Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great artist, great night!
Live albums can be a mixed blessing in the hands of overproduced and undertalented artists. They often sound like a pale reflection of themselves, almost like they're orchestrating an elaborate parody of themselves. Not so in the case of Richard Thompson, a man whose style has evolved from years on the road to the point where he sounds totally natural and...
Published on 15 Jan. 2006 by Andy Millward

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A VINYL review-Great Music, Shame About The Pressing!
This live album is great and anyone looking at buying the vinyl will already have bought the CD which came out in 2005. The vinyl has one extra track, Put it there Pal, which probably couldn't fit on the original CD. The pressing is advertised on the LP cover sticker as being of audiophile quality, I can assure you it isn't. Having said that the quality of the sound is...
Published on 6 Sept. 2012 by Photoman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great artist, great night!, 15 Jan. 2006
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live From Austin, Texas (Audio CD)
Live albums can be a mixed blessing in the hands of overproduced and undertalented artists. They often sound like a pale reflection of themselves, almost like they're orchestrating an elaborate parody of themselves. Not so in the case of Richard Thompson, a man whose style has evolved from years on the road to the point where he sounds totally natural and good-humoured either on stage or in the studio.
Live from Austin Tx is a case in point. Primarily comprised of his later recordings, this is a fine collection of songs recorded as a tried and trusted trio with Danny Thompson and Michael Jerome, there is a distinct edge in this performance. Listen and enjoy spiky versions of classic tracks like Cooksferry Queen, Bathsheba Smiles, She Twists the Knife Again, 1952 Vincent Black Lightening, and especially an embittered Put It There Pal - demonstrating clearly that Thompson could, if he had half a mind to do so, outshine every axe hero going.
True the production and sound values don't always live up to the quality of playing, but there's something authentic about a set recorded in what sounds like a sweaty echo chamber in Texas. This is live and exciting, just the way music should be, complete with crowd singalongs. Great artist, great night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 12 Mar. 2007
By 
A. Thomson (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live From Austin, Texas (Audio CD)
Have to start by saying that I prefer RT either completely solo or with a full band behind him - the trio is seldom as satisfying - although on this recording it works pretty well.

There is one particular track that make this an essential purchase on DVD tho' - and that's Shoot out the Lights. During this a string on the guitar snaps - yet RT extemporises an absolutely stunning solo on the 5 reamining strings. My 10 year-old son (who's learning guitar) sat there open mouthed before saying "how on earth can he do that?" to which I could only reply that RT has been a professional musician for 40 years and can make up better solos off the cuff than most guitarists will ever be able to - even with all their strings!

Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard plays on brightly, 12 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Live From Austin, Texas (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of Richard Thompson since the earliest days of Fairport, I suppose it's easy to enjoy this music. However, the playing on the album is simply amazing. As usual. Guitar solos abound but the bass of Danny Thompson is a perfect foil and the drumming is also extremely good. Thompson also happens to be a very good songwriter too and on this CD some of his best work is available live. Marvellous. Even by his own high standards this is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing She Twists the Knife Again,, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RICHARD THOMPSON-LIVE FROM AUSTIN TX (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
This CD and DVD set from Richard Thompson is a rarity in that it was recorded in one take rather than the more usual selection of the best from several.
It was taken from the excellent Public Broadcast Service concert of 2nd July, 2001 at Austin City Limits Texas USA.

Also unusually the CD and DVD are the same tracks.
The set features the excellent `Mock Tudor' stuff an album that really got me into Richard Thomson myself.

There are of course other well known and favourite tracks so this set really is right up my street.
However Amazon don't seem to have provided us with a set list so this may be of interest for those that want to know what's on the sets?
CD
1. Cooksferry Queen
2. Uninhabited Man
3. Walking the Long Miles Home
4. Al Bowlly's In Heaven
5. Mingus Eyes
6. Dry My Tears & Move On
7. Easy There, Steady Now
8. Persuasion
9. Bathsheba Smiles
10. Mr. Rebound
11. Ghosts In the Wind
12. She Twists the Knife Again
13. Shoot Out the Lights
14. Crawl Back (Under My Stone)
15. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning and the

DVD (Identical of course)
1. Cooksferry Queen
2. Uninhabited Man
3. Walking the Long Miles Home
4. Al Bowlly's In Heaven
5. Mingus Eyes
6. Dry My Tears & Move On
7. Easy There, Steady Now
8. Persuasion
9. Bathsheba Smiles
10. Mr. Rebound
11. Ghosts In the Wind
12. She Twists the Knife Again
13. Shoot Out the Lights
14. Crawl Back (Under My Stone)
15. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thompson at his best, 13 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Austin, Texas (Audio CD)
Having followed the man since Fairport days, through his early solo albums, his work with Linda and on, this is one of my favourites.

Searing, stripped down versions of songs that were over-produced on the original albums (Rumour and Sigh and Mock Tudor spring to mind), captured on a recording that highlights the energy and atmosphere of the event. It is noteworthy that Dream Attic was also recorded live, and it shows.

Oh, and contains the second best version of Vincent Black Lightning: tje best is by Dick Gaughan on Sail On!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great live album, 8 Jun. 2013
By 
A. Duffy (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Austin TX (MP3 Download)
I have been aware of Richard Thompson for many years and owned a Fairport album in the 60s (vinyl then, of course). But I hadn't really paid him any attention. Recently I've been listening to this and other RT albums online and felt that it was time to start buying. My first ever download album purchase (an age thing!!) and what a place to start. A great album, a great singer, great songs, killer guitar playing and a great (re)discovery. The only downside is the back catalogue - it's huge and gonna cost me a fortune
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Martin Daly (edinburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RICHARD THOMPSON-LIVE FROM AUSTIN TX (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
I began listening to RT again after a 20 year gap at the recommendation of a friend. I'm glad I did. He has at last learned to sing! His guitar playing has always been breathtaking, but his vocals used to sound dirge-like, funereal and tuneless.I saw him last year in Edinburgh at the Usher Hall and he was wonderful. This album+ DVD is superb, as is "More Guitar" and the DVD of "Live From Celtic Connections". In fact anything from the last 19 years is great now that he has found his voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply 'Great', 19 July 2010
By 
W. Beveridge "wtb" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Austin, Texas (Audio CD)
A fantastic offering from Richard Thompson, really I got this to have an alternative version of Shoot out the Lights, which is stunning, fine example of Mr Thompson at his very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live magic friom the master, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Austin, Texas (Audio CD)
A superb live album that contains a lot of his best known tunes.Well worth the money...if you are not au fait with the man you could do worse than start here.Prepare to be amazed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A VINYL review-Great Music, Shame About The Pressing!, 6 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This live album is great and anyone looking at buying the vinyl will already have bought the CD which came out in 2005. The vinyl has one extra track, Put it there Pal, which probably couldn't fit on the original CD. The pressing is advertised on the LP cover sticker as being of audiophile quality, I can assure you it isn't. Having said that the quality of the sound is very good it's just that on side 3 there appears to be a pressing problem which results in intermittent distortion, it is a bit like a pop but is distortion instead. Unfortunately after the first couple I stopped listening to the music and was waiting for the next fault. I saw a second hand copy on eBay and asked the seller if it had any faults and he said that it had the same as my findings so I have to presume it is a batch fault which maybe less noticeable on some copies.

Amazon were brilliant, they changed the first copy and refunded the second copy with no fuss or extra expenditure to me, for that I will definitely use them again but perhaps not on this pressing.

If you have bought this vinyl LP and have had no problems like mine then please let me know so I can buy it with confidence.

I would like to ask Amazon why they list the reviews from the CD under the vinyl, yes the music is the same but vinyl is a totally different beast and customers want to know what the quality of the sound and pressing is and don't want to have to wade through lots of reviews about the cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RICHARD THOMPSON-LIVE FROM AUSTIN TX (CD+DVD)
RICHARD THOMPSON-LIVE FROM AUSTIN TX (CD+DVD) by Richard Thompson (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews