Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars81
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 1997
We're coming into an age referred to by many as the "Cocktail Nation," and our youth is experimenting with swing dancing, swing music, making bathtub absinthe, and trying to recreate the air of my most favorite decade of all times: the roaring '20s.
"The Beautiful and Damned," is by far the best work by the man who almost single-handedly created the image of the flapper. F. Scott Fitzgerald was as much the voice of his generation as we claim modern alternative musicians are the voice of ours.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
F.Scott Fitzgerald's reputation rests chiefly on his magnum opus - the irrepressible The Great Gatsby, however sometime before Gatsby came this novel - the tale of a pair of socialites who marry with great hope and passion, but whose fortunes are soon undermined by alcohol, money, and regret. Gloria and Anthony's presumptuous attitude and decadent leanings are portrayed as indicative of 1920s US culture, and the novel is a very one-sided affair that leaves little room for hope or optimism. Despite this it's an absorbing read, and as the fortunes of the pair start to shift, the underlying tensions are laid bare, and the once united lovers start to become prised apart by their own greed and ambition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
I am very much enjoying re-discovering the F. Scott Fitzgerald oeuvre through these new illustrated kindle books. This is a fine edition lovingly illustrated with period images, which help bring the novel even more to life than I can remember. Keep 'em coming!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I was stunned when I found this book to be only £1.99. I would certainly recommend it as it's two classics from one of America's greatest (in my opinion) writers Fitzgerald. I bought this to accompany the English course I am doing which focuses on the Great Gatsby. It's a no brainer really at that price as you get two very well written novels and the paper quality is not rubbish either as you may expect from such a low priced book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
The fact that 'The Beautiful and Damned' is a great story is widely known and this is a book which I enjoy returning to again and again. What sets apart this edition is that it is absolutely beautiful, as a true bibliophile I regard this as a proud addition to my collection. Penguin have outdone themselves providing a fantastic quality and turning a great book into something that feels like a really special reading experience.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
clean and with lovely illustrations of fitzgeralds second novel which is more uneven than gatsby but still a good read and with plenty to chew on
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
Could this have been a more established classic if it were not for the shadow of Gatsby? I think so. This is a great book and a must for anyone building a serious collection on Kindle, as should all of Fitzgerald's work to be fair. As for this version, I couldn't fault it. It read just like my paperback version and the menus worked without any complaint. Highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"It is seven thirty on an August evening. The windows in the living room of the gray house are wide open patiently exchanging the tainted inner atmosphere of liquor and smoke for the fresh drowsiness of the late hot dusk. There are dying flower scents upon the air, so thin, so fragile, as to hint already of as summer laid away in time."
This is the story of a young couple Anthony and Gloria Patch living out their days to the hilt in New York City as they await the death of Anthony's grandfather, Adam Patch from whom they expect to inherit his massive fortune.
Gloria is a spoilt child from Kansas City turned into a sophisticated and most beautiful woman. Gloria does not intend to lift a finger to do any domestic work in the home, no matter how slight; while Anthony who considers himself an aesthete, finds it quite hard to get his act together and instead of buckling down to some work, prefers instead to hang with his wife and their friends on nightly binges. They drink and eat in the classiest restaurants and hotels, rent the most expensive apartments, travel out to the West in the spring time driving plush cars, wearing top-of-the-line clothing and just generally living it up high on the hog, as they wait.
Meet Maury Noble who is Anthony best friend who spends his time between New York and Philadelphia; Richard Caramel who has just completed a writing a book and looking for new ideas for a second one. Joseph Bloeckman from Munich who started out small in America and is now a big shot in Show Biz. Also the quiet Jewess Rachael Barnes and Muriel Kane who is young, flirtatious and sometimes a bit too talkative and Tana the Japanese housekeeper of the Patches.
We are shown the Patches at their very best as the novel starts, with the world at their feet and loaded with cash with which they make very expensive choices. But, as we get further in, we see things begin to change gradually and we realize that those very choices will be their very downfall. It was quite a good read but it could be very heartbreaking at times as we put ourselves into the shoes of the main characters. All lovers of F. Scott Fitzgerald should read this book if you haven't done so already, and those of you who like reading about the ultra rich in the Roaring Twenties this one is for you. It is the kind of book that you feel you will want to read again. It is that good and I shall miss it. Heather Marshall
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Slow and dull reading. Not at all like The Great Gatsby, which I inspired me to read more books by Fitzgerald.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
Whilst not in the same league as Fitzgerald's other works and at times a little plodding, this is still worth a read as once again the author effortlessly captures the essence of the times. Parties, cocktails, fur coats and fast cars...how nice to have been rich and young and lost in the 1920s. Ultimately though, the characters are unsympathetic, perhaps intentionally so, and although they struggle to maintain their flamboyant lifestyle, their coldness and indifference to themselves rubs off on the reader and one doesn't give a damn if they will ever receive their inheritance and be able to carry on along their road to oblivion.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.