Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up-to-date coverage of this important software
Part of the fast growing Peachpit series which all include 'From Snapshots to Great Shots' in their titles. Most are camera guides but several (and there may be more) cover themed subjects about weddings, landscapes, composition, and exposure. This is not quite the odd-man-out in dealing primarily with software (there is another for Photoshop Elements). Most of the titles...
Published on 11 Aug 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, no doubt but complex.
My reason for buying this book (subequently returned) was in the hope that it would enable me to discover how raw files from the Panasonic G6 could be downloaded using this soft ware and worked on in photoshop CS5. I was unable to discover this information from the book. I'm sure that it is, in fact, very good for many but was not helpful for me. - Sorry!
Published 17 months ago by Barnabas Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up-to-date coverage of this important software, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Part of the fast growing Peachpit series which all include 'From Snapshots to Great Shots' in their titles. Most are camera guides but several (and there may be more) cover themed subjects about weddings, landscapes, composition, and exposure. This is not quite the odd-man-out in dealing primarily with software (there is another for Photoshop Elements). Most of the titles are reasonably current in that they were all published either in 2011 or 2012.

This covers Photoshop Lightroom, concentrating on the current and recently released Version 4. That does not mean that it is unusable should you be using an older version - you may have been given one free with your camera - just that some things may be done a little differently. The differences are explained. The purpose of Lightroom is to create a 'workflow' - making changes in a controlled and logical manner for the best possible results.

Intended for the less experienced photographer, probably up to and just beyond Intermediate level, it guides the reader through installing and configuring the software and then to using it. The various chapters gently guide the reader through the various processes and procedures and is extensively illustrated with screen captures of the various screens that the software will offer at different stages. Sometimes, it will show an image before and after a certain change so that you might then understand the effect of that change. However, whatever changes you may make - and they could be many or drastic - the actual image is not itself changed. The changes are reflected in a file of instructions that it can use every time you access that image. However, there is no reason why you could not then derive a different set of changes at some future date. All is explained in the book.

Its approach is thorough and the language not overly technical so the book could be used by someone of almost any age. The author may have been slightly governed by those who wrote similar titles for earlier versions of the software, which is no bad thing. Good value and from a seasoned publisher. The author has also written several other titles in the series, mostly camera guides, so should know how to write and also the subject.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book for beginner, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
informative book good for entry level, which I am, shows good examples and tecniques. a must for anyone starting with this software
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightroom 4 Reference Book, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used Adobe Lightroom since it first came out and have in the past purchased books on it by Scott Kelby and Martin Evening and for the deeply technical, Evening is hard to beat. However, Lightroom is not as complex as Photoshop but is a very flexible tool that allows you to just use it for cataloguing and looking at your images full screen and editing in other software or, doing some serious image manipulation and preparing work for print or the web. In the latest version v4 they have added a "Blurb" module where you can prepare one off books to be sent via the web to be printed and whilst Adobe do some great on-line tutorials on this, being "old school" I like a book as a reference but didn't really want a heavyweight tome, the majority of which I would already be familiar with so seeing this, I ordered it.

I would highly recommend it, a fast read with all the bases covered in all the modules plus very good value for money. If you were just starting out with Lightroom, this and watching the Adobe on-line tutorials is probably all you would need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summary, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good introduction to Lightroom. Doesn't go into real detail but a great overview and already I have discovered quite a few new aspects of Lightroom I wasn't aware of. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNBEATABLE, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great improvement over Elements. All on one page; art and photography combined, You Tube gives best training.A great product at reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Paul Hedicker "paulbof" (hampshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just right to give the right balance of information to achieve desired results. The manual is very detailed but takes some digesting whereas this book allows you to use the software quickly and easily with lots of great tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me a lot, 11 Oct 2013
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I started to use Light room I did not find it that intuitive so bought this book to help me along the learning curve. All I can say is that the few times I have got stuck and gone to this book the answer has been there and I have achieved what I wanted to do.
I have not read the book cover to cover but use it to dip into when I want to do something and can't quite work out how. This book works well for me using this methodology to learn light room. Plenty of screen shots help explain the text and it all works rather well.

Jeff Revell's explanations are very clear and he adds in lots of helpful advice to help you on the way. This is a good book for the beginner in Light room who wants a little handholding on the learning journey and it's not too expensive either. A good book for Lioghtroomers !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Lightroom: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Covers Lightroom 4) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, no doubt but complex., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My reason for buying this book (subequently returned) was in the hope that it would enable me to discover how raw files from the Panasonic G6 could be downloaded using this soft ware and worked on in photoshop CS5. I was unable to discover this information from the book. I'm sure that it is, in fact, very good for many but was not helpful for me. - Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews