Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look what you've gone and started.
A collection of a great songs, and well collected they are. The record has variety you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere else. Matt Sellors's vocals are not dissimilar to Caleb Followill's, and you'll hear him use it every which way he can, stretching it to a slow croon or bellowing triumphantly.

If you want to dance, close your eyes and try tracks 3 or 9...
Published 22 months ago by Mrt N. J. Moore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album
Good album, not my normal type of listening but extremely well produced. Interesting lead vocals, lovely CD set, good design, cover, etc
Published 18 months ago by Jennifer Walter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look what you've gone and started., 23 Oct 2012
By 
Mrt N. J. Moore "nicholasmoore.co.uk" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
A collection of a great songs, and well collected they are. The record has variety you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere else. Matt Sellors's vocals are not dissimilar to Caleb Followill's, and you'll hear him use it every which way he can, stretching it to a slow croon or bellowing triumphantly.

If you want to dance, close your eyes and try tracks 3 or 9. Both a wonderful journey led by some gloriously infectious horns, that just keep you bopping as the rhythm and vocals bounce around all over the place.
You'll be singing along after a minute in, and don't look back!

I could listen to My My for hours on end, on repeat. It's gentle, subtle start is almost haunting in its beauty. Sellors's wavering vocals have never sounded so perfect, so wonderfully tortured.

The album cascades slow, fast and everywhere in between but manages to hold itself together, somewhat lone huge, undulating 45 minute musical story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
Hello, absolutely loved this album! Right from the first track 'Desperation State' it was quality. I especially liked 'Never Know' having only heard the acoustic YouTube version, this was awesome, and the end bit with the little guitar bits, UH PRIME! Obviously 'Not Guilty' is a tune, but I liked the way 'The Situation' led into it. 'Mrs #1' with Joss Stone was really nice. Oh yes, and ha! the lyrics to 'Pretty Thing' are so good, funny, and just plain awesome!
Thoroughly looking forward to seeing Yes Sir Boss @ Thekla in December!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
This is a great album by a band that I have been following for years. I love all the tracks but especially Mrs # 1 and My My. They really deserve to do so well.
I just hope that everyone gets out there and buys it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
Good album, not my normal type of listening but extremely well produced. Interesting lead vocals, lovely CD set, good design, cover, etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Gem, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperation State (MP3 Download)
Initially got the Free MP3 and having liked the sound of that took a listen to the samples
Sounded Great enough to want to hear the full album
What a record ! ! !
A refreshing ska/rock fusion sound - a real need to add this to your MP3 catalogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YES SIR BOSS, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
What an amazing and talented bunch of musicians! This is a must see Bristol based band. Catch them around the country on tour. The long awaited album/download is superb. Come on radio 1 - get them out there!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
Definitely recommend this album, excellent funky beat and catchy lyrics, different sound to any other band out there at the moment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A party you don't forget!, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Fiona Spence (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperation State (MP3 Download)
This is an album that grabs you instantly, with its vibrant energy and slick skill. Hard to define the style... It's like Madness and Ennio Morricone held a party and Elton John gatecrashed and everyone got deliciously drunk and had a kick-ass time. Or something. I don't know. I just like the variety of it, with Matthew Sellors super-talented vocals at ease in reggae or deep ballad, and I dare you to pick a favourite.
Yes Sir Boss admitted drafting in a couple more horns for the album, but I can assure you that Tom First and Jehan Abdel-Malak are more than capable of sustaining a wind section live that will blow your socks off. You could listen to this album just for Tom's trumpet.
I love what Josh Stopford brings to the album, with the incredible My My, a haunting song that Matthew shows off perfectly, and the subtle use of the ukulele on a couple of tracks that lends great depth and character.
This is a collection of songs that you makes you find yourself humming randomly later, wanting to dance at awkward moments. I guess that means it wins.
Thank you, Yes Sir Boss, for a class album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ones to watch..., 27 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
Though you have to see YSB live to really appreciate them (their energy is amazing), this album gives you a flavour of their genius and although most of the songs will have you bopping round your living room, there are others which are more mellow. If you want to have a private little weeping session, try 'Lose No MOre'. Divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well, what can you say really!!, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desperation State (Audio CD)
I'm no good a reviews, so read others for a more detailed description! What I can say is, after repeatedly listening to the four track EP I've been carrying around in the car I was eager to get my hands on the whole albumn when it came out. What a treat it really is. At no point do I want to flick foward through any of the tracks (and I am prone to that with albumns), every track delivers. If you've never encountered Yes Sir Boss before, just give it a go, it'll be money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desperation State EP
Desperation State EP by Yes Sir Boss
Buy MP3 Album1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews