Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, action, mystery adventure, and a thoroughly good read
After reading a copy of Shaun's first novel Wahoo Rhapsody (Atticus Fish Novel) which was given to me as a present, I was excited to see the return of Atticus Fish (the eccentric billionaire who sued God and won), in his new novel. I was not let down.

It's a compelling read, the perfect holiday book for relaxing on the beach or on a cozy sofa for a few...
Published 20 months ago by Chris O

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Separate Stories
The frantically paced intriguing plot of `El Dorada Blues' is set in appealing Baja California and there are numerous highly colourful and bizarre characters - yet the novel is only average - and hence 3-star rating. Based on the search for legendary treasure the reader may expect a mystery - but it is merely a set of `twists and turns'. `El Dorada Blues' is an awkward...
Published 10 months ago by D. Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, action, mystery adventure, and a thoroughly good read, 8 Nov 2012
After reading a copy of Shaun's first novel Wahoo Rhapsody (Atticus Fish Novel) which was given to me as a present, I was excited to see the return of Atticus Fish (the eccentric billionaire who sued God and won), in his new novel. I was not let down.

It's a compelling read, the perfect holiday book for relaxing on the beach or on a cozy sofa for a few hours.

The plot is fast moving and action packed, but easy to follow, and is filled with plenty of life like and relatable characters, including our hero Atticus Fish. As well as a number of over the top characters, such as Barbie the germaphobe, illegal treasure seller, which helps give the story an extra kick.

I'm not usually a fan of fishing or mystery books, but the El Dorado Blues incorporates these seamlessly in a book that appeals to my interests of travel, adventure and suspense, and almost creates an interest in fishing, almost!

A fun, action mystery placing you right in the center of the adventure, and a thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Like Hiaasen, You'll Like This., 1 Nov 2012
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A new novel from the creator of Atticus Finch, a follow up to Wahoo Rhapsody.

I think the author has probably been reading Carl Hiaasen, because there seems to be a lot of that writer's influence in this novel.

If you have read the first book you'll know Atticus Finch is an ultra-rich, retired lawyer who made a fortune suing God. Apalled by the way insurance companies use "Act of God" as an excusr for not paying claims, Atticus took them and the institutions of religion to the cleaners.

This time Atticus is up against treasure hunters who are looking for a fortune hidden by the Jesuits in Baja California. As always the book is peppered with bizarre characters. Toozie, a beatiful PI. Barbie, a woman terrified of germs, but totally amoral. Skegs, a giant native American. The lovely Molly, boat owner with attitude. The twins - one lacking an eve, one lacking both ears.

Take all these folk and mix them up, throw in a load of treasure, then sit back and watch the fireworks.

This book may not be to everybody's tast, but if you like Carl Hiaasen you will probably like this. For myself I thoroughly enjoyed it. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Separate Stories, 25 Aug 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The frantically paced intriguing plot of `El Dorada Blues' is set in appealing Baja California and there are numerous highly colourful and bizarre characters - yet the novel is only average - and hence 3-star rating. Based on the search for legendary treasure the reader may expect a mystery - but it is merely a set of `twists and turns'. `El Dorada Blues' is an awkward read which bounces along rather than unfolds logically, and though eventually merging, narration is as separate stories with the conclusion relying on a series of `Epilogues'. Perhaps best described as a `poolside holiday read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars naughty, but nice, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Dorado Blues (An Atticus Fish Novel) (Kindle Edition)
good fun, great characters and outrageous hero, what more could you ask . i need to write more words apparently amazon don't like short and to the point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant read!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Dorado Blues (An Atticus Fish Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Funny, entertaining and will appeal to a wide range of readers. My daughter is in University studying Conservation Biology and I know she'll love these books. I've recommended Shaun Morey to my Dentist and an ex police detective friend. Please write a new one soon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Reminded me of Marmite, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Dorado Blues (An Atticus Fish Novel) (Kindle Edition)
It is a bit like peanut butter. There is no middle groundYou love it or hate it.I hated it and will delete when I have read the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun (include in holiday suitcase) Read, 21 Aug 2013
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Who cannot enjoy "El Dorado Blues?" It may not be high literature but is surely a more popular and enjoyable ride to clamber on to - for that is what Shaun Morey give us. Hmm, lets see if there is anything missing....It is a love story of sorts, an adventure of sorts, characters include a strange hermit, would be gangsters, real gangsters, planes and boats (lots of those) paradise Islands,a brothel naturally, strangely attired mannequins, food and drink or lack of it, and most of all ....treasure! - yes it ticks all the boxes. Preparation is needed to approach the book (that is if you are not expecting to find a Booker Prize winnning novel), beach with nearby bar facilities, a comfy beach lounger or towel and pillow, waves lapping feet - somewhere warm, preferably island hopping to set the perfect scene for opening page. Take this book for all it is worth a great fun fast read with the necessary twists and turns and general admiration of our hero Atticus. This is pure reading enjoyment at its best with no pretentiousness or real depth but a clever plot notwithstanding. My conclusion is that Shaun Morey must be a fun guy as well. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars rogs' lot, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Dorado Blues (An Atticus Fish Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't get into the book at all, too much foreign stuff to cope with and too bitty, going from one thing to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Dorado Blues (An Atticus Fish Novel) (Kindle Edition)
A funny mix of an Indiana Jones story with something like No Nesbo' s Headhunters. Locations interesting, but perhaps a few too many characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another madcap romp in California, 5 Jun 2013
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read and was entertained by Shaun Morey's previous book Wahoo Rhapsody (An Atticus Fish Novel) and so trying the next one seemed good. This is a further romp through the finding and stealing of much buried treasure and involves Atticus Fish again. I loved his character in the previous book and I still find him great. However I felt this was a little weaker than the previous story - still enjoyable but weaker. Violence, humour, crime, environmentalism abound and the pace is fast. Fan's of Carl Hiassen will recognise the general approach but - for me - Carl Hiassen is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews