Customer Reviews


22 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book for lovers of Cyprus, 26 July 2012
By 
K. Desborough (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is an utter joy to read as are the rest of Sheila Hawkins' books and although I have the paperback version so pleased it is now on Kindle. It's a book you can read again and again transporting you back to the 1970s in Cyprus and following Sheila's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back Of Beyond, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I had heard so much about Sheila's books and Harry's paintings previously, and earlier this year I had the pleasure of visiting their studio and buying some of Harry's prints. Following this visit and hearing that this book was on Kindle I took the opportunity of obtaining it and I can say that it was a delight to be transported back to a simpler time in Cyprus. Sheila writes with an obvious love of the island and its people; the beautiful illustrations bring to life the characters that have touched their lives. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Back of Beyond, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book... The author's enjoyment of the beautiful wild Cypriot surroundings, and the wild life, and the generous friendliness of the neighbours is so well expressed that the reader is right there, sharing it. I learned of the book sitting beside the harbour, having a beautiful meal at a harbour side restaurant, and listening to music played by the author' s husband and friends. What if restaurants and developments now abound - "Back of Beyond" has meant that I have still not missed out on the simplicity of earlier days. Sheila Hawkins has done a wonderful job.
Ian McKenzie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The back of Beyond, 7 July 2012
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story goes back to the late 1970s and tells of the trials, tribulations and delights as the Hawkins build their dream house on the outskirts of a Cypriot village. As things slowly progress they start to learn the language and customs as they integrate into the life of their chosen village. There are fascinating profiles of the many characters, some quite unexpected, they meet along the way. An altogether charming tale I much enjoyed first reading in hardback and now a joy to find it at such a reasonable price on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well observed, witty and full of pathos, 27 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am sure this book would still be a wonderfully descriptive tale if ou had never visited Cyprus. But to those who have loved the warm, welcoming, passionate raw essence of the island and its generous people for years; the word and pen pictures are beautiful reminders of the best of times. The author's fine observations and accessible writing style are matched only by her evident and genuine love of Cypriots, their island and traditions. I do hope that she continues to write more of her experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Charming read, 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read and kept all of Sheila Hawkins books and think they are delightful. An easy read about Cyprus typically twenty odd years ago describing the characters,fun and frustrations of setting up life in a different counry .Her concerns about wildlife and habitats were touching too. I went to see her in May and she told me Back of beyond was on Kindle so I will be collecting the books electronically too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy), 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
We have a house not far from Sheila and Harry's in Cyprus and reading this and the other books makes you feel like you are walking round looking at the sights and sounds and feeling the warmth of the sun even when you are sitting reading them at home in England on a cold wet day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back of beyond, 27 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the three books of this trilogy ~ twice, I can honestly say, what an amazing writer Sheila Hawkins is. I have enjoyed every word and am now just sorry to say how sad I am to have finished them all! They are a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant easy read, 10 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Being a regular visitor to this part of the island you can relate to what you are reading. A nice easy read that is amusing as well as taking you right in to the scenes that are put in front of you. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back of Beyond (Back of Beyond Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting and some times hilarious account of life in Cyprus. Read this and the other books in Shiela's series and then go to the art studio in Neo Chorio and meet the people that you already know so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews