Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waking The Mind
Im not going to beat around the bush, this is one of the greatest albums I have ever heard. EVER! 'What makes it so good?!' I hear you cry. Well, to put it simply, its one of those albums where you don't have to skip to the good bits, because its ALL good. Many albums these days are made up of a few great songs amongst a collection of tiring fillers. Not here. Every track...
Published on 14 Mar 2004 by Mr. T. L. Smith

versus
4 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hmmmm?
these guys get 2 stars coz the have their moments, some of them quite great, but i think this album fails to achieve real greatness as its trying to be all things to all people. One minute its all Maiden/Preist harmonics, then Pantera chugging, then Cradle of filth esque screaming, then Afi punky stuff, then Metallica gravelly singing... usually within about 5 seconds of...
Published on 20 Feb 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waking The Mind, 14 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. T. L. Smith "i_am_the_game69" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
Im not going to beat around the bush, this is one of the greatest albums I have ever heard. EVER! 'What makes it so good?!' I hear you cry. Well, to put it simply, its one of those albums where you don't have to skip to the good bits, because its ALL good. Many albums these days are made up of a few great songs amongst a collection of tiring fillers. Not here. Every track is a classic and every track is different.
A7X are incredibly talented musicians (guitarist Synyster Gates being the prime example) and singer M.Shadows voice is so varied you would think they have about 4 singers. One second he is belting out note-perfect melodies, the next he screams paint off the walls, the next he delivers a bone crunching roar. The variation is the foremost feature of this album. It encompasses styles like Slayer's thrash, Hatebreed's breakdowns, Cradle Of Filth's screams, Finch's singing, Metallica's solos and AFI's emotion. There really is something for everyone.
Beginning with the atmospheric intro 'Waking The Fallen' which leads straight into the first single 'Unholy Confessions' and then 'Chapter Four', two easily accessible songs to suck you in. Once you're hooked track 4 'Remenissions' and 5 'Desecrate Through Reverence' will lock you in for good. Its an epic journey of hardcore, emo, punk, gothcore and straight guitar skill; true stadium classics. Following this 'Eternal Rest' rips your f**king eyes out with blistering thrash solos, a Metallica-esque riff, an epic gothic chorus and breakdowns to make Hatebreed soil themselves in fear.
If your ears haven't melted yet live favourite 'Second Heartbeat' and 'Radiant Eclipse' blow you away with their epic proportions (both approx. 7mins), skillful drumming and sing-ability. Following this you have what is essentially a 15min song. 'I Won't See You Tonight Part 1' is an epic rock ballad in the vein of Metallica's 'Nothing Else Matters', but more upbeat. Its truly one to have the crowds weeping in the circle pits. This leads straight into 'Part 2', which is possibly the heaviest song on the album. Its a true brain shaker and will have you beating the crap out of the nearest thing available. Both these songs lyrics appear to be about the death of a friend and the different styles seems to encompass the different emotions. Part 1 is slow and sad to signify grief, whereas part 2 is blistering rage to denote pain and anger at the loss. These songs are beautifully deep and showcase the true talent of this band.
The journey ends with the wonderfully gothic 'Clairvoyant Disease' and the truly stunning final track 'And All Things Will End'. The final track's varied style appears to encompass the entire album format, with chugging riffs, emotional melody, beefy drumming, guttaral roars and an incredible solo which will have you reacing for your air guitars.
To sum up my lengthy review; (sorry about that, just so much to say!) this band is set to be one of the greats. One second you're headbanging like its 1985 and thrashing the air guitar, the next you're swept away on an ocean of melody and emotion. This is truly an album for now, a mix of classic metal and modern hardcore, showcasing group of incredible talents. There is truly no stopping the goths from the O.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waking the fallen, 15 Sep 2004
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
Where do you begin with this perfectely well constructed album of genious its a mind blowing fast paced sound with awsome powerfull vocals greatly written songs non stop riffs fast paced drumming and i realy should have got this album months ago. Avenged sevenfold are the kind of band where you cant deny talent as soon as you here the first couple of songs you no your in for a treat if you like metal music such as iron maiden, anthrax or even atreyu this album is for you they have combinded all sorts of different sounds maiden like riffs along with metallica like vocals and dark lyrics that remind me of afi. Buy this album now if you dont already have it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best Metal album of 2003, 15 Jan 2004
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
A great deal of praise has come the way of these young men recently, and believe me, it’s more than warranted. This album was one of the big surprises of last year because it came out of seemingly nowhere to blow away virtually everyone who heard it. In a year which saw the release of both 'St Anger' and 'Dance Of Death' by Metallica and Iron Maiden respectively, the two biggest bands in the genre, this previously unheralded outfit put out this frankly unbelievable record and mopped up the floor with the big boys. The band themselves may look like a bunch of kids all dressed up to look like a Misfits-era Glenn Danzig, but by God can they play Metal! As has been mentioned in other reviews previous to this one, the band can certainly mix up their styles and play anything that they put their minds to, a fact best demonstrated on the 9 minute long epic ‘I Won’t See You Tonight part 1’. With their ability to incorporate different genres within a framework of Heavy Metal, A7X are probably second only to the mighty Opeth, and as any fans of the genius Swedes will tell you, that’s no faint praise. But I digress. I would recommend this to literally anyone with an interest in any form of modern Metal music because there’s something for everyone here. You can hear elements from many bands in Avenged Sevenfold’s music, but the comparisons which are thrown up most often tend to be Metallica, Iron Maiden and AFI. This is fair, especially the Maiden comparison (just check out those melodic lead breaks) but there’s a hell of a lot more to them than being a mere tribute band. There are strong aspects of the New England Hardcore scene (KSE especially) and sundry other things. It combines to produce one of the best proper Metal albums of last year. The cherry on the icing on the cake, as if it were needed, is the guitar playing of Synyster Gates. In these times of Nu Metal making solos unfashionable, it’s nice to here an expert guitarist let loose to the fullest of his abilities as he does at the start of ‘Eternal Rest’. Basically, virtually everything about this record is nigh-on perfect and if there’s any justice, world domination awaits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year-no doubt!!!, 21 Sep 2003
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
An absolutely awesome album, Avenged have blown most other albums of this year out of the water with Waking The Fallen. From the beatdowns and shreiking riffs of Unholy Confessions to the flamenco guitars of Reminissions to the piano ballad of I Won't See You Tonight, this is the kind of album that you would really, really, really love for Maiden and Metallica to have made this year. Solos, screaming, soaring melodic vocals and dark lyrics all get thrown into the pot, creating something new and original. Think AFI,The Misfits, Megadeth, Judas Priest and Bad Religion jamming together and you ain't even close. Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we are in the presence of greatness, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
i don't like giving five star reviews as a general rule, becuse it implies perfection and perfection is impossible to obtain, but there is so little wrong with 'waking the fallen' that i thought i would make an exception.
so, how about a bunch of guys who look like they were thrown out of a talent contest as an afi tribute band but sound like metallica, guns'n'roses and skid row that have been put through a hardcore blender.
you have just imagined Avenged sevenfold.
this band are, and this is a word used far too often these days, UNIQUE. you want crushing, chugging riffs? you got em. you want melodic, anthemic choruses? they're there in abundance. you want wacky virtuoso guitar work? well, it's there, that's for sure. indeed, if i can fault the album for anything, it's some of the solos. technically the guitarists are excellent, there's no doubt about that, but sometimes the solos veer off key and end up sounding amelodic, to the detriment of the song.
this doesn't detract from the fact that this album is a fabulous piece of work, the songs are varied, epic and utterly compelling.
it's my album of 2003, without a doubt, so if you like what you've heard, check em out, you will not be disappointed!!!
if you're still unconvinced, check out the track @unholy confessions@, which gives perhaps the best cross-section of what this band are about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See past the stereotype, 24 July 2005
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
Nothing can touch this album.
My favourite album of all time.
Featuring two of my favourite songs of all time, Unholy Confessions and I Won't See You Tonight, Parts 1 & 2.
Buy this album. If you're a fan of metal, punk, progressive, hardcore...although non of these categories can remotely define the sheer grand scale of this album. Epic, soaring, roaring, rocking...mind-blowing.
Each of the 12 songs is as memorable and shiver-inducing as the last one. Personal favourites are Unholy Confessions, featuring kick-ass riffs and powerful vocals, interesting lyrics and one of the best swaggers in an anthem. Theres also the 2-part, 14 minute epic, I Won't See You Tonight, the first part of which is their strongest song yet, a sweeping, powerful ballad driven by heart-aching guitar work, a backdrop of violins and piano, and singer M. Shadows beautiful singing at its best. The second part is a heavier, harder hitting song driven by such anger is positively throbs with a heartbeat. Then there's Chapter Four, a Cain and Able-esque tale, haunting opening title track Waking the Fallen...every song on this album is fantastic. I urge you, buy this album. You will be playing it for days on end, singing it to yourself, playing air guitar, and have riffs chugging out your ears.
Go buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMMENSE, 16 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
I only recently descovered Avenged Sevenfold, with their current album City Of Evil, which is an amazing album and this. I must admit at first i did prefer the former, but this album has grown on me so much that I definately feel it is Avenged Sevenfolds best.
One of the things i like most about the album is the way it has been put together, as it is not just a random order, it is clear that it is something that has been given a lot of thought. First of all we have the intro setting the mood for the album, which then launches into the quiker more aggresive traks to begin with, getting slower and more melodic throughout the album, with the exeption of I Won't See You Tonight Part 2 which still effortlessly fits in after the first part.
One of the other great points about this band is their variation, ranging from harsh screaming tracks with powerful riffs, to piano ballads and everything in between! The tracks are easily distinguishible, and it does not appear as one big musical mess as some albums of similar genres do. Across this wide range, my personal favourates on the album would have to be I Won't See You tonight Part 1 for its beautiful singing, guitar work and everything about it, Unholy Confessions for its ridiculusly catchy riff and Clairvoyant Desiese for the superb solo and chorus.
Be warned however, that if you have heard City Of Evil, this is a very differnt, harsher sounding, heavier Avenged Sevenfold do not expect for it to be too similar. Enough of me rambling on about it though, i urge you to go and hear it for yourself! Go buy...Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm impressed, 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
It's very hard to believe that this is just one band. They go from sounding like AFI to Faith No More to Killswitch Engage to Metallica to Guns N Roses to knows who else in the space of the first two songs! This is partly due to their amazing vocalist M Shaddows who bellows like James Hetfield, croons like Mike Patton and screams like Davey Havok without stopping for a single breath in between. If you are a fan of basically anything remotely metal, rock or punk, you should at least give Avenged Sevenfold a listen. You might like them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 2nd effort, 6 Aug 2004
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
I first saw Avenged Sevenfold at Brixton Academy in support of Lostprophets, and they really blew me away. On the basis of that performance I bought this album
There is not a bad song on it. From the haunting opening 'Waking the Fallen' until the mixed styles of 'And All Things Will End' (very appropriate!) there is not a single song to skip, or a single second I didn't enjoy listening to.
For a metalcore band, which suggests heavy riffing and screaming only, the musicians of this band are truly exceptional. The guitar ability of Synester Gates is superbly varied, going from heavy power chords to intricate picking in a heartbeat, and M. Shadows is, in my opinion, the best new vocalist in metal or punk. Also, the use of other instruments, such as the piano or violins in some of the slower songs, never feels out of place or cheezy.
Obvious highlights include 'Unholy Confessions'(the first single from the album I think) and 'Chapter Four', and the twin songs 'I Won't See You Tonight Part 1 & 2' is some of the best music i have heard ina long time.
In short: Buy this album. Love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the stupid names, they are the real deal, 31 May 2005
This review is from: Waking The Fallen (Audio CD)
Riffs are finally creeping back into heavy metal ladies and gents. Forced out of the way in favour of three chord pop-punk and de-tuned nu-metal, the guitar riff was a dying breed. Then metalcore reared its grimacing head. True heavy metal is back. Avenged Sevenfold are one of the many bands we have to thank for this metal renaissance. Fusing ballsy hardcore, punk attitude and old school riffing, A7X are a true class act. The album opens with an eerie sounding melodic intro, which ends with the words "no one can touch us", egotistical yes, but it has more than a fragment of truth in it. The riff to the bands most well known song then begins; 'Unholy Confessions'. Touching on melody, metal and screaming in the space of one song it simply blows away the listener. And that's all before the anthemic chorus begins. The two guitarists, despite their ridiculous monikers, blend their playing styles perfectly. Singer M Shadows goes from guttural growls to heartfelt melody perfectly, touching on most styles of singing in between. A7X often wear their influences on their sleeve, Pantera are one of the more obvious, being as they also did a two part song about suicide that was slow and haunting in the first part and vicious and brutal in the second part. Slayer and Metallica have also obviously influenced them in the solos, riffs and singing departments. However the band doesn't sound like a mere mish-mash of various different bands, their influences are blended together seamlessly. The only problem is A7X and the other major players of the 'metalcore' genre, have prompted a whole host of watered down acts to jump on the bandwagon. Hopefully their new material will do something to set them aside from the crowd, because it would be a shame to see A7X fade into the crowd of bands they influenced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews