Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As necessary as it is long-awaited
This is probably the most necessary item in the long-delayed My Bloody Valentine reissue campaign, picking up all four of their EP-length releases for Creation as well as various other stray tracks. The EP's are presented in chronological order with their original tracklistings fully intact. The remastering is clear and careful with each EP being allowed to sound like...
Published on 7 May 2012 by octophone

versus
2 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars massive disappointment
took a chance on this after all the great reviews but frankly ive got better things to listen to . maybe after a 100 listens the noise turns into something but life is too short and there is other stuff i would rather spend my precious time getting to know
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by P. Storey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As necessary as it is long-awaited, 7 May 2012
By 
octophone (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
This is probably the most necessary item in the long-delayed My Bloody Valentine reissue campaign, picking up all four of their EP-length releases for Creation as well as various other stray tracks. The EP's are presented in chronological order with their original tracklistings fully intact. The remastering is clear and careful with each EP being allowed to sound like itself - thankfully, there has been no attempt to EQ or remix anything to create a cohesive overall listening experience. "You Made Me Realise" sees them transitioning from their more indie-friendly roots into something more potent, the lead track buzzing away, tense and agitated. "Slow", crucially, introduces the tremolo glide sound that would become their signature and the rest of the EP is as tuneful and accessible as it is seductive. The sound becomes heavier and more obtuse for "Feed Me With Your Kiss", which, as well as the magnificent, growling title track features the group experimenting with samples and loops for the first time on the superb "I Believe", an approach that would fully blossom on 1990`s "Glider" with the genuinely funky "Soon", still a highpoint of their catalogue. Elsewhere on "Glider", their desire to experiment hits a peak of sorts on the hypnotic swirl of its disorientating title track. By the time we reach "Tremolo", their sound is as sensual and immersive as you could hope for. It's definitely the strongest EP when taken as a whole and serves as a reminder of how potent this format could be in the right hands; from the endless falling dream of "To Here Knows When" to the snake charmer's soundtrack of "Swallow", the bendy Sonic Youthisms of "Honey Power" and finally the dense, exotic "Moon Song", this is all prime meat - no "b-sides" or knock offs here. It's a tremendous record and it's great to have this fantastic sequence back in print at last.

The extras begin with the two instrumental tracks taken from the bonus 7" offered with initial copies of "Isn't Anything". "Instrumental No. 2" samples a Public Enemy drum loop and then nips off to play in an echo chamber for a bit whilst "No. 1" is a Stooges-style blast-off dominated by some tremendous Colm O'Coisoig drumming. The full 10 minute version of "Glider", previously hidden away on a remix 12" is exhausting in the best way possible and flexi-disc promo "Sugar" finds a helicopter-imitating drum pattern and some distant, glittering flecks of guitar backing a wide-eyed Kevin Shields to charming effect. After that come three previously unreleased tracks. According to a fan site, 2 are from the "Isn't Anything" sessions, the other an abandoned single from `89. They're actually all pretty good and while they don't add much to the overall picture, they don't feel like "outtakes" either with "Good For You" in particular absolutely standing comparison with the released material of the time.

I like the fold-around card cover but it's a shame there are no sleevenotes - there is absolutely no explanation as to the origins of the non-EP tracks and only the reproduction images of the original covers in the booklet tell you what tracks belong to which original record. But then, the group were never particularly forthcoming in such matters in the first place so this is well within the normal parameters. Basically, this is a totally necessary release - no mere offcuts collection, this is some of their strongest material, all of which thoroughly deserves to be heard again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent music but..., 8 May 2012
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
For some of us, it doesn't get much better than "You Made Me Realise" "Feed Me With Your Kiss" or "Soon" from My Bloody Valentine's first 3 eps which are pretty much beyond reproach and which take up the first cd on this long-awaited compilation. Even the second disc, containing the "Tremelo" ep and seven rare tracks, is mighty fine. It's what's NOT in this release which causes me to deduct one star.

For a start, I don't immediately see why the (very scarce) Glider Remixes EP with the wonderful Andy Weatherall mix is not included. Furthermore, some live footage and/or videos might have been nice. Finally, while £9 for 90 minutes is generous and the attractive packaging contains the striking original artwork, there is absolutely no commentary or information as to from where and/or when the non-EP tracks came (eg the French magazine Les Unrockuptibles from memory).

However, such gripes should be put in perspective. For newcomers, this is as essential as "Isn't Anything" or "Loveless" and for some of us it's a good opportunity to replace/supplement our vinyl originals scratched through abuse and/or over affection.

Enjoy and look forward to more magic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twenty Years in the Making, 28 May 2012
By 
Andrew Webster "andysilverrocket" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
This compilation has been threatened for as long as I can remember. Finally it is here and it doesn't disappoint. But neither does it totally blow me away. Having owned all of the EPs since their original release (as the title says, between 1988 and 1991), there's not much new here but the remastered tracks do seem brighter and clearer than on my (rather scratchy) vinyl copies. Of the extra tracks, it's really good to hear "Sugar" properly rather than from a flexi-disc, and the three unreleased tracks (the first 'new' MBV material in 20 years) are a joy to behold.

But three tracks are missing from this compilation for true completeness and five stars. The (laughable but still weirdly enjoyable) Andrew Weatherall remix of "Soon", and more importantly two of their cover tracks; "Map Ref 41°N 93°W" from the Wire covers compilation "Whore" and "We Have All The Time In The World" from the "Peace Together" compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable EPs from MBVs game changing era, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
Although You Made Me Realize is probably the best EP ever released, all of it is indispensable. It really moved music on to a whole new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never a dull moment with MBV, 15 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
I have a lot of these songs already, but I cannot fault the music on this compilation. I am not, however, a fan of cardboard packaging, as this will deteriorate in time. Also it would have been an good idea to have a write up and some notes on the songs etc.
Still, to me, MBV will always be a band that made music 'sideways' and created sounds and melodies most 21st century bands could only dream of. 5 stars for the music, but just 4 stars for packaging and lack of reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally !, 10 May 2012
By 
Cousin Bobby (Tarpon Springs, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
This may be the most logical release of the year.
Besides the music being outstanding, "Slow" is my favorite MBV song ever, this release will save
fans a ton of money.
When a cd/vinyl sells for $50 and up, it may not stop the hard core fan but it certainly will discourage
newbie fans from trying the music. Since the music is My Bloody Valentine it's a big shame when the average fan
can't get access to it, other than crummy you tube videos.
Now you can own all the E.P. for a fraction it would cost for the originals.
Thank you for making this a great music year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
I REALLY LOVE THIS ALBUM. VERY MYB. YOU NEED TO BE BIG FAN TO BE INTO THIS COLLECTION OF WEIRD NOISES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential chapter, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
It is said by some aficionados of My Bloody Valentine that the band was at their peak in the concentrated form of the four track E.P. Certainly it gave the band still searching for a truly new voice the chance to experiment (see the brilliant irritating/sublime 'Glider' or the way the ambient interludes of Loveless are introduced on the Tremelo E.P.) Besides some of their best songs/tracks never made the albums (think 'Slow', 'Glider' and 'Swallow'). This handy and nicely priced double-cd collection immediately completes the picture with the four classic E.P.s and some interesting rarities of which the hauntingly beautiful 'Instrumental no.2' is a true gem. A must have for lovers of adventurous rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
Classic after classic. Great price for double cd. Captures all their eps and bsides etc from their early 1990s purple patch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top quality product, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EP's And Rarities (Audio CD)
really good job. A+.top quality product.
i really recomend the cd and the store.
fast shipment and protection for the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EP's 1988 - 1991
EP's 1988 - 1991 by My Bloody Valentine
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews