Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
This book is about Annie who's thirty eight years old, she was orphaned at sixteen and taken in and made one of the family by her boyfriend Kevin's mother Claudia. She went on to marry Kevin in what everyone thought was the perfect marriage after all they were both so in love with each other it couldn't be any other way. Now widowed two years Annie is struggling with the...
Published 13 months ago by Deborah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I kept on reading
This book was okay to begin with if not a little slow, I have even put it down for a little while. I'm glad though, that I have picked it up again as it was very good towards the end. Well worth the read!
Published 10 months ago by Love Reading


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Deborah - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is about Annie who's thirty eight years old, she was orphaned at sixteen and taken in and made one of the family by her boyfriend Kevin's mother Claudia. She went on to marry Kevin in what everyone thought was the perfect marriage after all they were both so in love with each other it couldn't be any other way. Now widowed two years Annie is struggling with the crippling debt left by Kevin's gambling and trying to move on with her life, which would be difficult enough under these circumstances but when you've spent your entire life in the same small town where everyone knows everyone else and secrets are hard to keep it's even more so. Into Annies life bounds Sam and Max, now Sam's hit problems of his own and he's taking a break from life in the small town where he spent a summer when he was younger and his friend Warren owns some property and Max well he's a yellow lab who in the space of a day eats all Annie's pizzas in her car, making a real mess then proceeds to save her life.

I loved this book, the small town feel and characters were great, it had humour and most importantly in had a great romance with two people who truly deserve each other but will they end up together or will life get in the way after all between them they carry enough baggage to sink Warren's boat. A wonderful book, I enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Engaging Story, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this story very much and was impressed with the way Barbara Bretton dealt with bereavement and the complications it brings for daughter in laws and their mother in laws. The loss of the husbands / son changes the family dynamic hugely.

This is a great story with lots of twists and turns with a host of super characters too. It is a love story with attitude. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A soft place to fall, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
A good read. A small place where everyone knows everyone else and their business. A story of a love that would outlast trials and tribulations. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read., 31 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. S. J. Mockridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
The book was enjoyable, the story of Annie and Sam's romance was done well, but just a little too much soul searching. However don't let that put you off reading this book, as I said, it is a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Romantic beautiful love story. I thought too many unecessary secondary characters though, it sometimes got confusing. But all in all i loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I kept on reading, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was okay to begin with if not a little slow, I have even put it down for a little while. I'm glad though, that I have picked it up again as it was very good towards the end. Well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miracle, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Nice book it was a good change to not read a book where two people have lied to each other and then go crawling back for forgiveness but I like th fact that this book portrays the effects of gambling and how it affects a marriage and someone's whole life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Soft Place to Fall, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
A beautiful story well written about two people who fall in love after tragedy hits both there lives. A sad and happy romance story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not a bad read., 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
I like this book as I could relate to the characters, but the begining was a little confusing with all the characters been talked about all in one go (bit hard to keep up).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Heartwarming, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Soft Place to Fall (Shelter Rock Cove - Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
This is my fourth Barbara Bretton book and each one seems to break my heart and lift my spirit in equal measures. They are all so well written you easily get transported into the world Barbara has created and I see everything so clearly it's hard to believe it's not real, which is usually why I end up crying everytime I read one of her books. This book is no exception with its realistic characters and heartbreaking situations. A definate read for every true romantic. I cannot recommend Barbara's books enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews