Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Purchased this specifically for the surge protection and the two USB ports, which I hoped would save me having to plug in various different adapters. Good quality product that comes with a guarantee. My only complaint, and for me this is one of the reasons why i purchased the product, is that the USB ports will not charge and iPad2 / iPad4. No problems charging my mobile...
Published on 14 April 2013 by M. Reynolds

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really fussy about cables and devices
I have several devices such as smartphones, Blackberry, kindle, etc. And several "wall warts" that came with these. And laptops with USB ports. And various cables. And they all work perfectly with each other on any combination.
Except for this Masterplug. It simply won't work with some of the cables I have that work perfectly well the rest of the time. In...
Published 12 months ago by AdamV


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really fussy about cables and devices, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
I have several devices such as smartphones, Blackberry, kindle, etc. And several "wall warts" that came with these. And laptops with USB ports. And various cables. And they all work perfectly with each other on any combination.
Except for this Masterplug. It simply won't work with some of the cables I have that work perfectly well the rest of the time. In particular I have a shorter cable that lives in my work bag, and I would love to use this rather than having three feet of cable trailing across the kitchen worksurface (where I wanted to use this plug to charge devices while keeping an eye on them for incoming calls, messages, emails etc).
It just does not work with some cables, or some devices, in combinations I can't really work out. And it seems especially fussy if the device is really low on battery, just when I need it most!
A great idea, ideal if you have few sockets or for holidays, but so badly carried out I can't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very low power on the USB, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Kannan Venkataramani "Kannan V" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
A very nice idea but poor usability in terms of power on the USB ports, have 2 samsung phones and they fail to charge when the batteries are pretty low on both the phones, its sometimes a hit or miss, so if you are buying this for more power, then this does not have enough juice to feed 2 phones at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fails to deliver on basic objective, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
Ok, I read the other reviews but thought surely it must be able to perform it's key objective of actually charging connected USB devices? After all I only planned to charge mobile phones, not iPads from it. I was wrong.
Maybe if the plug wasn't trying to light up the room with two pointless lights then it might have enough power to actually charge the connected devices? It will happily charge a single Nokia handset, but connect a second and the whole thing gives up and seems to drain the batteries of whatever is connected. Result - two mobiles with no charge the next morning. Great.
Presumably surge protection works, but as it doesn't manage to do its other core function I'm not holding out much hope.
Next time I'll take more notice of other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 14 April 2013
By 
M. Reynolds (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
Purchased this specifically for the surge protection and the two USB ports, which I hoped would save me having to plug in various different adapters. Good quality product that comes with a guarantee. My only complaint, and for me this is one of the reasons why i purchased the product, is that the USB ports will not charge and iPad2 / iPad4. No problems charging my mobile phone or iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
Highly recommended. Excellent combination of twin USB phone charging sockets and surge protection without losing the availability of the socket it's plugged into.

Note: Both USB sockets are relatively low power (for two iPhones etc). An iPad would probably take a long time to charge with this device. PortaPow make a great high power 3.5A twin USB charger (but without surge protection) which caters for an iPad and iPhone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!!! This product: - emits a ..., 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
Avoid!!!
This product:
- emits a low buzzing sound
- fills the room with unwelcome light at night
- only works after 3 or 4 attempts of switching it on & off / plugging & unplugging
... And that's with just one phone attached - I haven't bothered trying it with two, even though that's why I bought it. Far too much hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars takes ages, 10 Aug. 2013
By 
James Anderson "james anderson" (edinburgh scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
i bought this because it looks great and thought it would charge at least as good as my charging plug,but it takes unbelievably
long, so i sent mine back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, neat and good quality., 21 May 2013
By 
P. D. Rogers "South Shields" (South Shields,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
I bought it to recharge my sons Xbox wireless headset, mainly because the usb ports are at the top and easy just to pop the lead straight in. The added bonus is the socket is still available to use as normal. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very clever, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
a very clever bit of kit that has freed up a socket in the kitchen and allowed my wife and I to charge our phones through USB cables at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jury still out, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterplug SRGAUSBPW Surge Protected Mains USB Charger (DIY & Tools)
This looks the business but I'm a little concerned about its suitability for iPads. My purpose is to support both an iPad and an iUSBport, but occasionally the iPad says its not charging and given error messages about this accessory is not supported but still charges if you unplug and replug or remove the iUSBport. The inconsistency is the issue. One needs to rely on it always working not having to check and possibly fiddling about with an expectation of hope!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews