Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassette to MP3
I saw this on Amazon and thought about all the great cassetts lying about my bedroom not being played any more and i still liked also it was reasonably priced so i ordered it and was very pleased with the result . The instructions were easy to follow and I was soon listening to my old cassetts on my MP3 player . transferred...
Published 15 months ago by David A

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ruins tapes
Completely devastated as incredibly easy to use but does not play tapes correctly whilst capturing data. Using tapes we knew to be in perfect working order (and a few minutes before played faultlessly on another player) were slowed down, distorted and finally damaged by this device. Would not recommend and wish I had listened to the advice of others who said not to buy...
Published 16 months ago by helen knipe


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ruins tapes, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
Completely devastated as incredibly easy to use but does not play tapes correctly whilst capturing data. Using tapes we knew to be in perfect working order (and a few minutes before played faultlessly on another player) were slowed down, distorted and finally damaged by this device. Would not recommend and wish I had listened to the advice of others who said not to buy this at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassette to MP3, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
I saw this on Amazon and thought about all the great cassetts lying about my bedroom not being played any more and i still liked also it was reasonably priced so i ordered it and was very pleased with the result . The instructions were easy to follow and I was soon listening to my old cassetts on my MP3 player . transferred from my computer .It worked a treat .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It works,just!, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
Cheaply made( hence the price) of wafer thin plastic,poor quality tape head and mechanics.You have to depress front cover to engage tape head to cassette.On the plus side it does playback audio cassettes. I think audiophiles would be prepared to pay over £50 for a substantially better product, but their is nothing else out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the price, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
I was surprised by how well this works. I can't rate the software as I'm using an existing audio editing package. But the tape player works fine. Ignore the descriptions printed on the front ("hifi", "mega-bass" etc) which I think have just been copied off an old walkman! Also the results you get will of course be limited by the age/condition of the cassettes you're playing. Also worth investing in some tape head cleaning fluid as old cassettes tend to shed a lot of their oxide coating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I opted for this one as the price was low and I don't have any great confidence that ripped cassettes will provide that good qua, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
I ordered this unit after seeing a few decent reviews and as I have boxes of cassettes that might be worth copying to mp3. I opted for this one as the price was low and I don't have any great confidence that ripped cassettes will provide that good quality sound.

Sadly, the unit didn't work. Several sets of new batteries and when "play" button depressed nothing happens. It also didn't work on usb as per the instructions.

I reported it through the Amazon system and the sellers gave me an instant refund. No quibbles. And that has to be applauded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
It does what it say it will do very well.
It is a great way of sorting out old tapes for the DVD/CD format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - does just what I wanted, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
Works well as either mobile cassette player or just for converting to mp3. Not complicated to use the included software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Effective - a Revelation!, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
I didn't have much hope of this working as I've been round the houses trying to find a good way of ripping all my old cassettes and the possibility of this cheap, easily attainable device actually working seemed too good to be true. But 'lo and behold - it works a treat!

I'd been trying to connect an old cassette player via the line-in, but experienced issues with drivers. There were no driver issues here. As soon as it was connected for the first time via USB the necessary drivers automatically downloaded and installed themselves. It is worth noting, however, that I am running Windows 7 and that I could not get this device to work with a second computer running Windows 8.

The quality of the ripped audio probably isn't exemplary. I initially used the function that allows the cassette to automatically turn over, meaning you can leave a C90 ripping both sides without having to return to flip it over. However, I noticed that the audio suffered greatly after the end of side one and never improved (slow and wobbly). So, I tried ripping just the second side on its own and it sounded fine. So, I'd say the machine can be somewhat erratic. After that I only ripped one side at a time, manually turning over every cassette, and I went on to successfully rip around 20 cassettes with no further issues.

Basically, if you are an audiophile - look elsewhere. If you just want to convert a stack of tapes for the memories and nostalgia contained therein I think this will do the job nicely if you are willing to put a bit of care and attention into monitoring what's being output! This device is definitely the most straightforward way I've found to rip cassettes and really cheap, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The build quality is rather poor but it was very cheap, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
The build quality is rather poor but it was very cheap. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to work with Windows 8.1 but that's hardly surprising, so I have to use it with an older laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Returned for refund, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Cassette Player and Tape-to-MP3 Converter UCP218 (Electronics)
Returned because the motor driving the mechanism didn't operate at a constant rate, causing the tape to speed up or slow down. Very disappointed. Also, software CD doesn't fit an iMac and instructions hard to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews