Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Heart Sweet Light
This is the most exciting Spiritualized album for a while. A strong pop sensibility mixes with an out-there experimentation and comes out sounding very special. A few Velvet Underground references seem to be in there, not least the title's nod to White Light / White Heat.
Published on 27 April 2012 by Dave Gilmour's cat

versus
6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would make a good EP...
A very uninspiring, quite dull album by spiritualized's standards. I felt myself drifting off listening to this...but not in the same enjoyable way experienced in lazer guided melodies....more of a bored, distracted way... with the album fading into the background.

Yes there are some cracking sings on here...Hey Jane, Freedom, So long you pretty thing...but...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Gman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Heart Sweet Light, 27 April 2012
By 
Dave Gilmour's cat (on Dave Gilmour's boat) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Audio CD)
This is the most exciting Spiritualized album for a while. A strong pop sensibility mixes with an out-there experimentation and comes out sounding very special. A few Velvet Underground references seem to be in there, not least the title's nod to White Light / White Heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please give time for the medication to work, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Audio CD)
After the first couple of listens I was concerned that this was just a "Spiritualized-by-numbers" exercise - Initially it all sounds very familiar in terms of both subject matter and arrangements and nothing immediately grabs your attention (apart from Hey Jane). But give it a bit more time and gradually every track snaps into focus and the classic Spiritualized sense of euphoria builds leaving you with a smile on the face and tear in the eye. I can't tell yet whether this is as good as Ladies & Gentlemen... (it's too early to say - the drug hasn't fully worked it's way through the system yet - hence 4 stars), but early indications are that it could be.

And one more thing - someone please put a preservation order on Jason Pierce! - We need to make sure he keeps making albums of this quality for as long as possible - There is currently no alternative medication available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class shines through, 19 April 2012
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Audio CD)
Buy this on lovely double white vinyl and enjoy. If you are a fan you know what to expect & who cares if there's no new ground here you either love this band or not.Pure aural listening pleasure for the true music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Audio CD)
abslotuely brilliant, beyondest of beyond... everything i ever hoped for and more
long long may it ring
loud in my ears & heart forever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Audio CD)
A grower but worth waiting for it to grow. No Spiritualized would be a loss so be happy that they're still with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to brilliant form, 16 April 2012
By 
Mr. M. L. Cawood-campbell (Sheffield, Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Audio CD)
What Genius!!! As A long long term fan, from way back when Jason Spaceman was in Spacemen 3, this is up there with the best.Everything you'd want from a spiritualized record.This feels invigorated, almost a debut!!!There is a freshness you'd not expect from a musician who has been making music for over 25 years!!!you should buy the hard copy, as the lyrics are included. there is a naivety to the singing I love. The storming 'Hey Jane' even references directlt the other great 'jane', of Velvet's 'Sweet Jane'. Other little playful references, may be? In "Too Late" 'Don't play with fire' maybe a reference to the Spaceman 3 swansong of utter magnificence....Dedicated is name checked too perhaps....Listen Loud and Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would make a good EP..., 18 April 2012
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Audio CD)
A very uninspiring, quite dull album by spiritualized's standards. I felt myself drifting off listening to this...but not in the same enjoyable way experienced in lazer guided melodies....more of a bored, distracted way... with the album fading into the background.

Yes there are some cracking sings on here...Hey Jane, Freedom, So long you pretty thing...but the rest are B-side standard; the kind of songs theyve done in the past only a lot better.

I always give albums a fair few listens to give them time to grow. This got worse with each listen.

Not great at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Inspiring, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Sweet Heart Sweet Light (MP3 Download)
I've been listening to some seventies music, bands like ELO and Queen...then I've listened to this and can see we're in a exceedingly dull time for musical inspiration. For me there is neither vibrancy nor any interesting lyrical content with Huh? and the best I can say is it is social commentary. Like the cover art it appears bland and becomes tedious towards the end of each and every song. I guess being patted on the back for refining those endings on previous numbers the guy has turned it into a speciality, and over-reached himself?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Heart Sweet Light
Sweet Heart Sweet Light by Spiritualized
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews