Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the TV series.
If you are buying these because (like me), you love the TV series - be warned! They are nothing like the TV adaptation. Peter Flannery who predominately wrote the TV adaptation said that the only thing he took from the books, was the name & the fact he was a detective! They moved location, added in Bacchus and kept the series well & truly in the 60's. Basically the TV...
Published 22 months ago by Sydney Bristow

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good - once you get rid of the image of Martin Shaw
Disappointing at first, mainly because the character of Gently is so far removed from the excellent television series. By the fourth book in this omnibus edition, However, the reader is beginning to see Gently in his true light. I just love the author's use of language to cast these stories back into the 1950s.
Published 19 months ago by F. A. Begbie


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the TV series., 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
If you are buying these because (like me), you love the TV series - be warned! They are nothing like the TV adaptation. Peter Flannery who predominately wrote the TV adaptation said that the only thing he took from the books, was the name & the fact he was a detective! They moved location, added in Bacchus and kept the series well & truly in the 60's. Basically the TV series is its own original, with very little taken from the books & the books are....well, the original books. I must admit it irks me a little that Flannery took this slant, as the books would have made a wonderful detective and a great series...but there we are, that is what adaptations are about.

If you want books very similar to the TV series, then don't bother - just keep watching the series. If however, you can divorce yourself from the TV series, I would thoroughly recommend reading the books (or at least trying them on for size) & this omnibus is a great introduction. Although his perpetual chomping on peppermint creams irks some people(though I believe it tails off in subsequent books), Gently is a such a brilliant character...he is...well, Gently. Professional, quiet, thoughtful, with a mind as sharp as a razor & really likable. There is loads of sarcastic humour in the book and Hunter's descriptions of people, places and surroundings are superb.

The books started in 1955 & continued until 1999, virtually yearly. The books in this omnibus are therefore, set in and written in the 50's - which probably should be taken into account when reading them, as the plots may seem simplistic & maybe slightly formulaic, reading them now. I haven't read the later ones yet, but if Hunter captures the time and place in them as well as in these books, then they should be equally (if not more) entertaining.

I loved Hunter's 'Gentle reminder' in the introduction to book 1, which about sums him & the books up: 'This is a detective story but NOT a 'whodunnit'. Its aim is to give a picture of a police investigator slowly building up his knowledge of a crime...I thought it worthwhile mentioning this. I hate being criticized for not doing what I had no intention of doing'. If you want enjoyable, well crafted novels dealing in characterisation and that simmer away nicely, like a rich winter Sunday stew - trust me, you could do alot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
I haven't read any of these for many years. But they are just as good as I remember them to be.
The TV series did not, in opinion, do the books justice. A brilliant read, just about to download some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old-fashioned detective stories, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
Still got the last of the four to go but I find Gently to be very endearing - such a change. Just good detection. I seemed to miss the clues but not our George. Alan Hunter was an excellent detective fiction writer. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good - once you get rid of the image of Martin Shaw, 27 Jan 2013
By 
F. A. Begbie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing at first, mainly because the character of Gently is so far removed from the excellent television series. By the fourth book in this omnibus edition, However, the reader is beginning to see Gently in his true light. I just love the author's use of language to cast these stories back into the 1950s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 7 May 2013
By 
Peter Wiley "wonker" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
these books are a throw back to my reading in the 60s. his use of words is sometimes likely to force one to get the dictionary out. but who cares? I will read more of his books as sex doesn`t rear is obtrusive head and gentle plots abound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to the 60's, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this box set. Love the character and the policing of that era.

I would recommend these books to anyone looking for some old time policing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proper old fashioned detective work., 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
A great look back at yester year fantastic characters and the stories feel like you are in the 50`s and 60`s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned detective tales, 26 Jan 2013
By 
JJ "Jackie J" (Colchester England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded these on a whim, and was really pleased with the qualitty of the writing and the old fashioned charm of the plots. I especially loved the "expensive" cup of tea at 1/6d. (That's 7.5 new pence to those of you who don't remember s d.) Somehow the name of Gently pervades the stories and creates an ambience of calm and relaxation. Strange when the stories actually deal with vicious murders, but there it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
I found the pace too slow. Also much of the first story could have been considerably condensed.
I can however see how skilful editing produces excellent TV material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit slow, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4) (Kindle Edition)
Tried reading the first one and only got through a few chapters, quite slow and didn't grab my interest, might give the next one a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George Gently Omnibus (Books 1-4)
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews