Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Battalion Heavy ArmOUr.
Pros,
- Responsive, intuitive and accurate controls (Kinect works very well)
- Skill based gameplay (The game doesn't drag you along and practice will make you better, this is unfortunately lacking in many Kinect games)
- Fun fast-paced and exciting gameplay... you will feel in the action.
- Long campaign.
- Customise your VT (a great feature that...
Published on 29 Jun 2012 by david cunningham

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best,not the worst.
Thought i would finally get round to buying this,as i'd bought Kinect for the girlfriend. Its better than i thought it would be,judging by the reviews.I can see how the games dependence on Kinect & its imperfect technology has annoyed many,especially the people like myself,who had & played the original(& far superior)Steel Battalion on the Xbox 1 with its epic controller...
Published 18 months ago by The Spartan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Battalion Heavy ArmOUr., 29 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Pros,
- Responsive, intuitive and accurate controls (Kinect works very well)
- Skill based gameplay (The game doesn't drag you along and practice will make you better, this is unfortunately lacking in many Kinect games)
- Fun fast-paced and exciting gameplay... you will feel in the action.
- Long campaign.
- Customise your VT (a great feature that I hadn't realised was in the game)

Middle (Pro & Con),
- This game is CHALLENGING if not HARD... it will not drag you along to make progress. This is nice in that it provides a challenge which is rare in most Kinect games but also frustrating when you continually die and are sent back to the start of the mission. However missions are very short (but numerous).
- Objectives may seem unclear and confusing... all the information required is relayed to you realistically by your crew (navigator in particular) so it is VITAL you pay attention to them. This is good because it makes you care more for your crew members (who can die) but is also a con since if you accidentally missed what they were saying or simply forgot you can't simply turn round and ask them (Would have been a cool use of Kinect's voice Recognition).

Con,
- Could have used an online vs mode as well as the coop.
- Misspelling of Armour on the front cover (Yes I know its American) and the fact I think I'm meant to feel patriotic when the cutscenes make a big deal about flying the American flag around the place both irk me... but when I have to list this as a con it must be a pretty good game. Obviously if your American this wouldn't matter at all.

Conclusion,
- Steel Battalion Heavy ArmOUr lives mostly up to it's quote on the back cover "Kinect finally gets it's hardcore game" (or similar) although I'd argue that Rise of Nightmares should really have that title. It is enjoyable, responsive and well made but will pose a healthy albeit sometimes frustrating challenge... though thankfully this challenge comes from the game's difficulty NOT through dubious Kinect controls... if someone tells you the Kinect controls don't work then they're probably just not up to the game's difficulty, and Kinect's an easy scapegoat.

Tips before you buy,
- If you have any doubts of this game I strongly recommend you check out the Demo available through XBOX LIVE marketplace, It give a very good flavour of the Kinect controls and indeed of the difficulty (it contains the Tutorial and one complete mission. But bare in mind you will get better at the game the more you play.)

EDIT; I would have given this game a FOUR star total but for the clearly false one star review below, if more honest and reasoned reviews come to balance this I'll change mine back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immersive and Exciting, 23 May 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly the thing that people seem to complain the most about is the Kinect with a simple set-up my living room doesn't really have much space but it works great its seems like people need to recalibrate their Kinects because I have never had any problems with it losing me - occasionally it may misinterpret but it has never affected game-play. One tip that goes for all Kinect games is to really go for the movements, in this game you really have to imagine that for example you are pulling a monitor towards you or pull down a heavy steel shutter and it will work fine.
And now onto the actually game, I have fired a fair few hours into this game already and completed a good number of missions with some tough parts. Bits where you have to play it several times to work out a strategy comparable to my experiences playing Call of Duty 4 on Veteran or Operation Flashpoint Dragon Rising which I have completed both campaigns fully. With quite a lot of experience playing tough war games maybe I am better or more open to getting somewhat screwed over by games but I have had a good amount of fun playing this game so far. I picked it up for a fiver knowing I was risking it with plentiful reviews rubbishing it, but having played the demo I was prepared to go for it. The story is believable and pretty interesting - you actually want to watch the cut scenes. The feeling of being in the tank is fantastic standing up takes you up to the outside where you can bring up your binoculars with your hand which I thought was pretty awesome haha and it even has headtracking in the tank which is really cool. The game has been widely praised for its characters I can definitely say they are amazing. You can interact with them such as receiving a chocolate bar at one point, and you can hear banter as you are heading to an objective but also the fear when your tank gets bombarded. Watching your comrades die is gutting, and often brutal. Sometimes the tank will be boarded by an enemy infantry and they may try and kill one of your comrades or drop a grenade into the tank these moments are genuinely scary and you have to act quickly by picking up grenades or shooting attackers. It can be very graphic at times but this really helps to bring the war to life. So in summary you might curse at your TV a fair bit but it is exciting and immersive, it feels like you are actually in the tank taking part in a large scale attack. One word of warning though it doesn't exactly start easy - the first mission would be really pretty tough if I had never played it through before in the demo and some of the later missions are easier. Recommended for people who are into tough/realistic games with an interest in actually using their Kinect as opposed to just complaining about it not working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great game hampered by the limitations of kinect, 23 Nov 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When I first bought the game it took a while to figure out the control scheme that the game uses, namely interacting with actual switches on screen through kinect. When I got through the initial hassle of controlling my own walking tank the story of the game and the different crewmembers you have really add up to the feeling of the game. The claustrophobic feeling of actually being in a tank is present. The only think breaking this is the glitchyness of the controlling system. When you are trying to actually pull a lever the system thinks you are doing something else. Also the distance to the kinect sensor must be just perfect, I usually played from a kitchen chair just in front of my sofa. All in all the game was enjoyable and felt good if you manage to look past the awful controls. The game would have probably been really enjoyable if some of the controls would have been moved from kinect to the actual physical buttons on the controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best,not the worst., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Thought i would finally get round to buying this,as i'd bought Kinect for the girlfriend. Its better than i thought it would be,judging by the reviews.I can see how the games dependence on Kinect & its imperfect technology has annoyed many,especially the people like myself,who had & played the original(& far superior)Steel Battalion on the Xbox 1 with its epic controller. Once you learn how to best do the gestures so Kinect recognizes them,the game really opens up & starts getting good.You still have the odd moment of irritation from the controls,but all in all a very good experience when it all finally clicks. I've only given the game 3/5 because i'm not so keen on the back to basics technology premise,its reliance on Kinect,the in VT controls which just feels like it gets in the way,& the games poor support of Co-Op. would have been nice if ALL the missions were playable in Co-Op,not just a select few..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 15 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What are people talking about? Seriously...

This game is great! I actually feel like I'm piloting my own tank! The reason people have been saying it's non-responsive, do NOT listen to them. The reason they're saying that is because they don't wanna own up to the fact it's their fault. My living room is not big, a rectangle shape with a two seater sofa on the left and a three seater on the back wall. The TV is in the far right hand corner. At first I thought it would be a problem, but then I found a chair, put it between the two sofas at the bottom left corner, adjusted the Kinect and the TV and it's so smooth and responsive!

The game is great, it really gets you involved in a real life situation and at under twenty pounds, it's a bargain!

Thankyou Capcom for yet another five star game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this game, 30 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a great game and i dont understand why ppl complain about the controls couse it wrk fine for me. The only disapointment for me is lack of online play. Maybe chuck in some versus modes? Could b fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kinect ruins another one., 16 July 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Unbelieveably bad, the game is utterly ruined by the defective Kinect, which frankly needed at least another year of development before even reaching testing phase. Dont. Buy. This.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BAD, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. V. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
STEEL BATTALION IS A NOT VERY GOOD GAME IN MY OPINION AND IT'S KINECT WHICH MAKES IT EVEN WORSE!! ALSO THE KINECT DOESNT PICK YOU UP NO GOOD AT ALL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steel Battalion Heavy Armor (Xbox 360)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews