Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HDMI Switch
An amazing product. After reading mixed reviews about the HDMI switch i thought i would give it a try. It switches my Sky HD box and my Blu ray player with no problem at all and no loss in picture quality.

Delivery was very quick so 5 stars all round.
Published 18 months ago by GrahamF

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Belkin HDMI switch
Am using this with a Humax Foxsat box and Sony Bluray player. The Humax has to be on (not just on standby) for the Sony to be connected. Not a major problem but an irritation. There is a 5v power socket on the Belkin but no power supply is included. If a 5v supply was connected the need to have the Humax on might not be necessary. We also have a KEF sound system and the...
Published 19 months ago by Ray S


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Belkin HDMI switch, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin HDMI 4 In/1 Out Gold Plated Switch - Black (Accessory)
Am using this with a Humax Foxsat box and Sony Bluray player. The Humax has to be on (not just on standby) for the Sony to be connected. Not a major problem but an irritation. There is a 5v power socket on the Belkin but no power supply is included. If a 5v supply was connected the need to have the Humax on might not be necessary. We also have a KEF sound system and the KEF and Belkin remote controls clash. Selecting input 1 on the Belkin remote turns the KEF off. As it is not possible to change the remote code this makes the remote of little use in our case. The idea of have the remote receiver seperate from the main unit is a good idea as the unit could be placed out of sight with just the small receiver in sight.
Have now connected the unit to a 5v power supply and the auto switching works perfectly whichever output is used and without the need to have another source turned on. The only downside is it does make the price rather high but having tried various other HDMI switches this is the only one that now works with no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars (Not So) Ideal for when you have more HDMI equipment than HDMI sockets!, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ADDENDUM 2: 8th May - Have just tried to contact Belkin to sort-out a replacement! What a damn nightmare! One of the worst, and most unhelpful companies I've ever tried to deal with in my many years of shopping on Amazon. Refusing to stand by your companies own Limited Lifetime Warranty, and making customers jump through continual hoops, stringing them along, is nothing short of diabolical! DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT, AND DO NOT PURCHASE ANY BELKIN PRODUCTS! This company is a joke, and will make things very difficult for you, when the item you've purchased brakes! Avoid, avoid, avoid! Product rating demoted to 1-Star for appalling customer service!

ADDENDUM 1: 4th May 2014 - This device has now broken down completely, 14 months after purchasing. The "Limited Lifetime Warranty" says the product should last for around 5 YEARS, according to the manufacturer's own website. Getting in contact with them, via their website, or email, or telephone, is a nightmare, as I feel that they should replace the item for free. As such, I have now downgraded this item, from 4-Stars to 2-Stars. If they replace it for free, I will amend the review again. However, right now, I'm less than happy at having to replace this item after such a short time!

ORIGINAL REVIEW: With only two HDMI sockets on the back of my TV, I realised that I needed a third, as I had three electrical items that all needed HDMI connections (games console, Sky HD box and Blu-Ray player). This device does the job that most people will need, by letting you connect two items into one HDMI socket, and then letting the user switch between the devices manually or automatically - as long as one is off (or at least on Standby).

It took me about 15 minutes to get everything correctly connected, and purchasers must remember that they will need an additional HDMI lead to connect this device to the HDMI socket on the back of their TV's, but other than that, this little device, roughly 1.5" square was great. As soon as you switch one device on, it detects it, and up it comes on your TV! No messing about having to manually switch from one device to another, though this option is there should you need it.

The only reason I give this gadget 4-stars rather than 5, is for these reasons:
1) The lights on the device that light-up when whichever HDMI device is currently selected, is so bright, that it will easily light-up your entire room! So, at night, in a pitch-black room, this gives you a permanently bright light, which may be a distraction or annoyance to your pets.

2) The gadget comes with a Limited Lifetime Warranty, which would be great, but it doesn't include any pamphlets, pieces of paper or info as to what the Warranty is, what it covers and more importantly what it doesn't cover. Which is rather necessary and important info a customer would need, when you think about it. My only advice, therefore, would be to retain any purchase information, and the small cardboard box the device comes housed in, and keep them somewhere safe, should you ever need to claim against the Warranty.

Other than that, a fantastic device, that's compact, tidy and does exactly what it's meant to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HDMI Switch, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing product. After reading mixed reviews about the HDMI switch i thought i would give it a try. It switches my Sky HD box and my Blu ray player with no problem at all and no loss in picture quality.

Delivery was very quick so 5 stars all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works a treat, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does exactly what it says for me. Switches automatically between a YouView box and DVD player connected to a single HDMI socket on my LG TV. Only downside is that the blue LED light on the unit is rather bright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says it does, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very small and neat. One in and two out hdmi connections. Blue led lights shows which cable is selected.
It is automatic but if the connected device is in standby it doesn't always select the right input - but there is
a small button on the top to press to switch it to the correct input. Picture quality is perfect. Well made unit
worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful product, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin HDMI 4 In/1 Out Gold Plated Switch - Black (Accessory)
My two sons have ProLite HDS monitors on their PC's, but only one HDMI socket per monitor.
This Belkin solves all that by giving one HDMI out socket, to connect it to the monitor, and three HDMI in's so now, they have PC, xbox, Playstaystations connected up, and need do nothing, as soon as you turn on one of the devices, it powers up, and auto switches the Belkin to that device only (don't forget to turn off the device before you turn on a different one, save any switching confusion).
All in all, a great bargain buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good HDMI switch, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good product for a good price. HDMI to tv goes in to the OUTPUT plug. DVD goes in to INPUT1 and PS3 goes in to INPUT2.

INPUT 1 will always over ride what ever is in INPUT2. So if you turn the device plugged in to INPUT1 on it will switch to that device. Turn off the INPUT1 device and it will switch back to what ever is plugged in to (and turned on) INPUT2.

As others have mentioned, the blue LED is insanely bright! This could be toned down in future releases to make the light only just slightly dimmer than the sun! It also doesnt come with instructions...then again, if you cant figure it out then perhaps you shouldnt be allowed out in to the general public without an escort? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, works great., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the easy and automatic switching of inputs and have had no problems with this.
Perfect for connecting my PS3 and Laptop to my PC Monitor which only has one DVI Input.
I used an HDMI to DVI Cable from the switch to my monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HDMI switcher, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Gary Mackenzie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin HDMI 4 In/1 Out Gold Plated Switch - Black (Accessory)
Allows me to quickly switch between a pc , a freesat box , a sony ps3 and a Sky+ HD box.
Does exactly what it says it does , with a nice simple remote control unit.

UPDATE : 11/05/2013 = Dead , died overnight.

now to find how i get it replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far from perfect, 28 Jun 2013
By 
A. SALTER (Grimsby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am using this to connect my samsung virgin hd+box and Sony bdps370 blu-ray player, have found that the auto switch does not work, also the switch box can not handle 1080p coming from the blu-ray, it flickers and has interfearance spots all over the screen, and at some points the picture fails completely and goes to a fuzzy screen ! I tried different cables to see if it was the cables and different ports but made no difference, until, i set my blu-ray to output at 720p then was perfect, although still no auto switch, so 1 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Belkin HDMI 4 In/1 Out Gold Plated Switch - Black
15.49
In stock on August 1, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews