopped to be the provider of mass entertainment.Fantasy,now,rules unchallenged.The 70s and 80s TV and movie industries were ruled by science fiction,and produced a series of masterful films,along ,of course,with some trash.From the 90s onwards fantasy is the master.Alien worlds,spaceships,new inventions,new societies and new worlds stood for the future.Which,as aptly put in the Star Trek saga,is "the undiscoverd country".Few realise,for instance, that in the "trekkies" humanity money and wealth were ,practically,never mentioned.Each individual did his job as best as he/she could,inspired by noble ideals,such as justice and prosperity for all-including hostile aliens-not by the pursuit of wealth.Society had evolved into something higher,much higher than what we know now.
Apparently these were "undesirable"concepts.
So we gradually sank into a dark medieval past.An endless battle of kings and princes,warlocks and warlords,elves and trolls,dragons and monsters.An environment full of mysticism,supernatural,wars and massacres,all in the pursuit power and wealth.Science,as such,became extinct.Mega hits such as "The lord of the rings"this one and many othes,took care of that.
This,in my book,is the reverse of progress.It creates a "sick school of thought".And this is not good.For the people in general.Not good at all.
I did ,however,enjoy this great series.A lot.But with a bitter aftertaste in my mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic even if a few flaws, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was quite a feat to make from a very long and complex plotted 'Book Series'....... Deep and profound at times with
consistent good acting, extremely realistic scenes, even the CGI parts and clever how it underplays the supernatural elements which have a 'eerie rather then Hollywood blood & guts slasher style.

Becomes more enjoyable on a second viewing making plots and all those twists and turns between the many increasing characters understandable. There is little to fault in such a amazing series except the occasional 'Modern Expletives which fit more with Tarentino then a Medieval Fantasy Epic, this in my opinion lowers its standard especially when spoken by a posh speaking dwarf....... ok maybe with the roughest characters in the Series as there's always been coarse language, this does make it more real to life then so much children based Fantasy, As for the sex scenes they were generally infrequent and sensible paced except being at times a 'cheesy soft porn' mechanical act to shock by the Directors / Producers of the series nevertheless it was good to include some sex, graphic violence alone would have made it too one dimensional !

As for Series One there could have been more time spent on Visary's, he never had quite enough involvement like say Joffrey and could have lasted a episode or two longer. Series Two had a lot of new characters some of which Balon Greyjohn could have had more time spent on and it would have been nice to have seen more of Qarth its city / inhabitants ..... and the Creepy Warlock Pryat Pree to play a more significant part over a few episodes... he came and went far too quickly. This is the problem with having so many significant characters how do you give them enough time each..... tricky but I think the whole production team done very well with such a difficult task !

Very much looking forward to Series Three on DVD.....why don't the hell bring this out before Christmas rather than make us wait to Feb sometime, Its icyness what with the Wall and White Walkers make it perfect winter night watching, come on HBO lets have for Christmas !!

I wish Star Wars would have been done as a Adult Fantasy like this !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones Complete Season 1 and 2 Blu-ray Box Set, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Spoiler Free:

Season 1:

I had heard quite a bit of buzz around this series and, wanting to get into another American series I gave Game of Thrones a try. I think it is excellent. A well acted, scripted and set out series. I haven't read the books, however I have seen the first television series. It does acknowledge fantasy at points, which for me, I'd rather it not be there. Thankfully though, there are plenty of realities in this merciless, mediaeval marathon. Peter Dinklage plays the character of Tyrion Lannister and his performances are outstanding. His character is very smart and quick-witted, and this helped me to settle into the first couple of episodes.

Nudity and swear words run throughout this series, as too does the blood. However, I didn't ever think that was over done, or put in simply for the sake of it. It had a context, and was executed enough.

For an American TV series, there are not as many episodes as you might expect, (10 in total for both seasons). However, with each episode lasting around 54 minutes and a story that keeps you watching, it can be forgiven.

Included in the blu-ray box set is a useful episode guide with the 'House' trees of the cast, to help you know who is who.

Season 2:

There are even more twists and turns in season 2 of HBO's epic, 'Game of Thrones' -- and thats just the people in it getting killed with swords. It seems that in this show, if you're not a main character, you stand a good chance of surviving. Plots get more tangled, making things a little difficult to follow at times. Battles, lies, deceit and surprises are all here. Emotion runs high as does the tension. CGI is animated with quality. The fantasy elements are still here but as I said for season one, the realty parts are shown far more. More nudity and nakedness throughout the episodes. A great cast is still present.

The music throughout the series is very good. It feels epic and grand which is befitting of the show. The box set is well presented -- you can see the images of this that I have uploaded to Amazon. I watched this on blu-ray and the picture quality is excellent.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Best Buy Of 2013! 5***** A Must Watch!, 4 Nov. 2013
The books are fantastic and the show is equally so.

And how rare a beast that is.

The transfer from page to screen can't be expected to be 100% accurate but the show is faithful than most adaptations.

I have no qualms about violence and sex and bad language. The show has plenty. I respect television productions that treat me and other viewers like adults than censor it into some weak, punch-pulling, sappy mess as we are eight years old. Pfffft!

Pleasantly surprised to find the show is crawling with fantastic, well known actors who do a fantastic job throughout. I guarantee you'll be so drawn in you'll admire some (Stark) and definitely HATE others (Joffrey). Arya and Tyrion are my favourites since reading the books and loved them throughout the show.

HBO have pulled out all the stops on this. They make excellent show's and they were the right ones, the only ones, who could bring Game of Thrones to television. The quality is fantastic and for them to give a truly epic feel throughout is amazing. They have done more than a good job and deserve every award received.

If you are unfamiliar with fantasy then don't be afraid. I guarantee that once you dip your toe in and test the waters you'll be swimming in the deep end before you know it with the rest of us.

I eagerly await both new book and series. Thoroughly recommend you see and own this. I loved every minute!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fancy signing up for The Night's Watch?, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
M. Gates "Buddy Gorgeous" (Area 51) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The books are fantastic and the show is equally so.

And how rare a beast that is.

The transfer from page to screen can't be expected to be 100% accurate but the show is faithful than most adaptations.

I have no qualms about violence and sex and bad language. The show has plenty. I respect television productions that treat me and other viewers like adults than censor it into some weak, punch-pulling, sappy mess as we are eight years old. Pfffft!

Pleasantly surprised to find the show is crawling with fantastic, well known actors who do a fantastic job throughout. I guarantee you'll be so drawn in you'll admire some (Stark) and definitely HATE others (Joffrey). Arya and Tyrion are my favourites since reading the books and loved them throughout the show.

HBO have pulled out all the stops on this. They make excellent show's and they were the right ones, the only ones, who could bring Game of Thrones to television. The quality is fantastic and for them to give a truly epic feel throughout is amazing. They have done more than a good job and deserve every award received.

If you are unfamiliar with fantasy then don't be afraid. I guarantee that once you dip your toe in and test the waters you'll be swimming in the deep end before you know it with the rest of us.

I eagerly await both new book and series. Thoroughly recommend you see and own this. I loved every minute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest not 'til this game is won..., 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, so I never really watched game of thrones when it was playing on the tv, never really appealed to me, despite my interest in fantasy film; The Hobbit, the Lord of the Rings, etc. However, during a 13 hour flight back from Singapore, I was stuck next to a screaming child for the entire length of the journey. Having watched most of the good films going out, I saw the entertainment system had 'Game of Thrones Season 1' on offer. So I turned the volume up to maximum to help eleminate the piercing screams from my skull and settled down to watch a few episodes.

Fast forward 12hours 50 minutes and the flight attendant is telling me to remove my headphones for landing and I am telling her I have to finish the 9th episode first so could the pilot perhaps circle a couple more times.

As you can tell, the series is immensly entertianing and I promptly ordered the 1-2 season box set in the taxi on the way home (just before falling asleep). It is highly recommended to everyone, particuarly those who love a bit of blood and sex...sometimes not mutually exclusive on this show. Great characters are forged but no one is safe as the writer clearly didn't mind hacking through the cast and removing some main characters every few episodes/books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
£44.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews