Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money
This is an incredible book. I've spent a lot of time looking at tattoo books over the years but very rarely have i purchased them. One of the biggest let downs with most books is the lack of decent pictures with artist information, this book does not have that problem. The photos are beautiful, with a fantastic list of artists and the studios where they work which is...
Published on 10 April 2009 by Jo

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well produced, solid review of some of the world's best current tattoo artists.
The Mammoth Book of Tattoos is a book designed to showcase some of the world's best talent in the world of tattoo body art.

Each artist featured has their own section, with a small bio and a selection of their work. While anyone familiar with a particular artist may consider the images shown to be a rather condensed verison of a portfolio this book is a must...
Published on 17 April 2009 by J. B. Flanagan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 10 April 2009
This is an incredible book. I've spent a lot of time looking at tattoo books over the years but very rarely have i purchased them. One of the biggest let downs with most books is the lack of decent pictures with artist information, this book does not have that problem. The photos are beautiful, with a fantastic list of artists and the studios where they work which is great if your looking for a new artist to do some work for you. The artists listed are from all over the world but there's still a great list of UK artists to choose from. For the money i think this a fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well produced, solid review of some of the world's best current tattoo artists., 17 April 2009
By 
J. B. Flanagan "Jim_Flan" (Co. Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Mammoth Book of Tattoos is a book designed to showcase some of the world's best talent in the world of tattoo body art.

Each artist featured has their own section, with a small bio and a selection of their work. While anyone familiar with a particular artist may consider the images shown to be a rather condensed verison of a portfolio this book is a must for anyone looking to aquire a new tattoo in the near future - as a reference point on which to base further research this book is ideal.

The images are of high quality, and while the bios are not as in depth as I expected they serve their purpose to introduce the reader to the next selection of works.

For the price there's no excuse not to get this ordered, a must for any tattoo fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tattoo book, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Lee Piercy "nirpa" (chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very good book, which captures the work of some of the best tattooists in the world, good inspiration, and great value for money, you'd be a fool if you didnt snap this up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great effort..., 5 Mar 2010
This is a wonderful book for the tattoo fan and artist alike, a classic 'coffee table' book it is literally cover to cover photographs of some of the most impressive tattooing I have seen ever from top artists around the world. The tattoos are breathtaking, some of them look like paintings they are so good. The book is a bible for any fan of tattooing and is full of inspriational art.

I can only think of one point on which to criticise this book and that is the photos showing genitals. Some tattoo artwork on human bodies is placed near, or on, the genitals. This is no secret and some of that art is featured in this book (and quite rightly so) my only concern is that for some reason very few of the females felt the need to cover their genitals and left them fully exposed for the photos of their tattoos. When I say this I don't mean their legs are spread like in some sort of porn movie I just mean they are visible as the female stands or sits to show the camera her tattoo. My question regarding this is "why?" I didn't buy the book to get off on it, I bought it to look at tattoo artwork. Would it have been too difficult for the photographer to ask the subject to cover up? Or indeed to cover the genitals themselves during the editing process afterwards. It's a shame because now I cannot keep the book on my coffee table for all to enjoy as it may offend some people and I certainly wouldn't recommend letting children look at the book.
The adult content is not mentioned on the cover of the book or anywhere that I can see which is a concern as I would have no issue with a 14 year old looking at photos of tattoos but I do if they contain nude images of female genitals. You may notice I say 'female' and not 'male' thats because all the male genitals in the book are always covered by the owners hand or a piece of clothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC BOOK OF DESIGNS., 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i just received this book and i am really amazed by how many glossy photo's are in here , from some of the greatest tattooist's around ,anybody who is interested in tattoos will marvel at these works of art ,and it shows what can be done with a little foresight or thinking about placement of tattoos that can be added too , a top class book at a budget price they won't come any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More quality pictures following the Mammoth Book of Tattoo Art, 26 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. Arpino - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are some fantastic pictures and artwork in this book for anyone interested in top quality tatto work. Only downside, like the first book, the quality of the binding is not very robust so you need to handle with care otherwise lose pages! For the price it is acceptable though would have preferred to pay more for a better quality binding. Obviously no one listened to the feedback from the first book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for the coffee table., 5 May 2010
By 
R. D. SWEENEY "Richard" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good pictures, nicely thought through and put together but it isn't useful to have on the coffee table for visitors to have a flick through cause after looking at it twice myself i've found that the pages are coming away from the spine. In order for it to last I'll have to glue it.There are a lot of pages, but the book is on the small side and the binding can't cope with the weight. Would be great in a larger, hardback addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alternate coffee table reading, 29 May 2009
Profiling a multitude of tattoo artists, but with only minimal script, this book concentrates on the art rather than the artists. A broad spectrum of styles and designs are featured. The book can be read cover to cover in about ten minutes, but is better when just picked up and browsed. If you are looking for information on tattoos, or a factual book, then this is not it. It does, however, make a very good alternate coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Dsmall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely awesome book with Tats from some of the worlds best. Pictures are stunning and if you're looking for some ideas on what to get this is a great reference point. So many examples of the same thing done different way and even the bad tattoes assist you in chosing what you want to avoid. The book is mammoth and the picture quality is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy both books, 6 Sep 2011
i got this book and the mammoth book of tattoo art together,and to be honest,you
cant go far wrong with them,costing less than some tattoo mags,they both offer
great value for money,so you like tattoos or looking for some inspiration get
them both,great books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews