Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better all the time
I only discovered the Transatlantic sessions about a year or so ago and have since bought nearly all the output both on cd and dvd. This latest series is superb. Having come to acoustic music having played played guitar in blues bands during my earlier years, having Eric Bibb on the sessions is most welcome. The breadth of style in this series brings variety to the disc,...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Philip Rundall

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst Transatlantic Sessions Yet
Read my comments on Volume 3. Same apply to this volume. It was terrible. Obscure music and where were all the quality UK folk artists? Being eroded by Mr. Douglas?
Published 14 months ago by Colin M. Livingstone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better all the time, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Philip Rundall (Cambridge U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
I only discovered the Transatlantic sessions about a year or so ago and have since bought nearly all the output both on cd and dvd. This latest series is superb. Having come to acoustic music having played played guitar in blues bands during my earlier years, having Eric Bibb on the sessions is most welcome. The breadth of style in this series brings variety to the disc, which, for me, is a plus. Bela Fleck and Sam Bush are superb and it's great to have Alison Krauss too. There are several performers that are new to me and all impressed me - Amos Lee, Kathleen Macinnes and Sarah Jarosz. I have checked out the latter on YouTube and there there are performances with her cellist and violinist that are outstanding. She is so young, talented and has such a fresh approach. Often performers with their own bands never match the quality of music produced with the Transatlantic House Band! She does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently wonderful, 3 Jun 2012
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
It's difficult to know what new things to say about Transatlantic Sessions. Consistently excellent, with a solid core of musicians enhancing the works of virtuoso guest stars. But it's the core - the wonderful house band - that are the real stars. They don't often get mentioned so let's mention them. In addition to Jerry Douglas (Dobro) and Aly Bain (Fiddle) you get Russ Barenberg and John Doyle (Guitar), Duncan Shaw (Piano, Accordion), John McCusker and Nollaig Casey (Fiddle), Michael McGoldrick (Pipes and Whistles), James Mackintosh (Drums, Percussion) and the legendary Danny Thompson (Bass), invariably augmented by Phil Cunningham (Piano, Accordion) and Donal Lunny (Bazouki).

One of the things that appealed to me about TS5 was the variety of music from the performers. Traditional Gaelic from singers Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh and Kathleen MacInnes - both wonderful warm voices - to straight-ahead Bluegrass from legends like Sam Bush and Alison Krauss, with superb Folk Blues by Eric Bibb and Louisiana tales from Dirk Powell. There's also some left-field stuff from Amos Lee. It's pointless trying to categorise some singers. His 'Mission Bell' album is highly recommended, but the tracks he performed on TS5 sounded so different. That's partly down to the 'backing singers' like Alison Krauss, but mainly as a result of the musicianship of that incredible house band. They really show their mettle with Bela Fleck too. He's played with some great musicians, but none like these.

This series continues to observe the long held tradition of the 'Session', but bends the rules with the variety of the players. To my ears, nothing works better in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live the Transatlantic Sessions., 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
These performances are sublime, you discover more and more with every hearing.
I can only imagine listening to these people (together) live, this (and all the others) is a good alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Brian Samuel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
Good value for money. A mix of styles & sounds - most of which are very enjoyable. The variety of style should make the album have a wide appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
bought these as a present,but will share!watched this on tv first wanted to keep listening!Good quality sound,will be buying an earlier series when its in stock again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
I have played this CD so often that if it were a vinyl recording it would be well worn by now! Highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant track a must have this one has joined my collection once you have listened you will be hooked as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series of Albums, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
Having purchased every single one of these albums and watched the annual tv series after Celtic Connections in Glasgow in January, when I presume they all get together to record these albums somewhere in Scotland, the quality and professionalism of the musicians, the variety and styles of music provide a consistent listening experience year on year. If you get a chance to watch the the tv series that is a great way to enhance the enjoyment of the music as it takes you to the place and time and you know who sings or plays what, combined with views off outstanding Scottish countryside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst Transatlantic Sessions Yet, 29 April 2013
By 
Colin M. Livingstone (Wokingham, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5: Volume Two (Audio CD)
Read my comments on Volume 3. Same apply to this volume. It was terrible. Obscure music and where were all the quality UK folk artists? Being eroded by Mr. Douglas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews