Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for children
Being a children's book I got this for my young grandson to read when he visits but the synopsis on the cover sounded quite good so I read it first and it was a really good read.

The basic premise is that a young schoolboy, Itch (short for Itchingham), is a collector of items that correspond to the elements of the period table. He comes across a completely new...
Published on 24 Feb. 2012 by Dave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
This book is a pretty big read for its target audience of teenagers and reads with drama.
Not taking long to get into the story the lead boy is always having accidents or finding danger prone things to be involved in.
Not the easiest story to follow and not very realistic thank goodness, but a great idea for a pretty exciting adventure.
Think one of the...
Published on 8 Mar. 2012 by Thinker


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut, 17 Aug. 2012
By 
Chocolate Drop (wolves, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Itch (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Excellent children's book, aimed at about 10 years plus, my son is mad on chemistry and the elements of the periodic table so was thrilled to find a book that celebrated this in such an exciting way and made him feel less of a 'geek' ! His sister, who is older and inclined to view the subject as definitely geeky was initially resistant but quickly drawn into the story and captivated. Lots of other themes explored in the story, such as family relationships, and not fitting in at school, and an exciting storyline running through too.
Can't wait to see what Simon writes next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality. Very pleased, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Itch (Kindle Edition)
Arrived on time and per specification. Good quality. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Itch (Hardcover)
Excelent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Itch (Paperback)
Didn't interest my 11 year old very keen reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Itch (Kindle Edition)
A very information packed book of adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Itch's debut is head scratching: where does he go from here?, 21 Feb. 2012
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Itch (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Itchingham Lofte is a teenage boy with an unlikely name and unlikely hobby. After his escapades with a highly radioactive rock with the potential to be the greatest source of energy and/or destruction, Itch is poised to be an unlikely hero of his own series.

The character is fairly well sketched out BUT the inconsistency of his name (parents: Jude, Nicholas, sister: Chloe) sticks out like a sore thumb.

The slightly geeky aspect about how he came to collect elements instead of other collectibles is fairly believable, the part about him lugging around a rucksack filled with objects made from these elements is not. (He wants pure sodium but accepts various metal alloys, carries a vial of hydrogen and a cannister of xenon)

The plots and plot devices feel as if the author was reaching for uniqueness. Unfortunately they are over the top or nonsensical.

I like Itch as a character. I admire the gritty realism Mr Mayo approaches radiation poisoning. I applaud the fact that put alongside Alex Rider and Young Bond (where the book cover blurb is trying to poise Itch) Itch isn't a spy/action prodigy after all, just a kid trying to do right in his own nerdy way. A chemistry orientated MacGyver.

It is only because of the enjoyment of the story that stopped me from giving this up as a bad job. With so many loose ends as ready made plot lines (dad works for company run by baddies, baddie teacher sprung from jail etc) I wish Mr Mayo luck and good skill in the rest of Itch's adventures mostly because I want to read about Itch, but also because with a little less effort and this book could have been a sorry mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Itch (Paperback)
Great price, delivery fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a hit with our 12 year old, 9 May 2012
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Itch (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I passed my copy of Itch to our 12 year old boy. He generally likes science and technology - and especially anything that is Internet related. Therefore, I thought this might be a hit with him even though he hasn't studied chemistry as such.

Alas, the story really didn't grab him and he set the book aside. He is fairly non-committal about what didn't work for him - hence a 3 star review - but didn't really identify with Itch and wasn't terribly interested in the quest for elements.

The book doesn't specify an age group, but I suspect that 12 may be a wee bit too young, just in terms of the level of school knowledge that would probably help to appreciate the story.

Sorry Simon - I used to enjoy your Breakfast Show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elemental...., 22 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Itch (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is no sci-fi fantasy book, but rather an adventure book of a kid who has a bizarre but intriguing fascination with the periodic table. Fortunately details of chemicals and elements are kept to a minumum, otherwise I could see this boring some readers, but it has interesting and exciting twists with sodium and phosphorous etc to remain true to its title "Element Hunter"
Entertaining - yes, believable -no. But that should not detract or deter anyone from enjoying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adventure with science, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Itch (Hardcover)
Was fascinated by the subject matter when I heard this being discussed on the radio and ordered it on the spot. It's been marketed towards a teenage audience but found I enjoyed it as an adult in my early 60s! About a boy whose hobby is collecting the elements from the periodic table, with a large element of adventure, this could also help create more interest in science in school. Perhaps schools should include this in their English literature studies with this in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews