Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Drama
Kate Atkinson's creation Jackson Brodie (Jason Isaacs) returns in his role as the rugged, brooding, chain-smoking policeman turned private investigator. The 2 DVD set contains the three televised feature length episodes set in Edinburgh. The episode titles are: 1) STARTED EARLY, TOOK MY DOG. 2) NOBODY'S FOOL. 3) JACKSON AND THE WOMEN.

Jason Isaacs plays Brodie...
Published 14 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat disappointing
I found the second series of Case Histories to be a let down after the brilliance of the first series.
It was redeemed slightly by the last episode but not by much.
The wonderful 'muddleness' of the first series was missing from these episodes and the characters
seemed to have lost their spark with each other.
Published 12 months ago by TS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Drama, 3 Jun 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Kate Atkinson's creation Jackson Brodie (Jason Isaacs) returns in his role as the rugged, brooding, chain-smoking policeman turned private investigator. The 2 DVD set contains the three televised feature length episodes set in Edinburgh. The episode titles are: 1) STARTED EARLY, TOOK MY DOG. 2) NOBODY'S FOOL. 3) JACKSON AND THE WOMEN.

Jason Isaacs plays Brodie as a dedicated, soft-hearted and battle-weary private eye in search of something more than his investigative life. His marriage has dissolved but his delightful daughter Marlee, brilliantly played by Millie Innes is the fulcrum of his otherwise disorganised life. She returns from New Zealand for an episode, displaying her precocious talents. Brodie is forlorn, a drifter, grasping at emotional attachments that inevitably break down due to his commitment to his job. His life revolves around impulsive decisions both in his job and private life. Everything precious to him seems to evaporate apart from his daughter. Romance figures largely but Brodie manages to mess things up. His on-off relationship with DCI Louise Munroe (Amanda Abbington) exemplifies his lack of obligation despite their obvious mutual attraction. Instead, Brodie embarks on spontaneous romantic interludes. Charlotte (Dawn Steele) is typical. Plunging head first into an affair with her after a lucky day at the races is followed by a shock parting discovery.

The characters and script are strong. The acting is excellent and the dialogue appropriate. The series hangs together well. Jason Isaacs is superb as the pivotal character with a convincing performance as an investigator, lonely and world weary subject to repeated physical assaults. He is a survivor who gets results.

A few words for Victoria Wood (Tracy) who is a lonely ex-cop turned store detective in the first episode, who is magnificent in her role that changes everyone's lives. Murder investigation, chasing trails of lost relatives, dodgy child-snatching, infidelity all crop up. This is enjoyable entertainment. Brodie is a disorganised hound-dog investigator. He messes up his own life and his colleagues but has charisma as well as his own set of standards and a conscience. He seems a genuinely 'good man' beneath the camouflage, a reluctant hero. I am looking forward to more episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat disappointing, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I found the second series of Case Histories to be a let down after the brilliance of the first series.
It was redeemed slightly by the last episode but not by much.
The wonderful 'muddleness' of the first series was missing from these episodes and the characters
seemed to have lost their spark with each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Isaacs (Lucius Malfoy in the Potter films) riveting!, 15 Jan 2014
By 
J Sader "JAS" (Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
is a fascinating anti-hero, estranged wife moved to Australia where young daughter Skypes with loving Dad, detective who as a punching bag once in a while gets a break. An introspective former cop who doesn't always like what he sees in himself. Isaacs is fun to watch and the stories always have you guessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Case Histories is Great, but..., 15 Nov 2013
By 
Richard Lane (Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It was much shorter duration than series one, which I found disappointing. I love the tragic hero thing that was so popular in the 1970's, where, in the end, they end up empty handed: not to give anything away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment for a rainy afternoon, 27 Aug 2013
By 
jasonhad (Brussels - Oregon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Jason Isaacs was an unknown to me when I bought the set, mea culpa. He credibly portrays another marginalixed detective, no longer on the police force, termined a wanker by his former colleagues, and working as a PI with a plucky receptionist/researcher, barely making a living.

Fun to watch in small doses, despite the hackneyed formiula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 3 Feb 2014
By 
GeeGee (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched and loved Series 1 on my local PBS channel. I couldn't wait for them to air Series 2 and I'm glad I bought it from Amazon UK. I enjoyed it just as much as Series 1. Jason Isaacs is wonderful in the role, very sympathetic and likable. You (the viewer) want things to go well for him - quite different from his Harry Potter character. I hope there will be a Series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the books and was pleasently surprised that the series kept the high level. Great stories, great characters, great dialog and humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad and compulsively-driven detective, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Touching stories. Hard to imagine them better told or acted. Music adds to a sense of sadness in the lives of the main characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gallant Hero!, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this on TV. I think I have fallen in love with Jason Isaac's Jackson Brodie! Such a versatile and excellent actor who has really brought the character to life and now that the series is over from the TV, I missed it more than I expected!

I originally thought this was the first series, which I missed when it was on TV and had to get on DVD.

My only complaints would be the endless clips of Jackson jogging with his childhood traumatic memory flashbacks interlaced with present day, which becomes rather laboured and tedious. Also the fact that he does get beaten up rather a lot!

I have read a couple of the Kate Atkinson novels which portray this character and also enjoyed other of her novels.

This drama series is a wonderful change from our beloved Morse and Lewis.

More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moody, Damaged but Still Tough Guy with a Soft Heart, 5 July 2014
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
CASE HISTORIES, Series 2, (2013). This ITV-produced British mystery television series is set and filmed in Scotland. The first series received its BBC TV debut in 2011, and was seen in the United States on PBS's Masterpiece Mystery. The second series aired in the U.K. on BBC in 2013, now makes its U.S. debut. Edinburgh-based private investigator Jackson Brodie, an emotionally-damaged former soldier and Edinburgh cop, finds himself tracking lost cats, wayward spouses, and killers on the run. And he does a lot of running himself to escape the memories of his traumatic past. The productions are based on the bestselling, award-winning novels by Kate Atkinson; the series was created for TV by Ashley Pharoah, (LIFE ON MARS). The series consists of three episodes. It contains nudity, violence and coarse language and is intended for mature audiences only.

Brodie (Jason Isaacs, HARRY POTTER, THE PATRIOT) is just trying to make a living. He has a hard time collecting his debts and paying his bills, but no shortage of clients, since he can't overlook a wrong or say no to a person in need. This character-driven series also stars Amanda Abbington, (AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT, SHERLOCK), as DC Louise Munroe, seemingly the last Edinburgh cop still talking to her former colleague, and Zawe Ashton, (FRESH MEAT), as Deborah Arnold, Brody's longsuffering assistant. Millie Innes plays Brodie's daughter Marlee; Kirsty Mitchell, ex-wife Josie, Natasha Little, (KIDNAP AND RANSOM), his ex-lover actress Julia Land. Some of his clients are parents looking for children; some children, looking for parents. Some are concerned with the past; some, with the future. The women in Brodie's life don't seem to offer him much peace, either. Series star Isaacs, a Golden Globe® and International Emmy® nominee, ably plays Brodie as a moody, damaged but still tough guy with a soft heart. He carries the series with empathy, a realization of the terrible cost of violence to its survivors as well as its victims, and biting Scottish humor.

Disc 1
Episode 1: Started Early, Took My Dog
The investigator agrees to help a handsome young Australian woman. She had been given up for adoption, has returned to Edinburgh to find her real parents. His investigation leads him to a 35-year-old secret; carrying it has troubled everyone involved. Brodie must decide whether to let the law take its course or do what he thinks best for a child.

Episode 2: Nobody's Darling
A pretty young nanny hires Brodie to see if her employer/fiancé is cheating on her. During his inquiries he is also hired by the man's ex-mother-in-law, who suspects the fiancé of having murdered her daughter. A straightforward investigation turns into a cold case. Marlee, Brodie's pubescent daughter, moves in with him; his home life gets difficult.

Disc 3
Episode 3: Jackson and the Women
The women in Brodie's life give him a tough time. He takes on two new cases. A teenage boy asks him to investigate the murder of his mother, killed on Christmas Eve when her boy was three. A family hires him to locate their missing 19-year-old daughter. What he discovers in both is painful for all parties, but particularly painful for Brodie. He makes decisions that are costly for him but give the two young people a chance to move forward.

The characterizations are deep and complex in these three stories, as are their plots, yet the suspense never lets up. The Scottish settings are occasionally tourist-beautiful, Brodie seems to do most of his running around Arthur's Seat or on the beach; but they are usually in gritty, little-seen corners of the country's capital. Can the series be characterized as tartan noir? I think so. Sex, in your face violence, dark Scottish humor. And what is tartan noir when it's at home? Written by a Scot, of course, and containing the above-cited ingredients. At any rate, I found the series powerful, satisfying, surprising and gripping; involving in its emphasis on family relations, particularly those with/of daughters, as was the first series. And, as I recall, the Atkinson book on which the TV treatments are based, CASE HISTORIES. (Oddly enough, I was given that book as a birthday present upon its publication, but remember that I didn't quite care for it, though I don't remember why. I certainly wouldn't consider the underlying books tartan noir, they're much too literary for that. ) Nevertheless, I quite liked the first series of this production, which I reviewed on its web site, and in this house, we love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD]
Case Histories - Series 2 [DVD] by Jason Isaacs (DVD - 2013)
£11.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews