Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read.
If you like a good read, but you have enough set backs and failures in your life. Then it's nice to read a story where things pull through. I enjoyed this book. I have the next already to read! It's all about what your looking for, if you want everything going wrong all the time, with a moment of breakthrough, only for it to go pear shaped again. Don't read this one, it's...
Published 4 months ago by Stacey.Bournemouth

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sic Fi or love story
I think this book struggles with its identity, It can't make up its mind if its a science fiction novel or a love story. The science fiction element is really quite good, it has an interesting and intriguing story line. The technology on the whole is credible albeit the pace at which it gets developed takes some believing, but oh my God the love stories that seem to pop...
Published on 5 July 2012 by A. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sic Fi or love story, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I think this book struggles with its identity, It can't make up its mind if its a science fiction novel or a love story. The science fiction element is really quite good, it has an interesting and intriguing story line. The technology on the whole is credible albeit the pace at which it gets developed takes some believing, but oh my God the love stories that seem to pop up throughout the book are so corny that it makes me cringe. The author is obsessed with the main characters kissing and dancing at every opportunity which I found unnecessary and boring. It's almost like the book was written by two separate people. But hey if you like a bit of romance with your sci fi then this book's for you. I'm afraid i won't be reading the sequel though, just too slushy for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome!!!!, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Seriously? This book is spectacularly wooden and two dimensional. Wish I had paid attention to the review by "theodlite" (see below) because it was absolutely on the mark:

"This book just didn't cut it. The characters were wooden and too perfect, beautiful women with incredible brains, handsome men who could save the world / galaxy without breaking sweat.

The obsession with dancing and falling in love at the drop of a hat was not believable.

The progression of technology at a staggering rate that would have made Einstein give up and live in a mud hut!

It all adds up to a poor read, definitely not recommended."

There are much much better books out there and don't say you weren't warned if you do read this thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring SF writing, 20 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book just didn't cut it. The characters were wooden and too perfect, beautiful women with incredible brains, handsome men who could save the world / galaxy without breaking sweat.

The obsession with dancing and falling in love at the drop of a hat was not believable.

The progression of technology at a staggering rate that would have made Einstein give up and live in a mud hut!

It all adds up to a poor read, definitely not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you like a good read, but you have enough set backs and failures in your life. Then it's nice to read a story where things pull through. I enjoyed this book. I have the next already to read! It's all about what your looking for, if you want everything going wrong all the time, with a moment of breakthrough, only for it to go pear shaped again. Don't read this one, it's full of problems that are overcome. It makes a nice change to escape into an alternative world, but then again, it's only the first book......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, same old story, 28 May 2013
By 
A. Butler "tanj666" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Having read two other series by this author, I thought I'd give this one a go too.

Firstly, it easy to read. No complicated science or philosophy or anything like that.
Secondly, it is quite fast paced, the story just goes past like a juggernaut.
Thirdly, it is sadly very repetitious in the extreme of the other series.

We have grey ships, blue ships etc. We already had ships of different colours in the other series. Next we have fantastic rates of scientific progress. You though the last 70 years were fast? These books have humanity progressing at thousands of times that rate. And it's all done by one or two brilliant people. Of course. And the brilliant people have to fall in lover, eternal love, never ending, all-enduring, love. And humanity is better in these books than it can ever be in any real world scenario. It has no deceit, criminals are simply mis-understood, abused individuals who just need to be shown some love to change their ways etc etc etc.

After three series of this (Annihilation, Ashes of Realm and now this one) these ideas get stale. You get tempted to skip bit, pages even. And you can, because in these mushy bits nothing important actually happens.

But don't skip the sci-fi bits. The space battles, the descriptions of space, stars, planets, galaxies. These are what makes the books actually readable in the end. Hence 3 stars for this one.

The descriptions of the space battles remind me of when I was a teenager and discovered EE Doc Smith's Lensman series. They convey that same wonderful sense of awe.

I bought the next book in this series and will read it soon. Sadly it may be the last at this rate. I'm fed up of reading about finding life partners now. Everything is believable in comparison.

So, Mr Saxon Andrew, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can you write us a new series of books without the Mills&Boon aspects and just give us the pure unadulterated space opera we really want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A shaky start, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished the final volume in this set of four. Getting past this first in the series was a close run thing.

I found the dialogue in volume 1 to be clumsy and unbelievable. Characters expressed undying love in terms which one might expect to find in a teenage magazine. The story, while not exactly high literature was, however, sufficiently gripping that I wanted to find out what happened and bought the other three books. Four stars on the strength of the improvement from volume 2 onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential for the future and already written well for teens., 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Sugary sweet, young romantic, yet Imaginative Science Fiction yarn. Suitable for younger readers who may enjoy the simplistic lines of an easy read or someone after a holiday leisure read. Saxon needs to experience more to create real characters in the future. Good luck Saxon Andrew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Find a good editor, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The idea is good....execution not so much. Many grammatical errors, and seriously in need of proof reading and a great...or any?....editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 30 May 2012
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This a really fun and enjoyable book that'll leaving you wanting more. The author has a great ability to portray emotion and action with equal excellence. A top, top read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read Science Fiction, 14 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The Pyramid Builders (Lens of Time Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Lens of Time is an extraordinarily enjoyable book that will have you on the edge of your seat from its very opening scenes. The book is deceptively easy to read, but contains a plethora of fascinating ideas, excitement and characters.

Dr. Christopher Connor is a wonderfully colourful protagonist who is brought to life by Andrew's excellent characterisation of him. As readers, we empathise with him immediately and cannot help being drawn into his extraordinary adventure.

I don't want to give too much of the plot away, but needless to say that the only downside to reading this exciting book is that you will be wishing that the next one was released right away.

One of the year's most enjoyable reads. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews