Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen the movie, see this.
Caught this late at night and thoroughly enjoyed it, extremely informative and if you've bought the movie then this is an ideal DVD companion for it.
Published 13 months ago by Nibz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Less substance than I had hoped.
A worthwhile - but not outstanding - background to the film and the period it portrays. Very much a good second-class production of Television work, not matching the best of BBC, ITV or Channel 4. But I also found the film (NOT the play)
less striking than did many of my friends.
Published 5 months ago by Herodotus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen the movie, see this., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Caught this late at night and thoroughly enjoyed it, extremely informative and if you've bought the movie then this is an ideal DVD companion for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equine, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I have a real love of horses and it is sad to see how abused these honest and willing animals were used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Horse, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I was told to watch this film actually by some friends in the US! I am glad I did for I liked it very much. My Dad was in the 1st WW so know all about the trenches and hardship they all endured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As described., 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present, so I can't comment on the content, although the recipient was delighted and enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So moving, have some tissues handy!, 30 Mar 2014
By 
M. C. Digby "Mark" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
So sad how man has misused these beautiful creatures. Excellent as a commentary on war generally, WW1 particularly, war in general terms. Brilliantly produced and acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Less substance than I had hoped., 28 Mar 2014
By 
Herodotus (Kingston, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
A worthwhile - but not outstanding - background to the film and the period it portrays. Very much a good second-class production of Television work, not matching the best of BBC, ITV or Channel 4. But I also found the film (NOT the play)
less striking than did many of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very useful DVD, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Peter Crawley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This is really a mixture of history and observation. It contains much original black and white footage. I bought it to share with my granddaughter. She is having to work on poetry of the first world war.

So by looking at this material it not only conveys some real history in picture or film form but also give a major insight to the scenes that poets and of course many others had to see and live through. This was as indicated a TV documentary but well worth watching, if only to watch politicians or military mistakes or decisions in action and the results.Not meant as a political comment, just an observation of the reality many brave people had to face whatever their nation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic document, really interesting, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Horse: The Real Story: As Seen on Channel 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Very well presented this document, but it does have weepy bits. There are some scenes where it maybe upsetting, but it is very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews