Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is useless
It's the year 2000 and a South Polar military base is tracking a manned capsule probing Earth's outer atmosphere. The TARDIS crew of an ailing Doctor, accompanied by Ben and Polly arrive at the base just as the capsule begins malfunctioning, seemingly affected by a strange force.
By the time this one came out I'd already witnessed my first Time Lord regeneration...
Published on 10 May 2012 by Michael Finn

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Totally inappropriate introduction spoils the overall product
The majority of people buying these will already have at least one version of the original Target editions, and it is ironic that there will be more people buying this book that already technically have it, than the younger fans who may not already have a copy. For the older fan, if it is a choice of creasing the spine on this edition or re-reading the old, then the...
Published on 9 Jun. 2012 by R. Le Quin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is useless, 10 May 2012
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's the year 2000 and a South Polar military base is tracking a manned capsule probing Earth's outer atmosphere. The TARDIS crew of an ailing Doctor, accompanied by Ben and Polly arrive at the base just as the capsule begins malfunctioning, seemingly affected by a strange force.
By the time this one came out I'd already witnessed my first Time Lord regeneration when Jon Pertwee bowed out, so the big surprise at the end of the Tenth Planet shouldn't have been much of a shock. What it did do to my understanding of the show, that I'd drifted into loving through Jon Pertwee's tenure, was to make me aware that regeneration had occurred before and that sooner or later it was going to happen again. The story also introduces the Cybermen in their original, almost unrecognisable, though very creepy, cloth masked version. I was a month old when The Tenth Planet was first broadcast and by the time this book got into my hands the BBC had already junked much of their pre-70s episodes including that crucial regeneration episode.
Gerry Davis' novelisation sticks close to the original script. There's a few minor changes like the year being 2000 instead of the original 1986, a Roger Moore James Bond cameo (sort of), some teasing lines from the newly regenerated Doctor at the conclusion and most noticeably the reinstatement of the Doctor's lines from episode three which were delivered in the televised version by Michael Craze (Ben) , somewhat confusedly, when William Hartnell missed filming due to ill health. Even though the Doctor doesn't have much of presence in this story it's still a very enjoyable affair and one of the first times the base-under-siege scenario that would soon become familiar was used. Let's face it, in the 1970s most little boys, when they weren't staging dinosaur battles, were probably launching Lego rockets into space - after that all important Thunderbirds countdown of course, so stories with astronauts are something that was sure to grab the imagination of young minds. Much of the tension throughout is generated by the astronauts in peril. The Cybermen on the other hand, though creepy, are a little too easily defeated. There's no mention of a weakness to gold at this stage but it's not needed as their real Achilles heel is not keeping track of their weaponry. They might be 'pretty advanced geezers' as Ben puts it but tacticians they aren't. Then when we find out that radiation makes them keel over like bowling pins, their battle cry of 'Resistance is useless' seems a little misguided. The real threat of the piece comes from the increasingly erratic and trigger happy base commander General Cutler who seems bent on sacrificing half the world's population to save his son.
Aged ten I couldn't really think of anything better than walking home with a book like this under my arm - I loved it.
Original artwork , features on script to novel, Gerry Davis and a new introduction by Tom MacRae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm the new Doctor., 17 Jun. 2012
of course, seeing the title The Tenth Planet flash up at me, i had to get it. The only doctor regeneration i havnt seen and i can imagine it in my minds eye. Not the massive explosion of golden artron energy we get today (although that is very impressive) but the Doctor skulking off to go quietly into his next body. No-one witnesses the change but we all no its happened. This book has certainly fullfilled a 21 year old guys fantasy of witnessing something he thought long lost. Brilliant book for Doctor Who fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Primarily for fans, this one, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a competent adaptation of the scripts for the first Cyberman story, "The Tenth Planet". While episode 4 of the original TV version may be the most sought-after of all time, you'll probably find reading the book just as enjoyable as if you were watching the real thing.

As usual, the language is simple - this is written for children, after all - and it's a quick read. But it's really enjoyable, and fills a good few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks again Amazon, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so pleased to find these books, more riveting Who novels. I have the DVDs and the audio novels (or soundtracks) of many Who stories already. Most come at a good price, post free AND, more recently and most impressive, delivered by Amazon's own delivery service. Excellent, with regular status messages, right down to 'this item has been posted through your letter-box! How good is that!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent first ever cyberman adventure, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who and the Tenth Planet (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't born when the original black-and-white episodes came out, and to be honest, having grown up with modern Hi-Def /Blu-Ray TV and films, I probably wouldn't appreciate those B&W films now. But the story from those brilliant Target novellisations is as exciting as the best of modern Dr. Who.
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, make ALL of those Target novels available as ebooks. Not that many would buy these old books if they are full-priced, but A LOT would buy them if they are very competively priced at £2.61 like now.

The modern generation of DR. Who fans have never had a chance to enjoy all those previous decades of DR. Who, so PLEASE give us a chance to take part and experience them too. Just don't try to rip us off by charging full-price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great books.Every One a winner, 11 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. Gary R. Smith (huddersfield, w.yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who and the Tenth Planet (Kindle Edition)
I have inherited loads of these old Dr Who books on my Kindle. Im not a fan, I used to watch in the late 70's and early 80's. So i thought id have a look... Can't stop reading them now. The story starts in the first couple of pages, and is action all the way through. If you've got the spare time, one of these in a day is easy and great reading. I can recommend all the old target books. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not really great., 1 July 2013
I found this one quite tough to get into to. To make matters worse Polly is not served well. Ben gets to do all the action but Polly is pushed to the back of the action. The Doctor regeneration scene is pretty good but it is a pretty average read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for a new generation, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a first edition of my own from back in the mists of Who. One of the best of the old stories. Bought this for a young reader who knows of nothing more than the Eccleston, Tennant, Smith years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ailing Doctors and the Ben and Polly Show, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who and the Tenth Planet (Kindle Edition)
Captures the creepiness of the Cybermen well in this one, interesting to see the changes in the Doctors regeneration compared to the TV version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speedy delivery. Item as described. Great fun to watch. This brings back very happy memories of hiding behind the sofa!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who and the Tenth Planet
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews