Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising.
I'm a big fan of Hitchcock, The Birds, Sienna Miller & the 1960s era itself so I was very looking forward to watching this. The makers did their research & conducted interviews with Tippi herself & other cast & crew members, so this should be as realistic & truthful as it hopefully can be.
I found it totally mesmerising. Toby Jones is fantastic as Hitchcock & his...
Published 18 months ago by Lorna

versus
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where was the continuity?
Poorly researched. Error strewn nonsense.
Alfred Hitchcock was renowned for his professionalism and bringing his films in under budget. Would he really waste five days of filming in order to 'punish' Tippi Hedren.
Also after each take why wasn't the actresses hair restored to it's original state before the bird attack scene commenced. Look at the original...
Published 18 months ago by Cineaste


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising., 28 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Hitchcock, The Birds, Sienna Miller & the 1960s era itself so I was very looking forward to watching this. The makers did their research & conducted interviews with Tippi herself & other cast & crew members, so this should be as realistic & truthful as it hopefully can be.
I found it totally mesmerising. Toby Jones is fantastic as Hitchcock & his developing obsession with Tippi. From the moment he lays eyes on her, to essentially grooming her to be his leading lady & how his world seems to start to unravel as it goes on. Sienna Miller was also very good; I really warmed to her character as time went on & the scenes of her at home as a mother added a contrast to the glamorous filmstar world.
It's quite creepy in places, especially with regards to Hitchcock's unwanted sexual advances. It's also genuinely frightening; we even jumped in places! The styling also deserves a mention & I wanted to jump into the screen & be there in that 1960s world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and Sad, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Since Tippi Hedren is my favorite of Hitchcock actress, I wanted to see The Girl. The Girl is about the very dark side of Hitchcock relationship with Tippi Hedren. In The Birds and Marnie, the acting behind the camera is as same as the movies themselves. That is so creepy. Toby Jones perfectly portrays Dir Hitchcock, and Sienna Miller's features seemes much bigger,larger than Tippi Hedren. (Sienna looks more like Grace kelly) Tippi Hedren also has more beautiful and charisma in her voice. It's so sad that she was stunning in Hitchcock films and Marnie was the end of it. The Girl is a very shocking and sad movie. Arrived on time and the quality of DVD is good. It's a regon free disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Having missed this on the tv was glad to find it and watch it . Good film , good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where genius meets obsession, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Before starting this review I would like to say that I came to THE GIRL with no knowledge of Hitchcock's involvement with Tippi Hedren. I am also not a strong follower of him. I have seen some of his films and recognise that he did have a huge talent for creating thrilling cinema. However, I did not know much about him in regards to what he was like away from his director's chair. What I would also add is that THE GIRL offers one side of a story - although I cannot claim to know enough of the man to try and determine if the magnitude of Hitchcock's obsession with Tippi was portrayed correctly, I would guess that he did have some kind of obsession with her. After all, there is rarely smoke without fire.

THE GIRL shows how Hitchcock and his wife discover Tippi, a model who starred in a commercial, and then sign her up for the lead role in his film The Birds. Before this role, Tippi has little acting experience and the Hitchcocks appear only too pleased to offer her help and guidance; not moudling as such, but mentoring her, trying to get the best out of her. However, the relationship sours when Hitchcock appears to expect, or wants, more from Tippi than she is willing to give. Because she rejects him Hitchcock then goes on to punish her before ultimately ending her career.

Personally, I found THE GIRL very compelling. I thought that the cast did a very good job of putting this side of the story across. It was a difficult film to watch - the suggested lengths that Hitchcock went to was really quite disturbing. I can understand why fans of his work would perhaps feel afrronted by the depiction of him here. However, just because the man was very talented in his field of work does not mean that he was without his dark side. All of us have one, for some theirs is just darker and more encompassing than others'.

I would recommend this to others purely as an examination of desire which leads to obsession. It can sometimes be a fine line between the two and what makes someone go down this particular path is always complex. However, if you are a true fan of Hitchcock and do not wish to see his name sullied in any way, you may be wise to pass this one by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where was the continuity?, 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Poorly researched. Error strewn nonsense.
Alfred Hitchcock was renowned for his professionalism and bringing his films in under budget. Would he really waste five days of filming in order to 'punish' Tippi Hedren.
Also after each take why wasn't the actresses hair restored to it's original state before the bird attack scene commenced. Look at the original film perfect hair and no scratches!! Also the telephone booth scene. Real glass would never have been used, the stunt/ apecial effects department would have supervised this. A director would have had no involvement in this. Also why risk your leading lady being disfigured during filming?
If Hitchcock was so awful, why did Tippi Hedren return to make Marnie?
I've no objections to films being made about real people, but let's at least have more than one viewpoint. Rather than the unreliable testimony of an actress who never reached the heights of these two movies again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Error Strewn Nonsense, 8 May 2013
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I'd avoid this TV movie like the plague. It's full of factual errors. One only has to look at Tippi Hedren's real screen test on You Tube to see how different it is from the untruths presented here. This sets the sleazy tone for the rest of the 90 minutes which has obviously been conceived to bring down the reputation of the Master by individuals with an axe to grind. The widow of the Assistant Director on "The Birds" has already said that her husband would not have endorsed the movie's portrayal of Hitchcock. For a much more balanced view, there's a new book called "The Making of Hitchcock's The Birds" which exposes this poorly researched hatchet job on Hitchcock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating !, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
It is interesting to compare this film with the Anthony Hopkins film Hitchcock. Whatever your feelings are about its portrayal of the famous director, Toby Jones is incredibly impressive as Hitchcock and Sienna Miller does a good job as Tippi Hedren with terrific support from Imelda Staunton as the long-suffering Alma. Clearly shot on a low budget the film manages to combine strong performances with apparent high production values in this compelling re-telling of the director's much quoted obsession with his beautiful star. Using information from Donald Spoto's book and Tippi Hedren herself, the incidents portrayed - grotesque though they are - appear to be based on fact. Once you have seen this film you will never be able to watch Hitchcock's"The Birds" or "Marnie" the same way again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly Old Fool...., 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I never gave much heed to Sienna Miller but after watching her excellent performance as Tippi Hedren my appreciation of her as vastly excelled. The way she mimics Hedren's walk, screen test and scenes from The Birds & Marnie is second to none.
Toby Jones wasn't bad but, in my opinion of course, greatly over shadowed by Miller.
Good directing from Julian Jarrold and not a bad screenplay either. The way it portrays Tippi's sexual harassment by Hitchcock is quite shocking... Poor woman. On the one hand he jettisons her career into Hollywood stardom only to take it away with the other by allowing himself to become obsessed with her and loose control of his emotions, thus bullying her through jealous rages. I got the impression his directing genius was saturated by the Hollywood dream machine making him loose his way (or his mind depending on which way you want to interpret this.)Silly old fool.
Well worth a watch.
I just hope it gives Miller the platform she deserves to excel her acting credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christmas gift, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Film was requested at a gift for my daughter-in-law for Christmas. She was thrilled.to receive.it and enjoyed.watching it. Good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl [DVD] (DVD)
As above, it is a Christmas gift and so far has not been viewed but it was a film my daughter really wanted to watch this time last year s I am sure it will be appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl [DVD]
The Girl [DVD] by Julian Jarrold (DVD - 2013)
8.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews