Customer Reviews


483 Reviews
5 star:
 (416)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You win or you die
The Fantasy genre gets the HBO treatment in the adaptation of George RR Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire novels.

The story take place in the mythical land of Westeros where seasons can span decades, it follows four central families the Starks, the Baratheons, the Lannisters and the Targaryens, allegiances shift, betrayal is rife as is the quest for power to be...
Published 22 months ago by SF- A story is as real as you ...

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars struggling to get into it!
Its watchable but not gripping me yet, I have been told to persevere, so I'm onto 2nd season, but finding it hard to get motivated to watch it as each episode is quite long and there is a lot going on. I'm waiting for the awesomeness I believe is to come!
Published 9 months ago by N. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

165 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You win or you die, 4 Jun 2012
The Fantasy genre gets the HBO treatment in the adaptation of George RR Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire novels.

The story take place in the mythical land of Westeros where seasons can span decades, it follows four central families the Starks, the Baratheons, the Lannisters and the Targaryens, allegiances shift, betrayal is rife as is the quest for power to be seated upon the iron throne, becoming more bloodthirsty and wider reaching as it goes on.

Game of Thrones pushes the fantasy genre into a truly adult realm without becoming hokey or silly like the recent Conan remake and while the likes of the supernatural and sorcery do feature, it paints a much more grounded world full of human characters with human flaws, the relationships they build and the ploys they use to outmanoeuvre each other becoming centrepieces for the show. Characters you love to hate quickly emerge though as time goes on it becomes apparent everyone is not who they seem and even the most loathsome characters have their endearing moments. Season 2 introduces even more players into the mix, quickly becoming part of the on-going story continually building momentum to a climatic battle.

Like HBO's other drama series the focus is on character, it develops into an epic sprawling story but it's the people that will keep you coming back for more. Sean bean effortlessly heads up the cast slipping into the title role with ease bringing gravitas to a demanding role of a man with honour in a realm that has none. Peter Dinklage also shines in his emmy winning role as Tyrion, the sharp tongued quick thinking dwarf who is a firm fan favourite for a very good reason, despite being in the most loathed family you will quickly find yourself rooting for him.

The production value of the show is immense, from costumes to locations everything is brought to life as a screen marvel, beautifully shot with the best directors working on TV giving an episodic program a truly epic feel every time, creating not just a story but a world. Season 2's siege episode 'Blackwater' is unparalleled in terms of quality, never has TV felt so epic. Bone crunching, unflinching violence and graphic sex feature throughout an adult show not for younger viewers.

As book adaptations go the show is largely very faithful, fans of the novels will delight in seeing Martin's vividly described fantasy world coming to life, while there are a few changes, the end product is close to the source material but still manages to throw in a few surprises along the way. Going in without having read the books provides many twists and turns but as the show progresses attention must be paid to which families side with which and whose related to who.

Even if fantasy is not your usual taste its well worth giving Game of Thrones a go, there's a lot to enjoy, in a world you will quickly find yourself swept up in, bring on season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV for ages, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started watching on a rainy weekend and didn't stop till Tuesday. Completely addictive. Lord of the Rings crossed with the Sopranos. Sex (lots of it), violence (lots of that too) and the odd joke. Decent budget, massive cast, intricate plots, jaw dropping shocks, great characters and good acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest not 'til this game is won..., 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, so I never really watched game of thrones when it was playing on the tv, never really appealed to me, despite my interest in fantasy film; The Hobbit, the Lord of the Rings, etc. However, during a 13 hour flight back from Singapore, I was stuck next to a screaming child for the entire length of the journey. Having watched most of the good films going out, I saw the entertainment system had 'Game of Thrones Season 1' on offer. So I turned the volume up to maximum to help eleminate the piercing screams from my skull and settled down to watch a few episodes.

Fast forward 12hours 50 minutes and the flight attendant is telling me to remove my headphones for landing and I am telling her I have to finish the 9th episode first so could the pilot perhaps circle a couple more times.

As you can tell, the series is immensly entertianing and I promptly ordered the 1-2 season box set in the taxi on the way home (just before falling asleep). It is highly recommended to everyone, particuarly those who love a bit of blood and sex...sometimes not mutually exclusive on this show. Great characters are forged but no one is safe as the writer clearly didn't mind hacking through the cast and removing some main characters every few episodes/books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Bought this as a gift for my husband. WOW what a brilliant series. Still working our way through the first series but can't wait for series 3. Would strongly recommend this series Not for the squeamish though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. G. J. Rhys-davies "Gush" (Carms United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Beautifully presented box set of a fantastic series, comes with booklets and ancestry of all the families etc. Seeing in Blu Ray give that extra dimension and shows off the cinematography so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would you play the 'Game of Thrones'?, 3 April 2013
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Season one:

Banners, swords, hopes, sigils, dreams and reality, the first season of a 'Game of Thrones' follows closely to the fist book in the A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes series by George R.R. Martin also called A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1).

This series is truly epic, the Blu ray quality is fantastic and the story is ground breaking. I would advice having a couple of days free when you buy this as the chances are you will watch one and find yourself flying through all 10 episodes in no time at all.

By the end you will be shocked, excited, worried and ready... Winter is coming...

Season two:

Houses hold everything, wealth, honour, protection, loyalty and rights. Arryn, Baratheon, Greyjoy, Lannister, Martell, Stark, Targaryen, Tully, and Tyrell, it matters not, all are involved in the Game of Thrones.

The stories continue, and what lies beyond the wall may just threaten everything the houses fight for, division will kill all, but unified they may just withstand the inevitable wrath of the 'white walkers'.

This second season of a 'Game of Thrones' is based upon the novel by George R. R. A Clash of Kings (Reissue) (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2) and is just as epic, fun, violent and world churning as the first season.

Extremely well put together by HBO and a must watch for all who have come to know and love the story to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars season 1&2, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cant wait for season three, love it. even though Sean bean is not in it very good drama/ sci fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for one of my adult children, can only say it is ttunning, well made and highly entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab entertainment., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating adaptation of 'Lord of the Rings/Merlin'- type stuff. Must admit that I found the moderate pornographic material quite disturbing/unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Game of Thrones!!!, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So I've read the books too, and for the most part the series stick fairly close to them, more so in series 1 than in series 2 but any changes made you can at least begin to understand why they've been made. The cast is really good and i definitely recommend both books and series, although maybe don't watch them with your parents/grandparents or children....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabacf624)

This product

Game of Thrones - Season 1-2 Complete [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
42.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews