Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is the first book of Tim's I have read and i'll definately be reading more. I had been told this was a zombie novel and expected the usual dead eating brains stuff but its nothing like that at all. The storyline is excellent and the charactors are great. This book is un-put-downable. Read it.
Published on 5 Feb 2007 by Family Man

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
Tom Roberts never accepted that his son was dead. The army told him he'd been killed in an accident on Porton Down but Tom, and his wife, Jo, have always been suspicious. Their son's coffin was returned to them sealed: they never got a chance to identify their boy's remains. And now Tom has even more reason not to believe the army, as he overhears two men talking about...
Published on 22 Sep 2012 by Dylan James Morgan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berserk (Kindle Edition)
Tom Roberts never accepted that his son was dead. The army told him he'd been killed in an accident on Porton Down but Tom, and his wife, Jo, have always been suspicious. Their son's coffin was returned to them sealed: they never got a chance to identify their boy's remains. And now Tom has even more reason not to believe the army, as he overhears two men talking about the incident at Porton Down. Suddenly there is hope, and Stephen could be alive. On the tenth anniversary of their son's death, the couple travel to Salisbury Plain to be close to their dearly departed. Tom, however, goes one step further, and trespasses onto the Down and excavates the mass grave where the soldiers lie. What he unearths will change his life, and kick start a chain of events that will leave innocent people dead and Tom in the company of monsters.

Berserk, by Tim Lebbon, is a well crafted novel that--for the most part--thunders along at a good pace. The main characters in the novel, Tom and the man out to kill him and the berserkers, Cole, are well developed and likeable: yes even the murderous Cole has qualities the reader will latch on to. Natasha, the girl berserker unearthed by Tom on Porton Down, is mysterious and even though we get to know her through her interaction with both Tom and Cole--usually by telekinetic means--the reader will never get to understand what she, and those of her kin, really are. And this is one of the biggest disappointments with Berserk. As "monsters" the berserkers are not really that horrific, but the fact that their true ancestry and lineage (what are they? Zombies, or werewolves, or vampires, or perhaps a mixture of all three) is never revealed to the reader and this means one can't really identify with them as characters.

There is a reasonable amount of repetition, unfortunately, with thought processes and musings of both Tom and Cole seemingly on a steady cycle of rinse and repeat for most of the book. Cole is a tough dude, as you'd expect from someone in the army, but just how much can one man take? Iron chains dropped on his head, at least two car crashes, run down by a BMW once, sleepless nights and the mental invasion of a berserker girl to drive him insane. It just felt a bit much at times.

Yet through all that negativity, the book stands out as one that is well written and fast-paced enough to pull the reader along regardless right until the end--which, to be honest, happens too quickly--not too soon but just too abruptly. Worth a read? Yeah, sure, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berserk (Kindle Edition)
Although hard to be original in genre fiction, Lebbon has taken some genre tropes and added his own unique twist by mixing them up which makes for an interesting story. The novel starts at a brisk pace and I was captivated by the characters and their predicaments, but then I felt that it started to run out of steam towards the end and the story started to meander a little. Lebbon is a solid author, and even though not one of his best, it's still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent horror-thriller., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berserk (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this story, a tale of an ageing man mourning his dead son - a soldier who died on Salisbury Plain - and his quest to solve the mystery of his son's death, which brings him into contact with Natasha. She is no ordinary girl. She is a berserker. And she drags him into a nightmare of army experiments and cold-blooded killers as she helps him discover the truth about what happened to his son ten years ago.
A fast-paced thriller. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Escapism, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Mw "jenwin" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berserk (Kindle Edition)
At first I wondered what I let myself in for, but it keeps u reading to find out the truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well written but confused and extremely silly ., 24 Nov 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Berserk (Mass Market Paperback)
Horror probably more so than any other type of fiction requires willing suspension of disbelief. All those ghouls , zombies, vampires, werethingies can't exist in real life can they ? Yet with really good horror -whether it be written or celluloid , as a fan of the genre , you never find yourself questioning what is going on .You just go with the flow. Unfortunately Berserk had me guffawing with incredulity several times .I found myself not so much going with the flow as flailing against it willing the book to end.
Tom and his wife Jo are still mourning the death of their son Stephen some ten years after he was killed in a tragic accident while on training manoeuvres with his army unit. One night down the local pub Tom overhears a couple of blokes talking about the place( Porton Down) where his son was killed . One of them mentions monsters. Putting aside the extraordinary coincidence Tom badgers one of the men for more information and it soon becomes clear that there was some sort of cover up and the death of his son wasn't as he's been led to believe. A map leads him to a location on the army training ground where his son died but what he finds is gruesome and unbelievable . But the authorities don't want what happened at Porton Down to become public knowledge and someone is on Tom's trail and determined to stop him even if it means using deadly force.
I liked the idea of a military experiment gone wrong as the basis of this story but the plot relies too much on happenstance and has gaping logical holes. The Berserkers of the title are given no back story to explain their genesis and their curious mixture of zombie, werewolf and vampire is muddled and fatally not at all scary or even creepy. We are led to believe Tom loves his wife with a real passion but when she is killed he barely gives her a second thought . The demise of his son is dealt with in a rather cursory manner too. The plot is intriguing to start with but quickly descends into one extended chase scene .And though Lebbon can write - he has a nice poetic turn of phrase - he has a tendency to over write internalised exposition (Like Stephen King) to the detriment of the story .
Berserk is recommended on Amazon as a tie in with zombie fiction , yet it has nothing to do with that genre alas. This is a confused book. Part thriller and part horror that doesn't excel at either . It came across to me as all rather silly .Tim Lebbon is a more than capable writer but the fact remains that Berserk whatever genre you lump it in just isn't a very good work of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berserk (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book of Tim's I have read and i'll definately be reading more. I had been told this was a zombie novel and expected the usual dead eating brains stuff but its nothing like that at all. The storyline is excellent and the charactors are great. This book is un-put-downable. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Berserk is as fast paced as the title sounds - brilliant, 2 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Berserk (Mass Market Paperback)
As time is precious I only read books that capture me from the beginning. I couldn't put this down. A fast paced book which would make a great film. A horror thriller which you can believe, making it even more creepy! A lazy weekend / short break read compared to TL's Dusk which takes you on a long rollercoaster ride of sleepless nights and bizzare dreams. Depending on how much time you have, I would recommend both whole heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Berserk
Berserk by Tim Lebbon
£2.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews