Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly researched and written book.
Absolutely superb and graphic account of the British 29th Brigade during the Korean war, culminating in the holding actions along the Imjin river. I've had it 3 days and haven't been able to put it down, one of the most compelling military history books I've ever read.

Personal accounts cross referenced with official sources and Regimental war diaries, maps for...
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by Neil

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To any vet I would say do not waste your money
Being a Korean vet I thought it would be of interest to me but I did not know if I should laugh or cry. To any vet I would say do not waste your money, it is a joke
Published 1 month ago by RJD


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly researched and written book., 13 Jan 2010
By 
Neil (Herts, England.) - See all my reviews
Absolutely superb and graphic account of the British 29th Brigade during the Korean war, culminating in the holding actions along the Imjin river. I've had it 3 days and haven't been able to put it down, one of the most compelling military history books I've ever read.

Personal accounts cross referenced with official sources and Regimental war diaries, maps for every chapter and extensive use of authors notes throughout the book make this a must read for anyone who like me suddenly realised how little they knew about this conflict.

I wouldn't hesitate recommending this book to anybody and have no hesitation in giving it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, modern account, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The battle in question took place during the Korean war, in March 1951 between the British (and Belgian) 29th Brigade and the Chinese army. 29 Bde were dug in on the mountains overlooking the Imjin river, north of Seoul and the Chinese Army mounted a "human wave" attack to force them off. The abiding story of the battle is the Gloster's gallant (but doomed) defence in the face of astonishingly overwelming numbers, but the Royal Ulster Rifles, Royal Northumberland Fusiliers, the Belgian Regiment, the 8th Hussars and the Royal Artillery all played a central role as well, facing similarly difficult conditions and standing up against the enemy with equal gallantry.

The book is *exceptionally* well written: it is supremely readable and, calling as it does on interviews with the survivors, it is by no means a dry historical account. It gives plenty of air time to all the participants (including the Koreans themselves) rather than simply focusing on the Glosters alone. It's worth noting that other accounts have tended to ignore the other units who fought in the battle (much to the annoyance of those concerned) which makes this particular treatment all the more important.

There is a fairly long exposition, discussing the cause of the war and its progress up till the battle itself. This puts the battle nicely in context and in no way detracts from the story.

This is a highly reccomended book about an epic event. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece & Fitting Treatment To 29th Brigade In Korea., 22 Feb 2011
By 
P. J. Clarke "Peter Clarke" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andrew Salmon has produced the definitive account of the actions of 29th Brigade in the Imjin battle in April 1951. The book is superbly researched and thoroughly gripping, I literally could not put it down. The various characters who are highlighted in the book leap of the pages, especially the indominatable Derek Kinne of the Royal North Humberland Fusiliers. Salmon puts the reader in the foxholes alongside the hard pressed British soldiers as they face repeated mass human wave attacks by Chinese infantry. As somebody with a military past, and an avid interest in British military history, I can think of no other action fought by the British Army, which exceeds the actions of 29th Brigade- even Arhnem. US General Van Fleet stated that "The stand of The Glosters was the finest example of small unit action in the history of modern warfare." This book illustrates the British soldier at his very best, defiant, resilient, robust, brave and a stoicism that is an example to today's British soldiers. His sense of humour in the face of adversity also shines through. It is impossible to read this book as a Briton, particulary if you have served in the British Army, and not feel intensely proud of the men of the 29th Brigade. This book is a masterpiece, an absolute classic, it would be rude not to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To The Last Round, 15 May 2009
By 
Ted Johnston (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
Andrew Salmon's book 'To The Last Round' makes gripping reading. I served in Korea during the final stages of the conflict, just prior to the cease fire but I never really appreciated the trauma of the situation but the book brought it all home to me. I think it was the matter-of-fact comments of the squaddies that make it so real. The book should be compulsory reading for all those that whinge about the cost of the armed forces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enthralling, 21 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enthralling account of what was basically a cock up, not that that detracts in any way from the truly magnificent actions of the combatants. It tells part of the story of a totally different kind of war than that fought today and is a must read for military buffs and the layman. Well written, easy to follow and understand, its a great book. I can't wait for his book on the whole war. Read it and weep, I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely brilliant and gripping read.., 22 Jun 2009
This is, without doubt, one of the finest, if not the finest, accounts of a battle that I have ever read. His description of a little known battle in an almost unheard of war, is masterly. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read about the Korean War. The book also illustrates the great depth of gratitude that the Korean people have for our armed forces to this day. Politicians of today take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should know about this, 16 Sep 2009
Like many (most?) people I know very little indeed about the Korean war and the narratives recorded in Andrew Salmon's book. Yet - it is something we should all be aware of. This book offers a comprehensive view of the events. Thanks are due to Andrew Salmon for his thorough research and his revelatory writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Account of 'Rorke's Drift II', 10 May 2009
Andrew Salmon has produced a highly detailed, yet very readable account of one of the most courageous and yet now almost forgotten last stands in the history of the British Army. His technique has included interviewing many if not all of the survivors of the battle which allows his narrative to include accounts of what it was really like to be there, in a slit trench under constant attack for days, as well as presenting the overall perspective of the action. Neither does he shy away from discussing the controversy surrounding how the 1st Battalion The Gloucestershire Regiment (the Glorious Glosters) were allowed to become surrounded by a determined enemy in vastly superior numbers and had to fight it out "To the Last Round".
A really excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant Peasants, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Fantastic read. My grandfather served in Korea and Salmon's book was like listening to my grandfather's stories all over again. I could almost hear the bugles across the valley and smell the cordite. A thoroughly exciting and excellently researched read. My only quibble is the number of footnotes - some of this could have been integrated into the text. Also, there are a number of typos and copy editing mistakes. However, these do not detract from a brilliant book. As an expat living in Shanghai this war is often referred to from the other side, and its a real shame that Salmon was unable to come to China and talk to Chinese veterans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vivid Account, 29 May 2009
Your book should carry a health warning Anyone inclined to PTS would be in danger of a relapse. You have put the battle into both historical and contemporary context. You have also dealt with some of the controversies with great skill. I admire the extent of your research to have produced such a marvellous book - so full of anecdotes at every level from Private to General.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews