Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Collectors
This is a great film with first class acting and a gripping story. If you love british films then you will love this film. Shot in South Clapham, London 1944 during WWII this film will delight you with its charm and warmth of a era lost to us all.
If you go looking you can even find the street and house used for this film, took me only two days of research to find...
Published on 14 May 2003 by mattymyatt

versus
86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Speckled, muted transfer of a fine film
A wonderful, warm, witty, observant movie made during World War II, which follows the everyday lives of an ordinary family between the two World Wars. Somehow the simple plot manages to encapsulate the British character, particularly their fortitude during lean times and their quiet pleasure in small joys. It was directed by David Lean and produced by Noel Coward, with...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by Chappers


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Collectors, 14 May 2003
This is a great film with first class acting and a gripping story. If you love british films then you will love this film. Shot in South Clapham, London 1944 during WWII this film will delight you with its charm and warmth of a era lost to us all.
If you go looking you can even find the street and house used for this film, took me only two days of research to find the location, which is unchanged to this day except for a few cars.
Great film GET IT. Its a shame that Carlton have deleted it from their DVD list, where is the justice in that, come on Carlton, release this title on DVD and do British Cinema the justice it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Speckled, muted transfer of a fine film, 29 Oct 2007
By 
Chappers "chappers" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Happy Breed [1944] (DVD)
A wonderful, warm, witty, observant movie made during World War II, which follows the everyday lives of an ordinary family between the two World Wars. Somehow the simple plot manages to encapsulate the British character, particularly their fortitude during lean times and their quiet pleasure in small joys. It was directed by David Lean and produced by Noel Coward, with top-notch acting by the strong cast including Celia Johnson, John Mills and Kay Walsh.

Being raised on 1960's television, I'd previously only known Robert Newton as the bawdy Long John Silver (!) but here he delivers a blinder of a performance as the hardworking, upright and loyal head of the family.

This film is definitely in my Top 10, so it's a great pity that this dvd release by Carlton International is ruined by dreadful speckling and muted colour. I compared it last week to Film Four's current screened version, with its beautiful lush colours and pure picture, and I realised how badly this dvd version rates in the comparison. In my view, save your money and trust that a newer dvd release by another company will do this fine film justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film; brilliant Blu-ray, 11 July 2012
By 
Ross Gowland (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Happy Breed [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
Annoyingly, Amazon have attached a string of reviews of the substandard DVD to this Blu-ray.

Just to make it clear, the picture quality of this disc is stunning and the sound is perfect and completely in synch. The two episodes of the South Bank Show included as extras are terrific, too: the first, from 1985, juxtaposes an overview of Lean's career with footage of him making his latest (and, as it turned out, last) film A Passage To India and runs an impressive two hours and ten minutes; the second is about Lean's working relationship with the writer Robert Bolt.

This Happy Breed is a terrific film and it's never looked this good in decades. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality picture in every sense., 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Happy Breed [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
I've just this minute finished watching it on Blu-ray (it's saturday afternoon - the best time to watch This Happy Breed, in my opinion!) and felt compelled to give it a bit of a review.. In a word, 'outstanding'.
Anyone who's a fan of this film needs to own it in HD, pure and simple. I had no idea the quality of the transfer for a 68 year old film would be this good. The actors' flawless performances and Lean's masterful camera work themselves are a pleasure to watch, but when seen with the incredible amount of detail this release offers, it's an absolute visual feast! The 105 minutes flew by!
I applaud the BFI and The Lean Foundation for giving this gem the treatment it rightfully deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most pleasurable films that I have seen, 17 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: This Happy Breed [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this film by accident one day but what a find! I am so pleased that it has now been released in DVD as it is a great favorite of mine. A wonderful story, by Noel Coward, of family life between the two World Wars. Of men returning to civillian life and the family they left behind. Celia Johnson plays a very good mother and a young John Mills plays the "boy next door". Happy times and sad ones - get your hankies out! A "must" film for any family. Try the Cruel Sea or Dambusters as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray version of This Happy Breed, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Darren Hughes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Happy Breed [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
Utterly outstanding picture.
The colours are more vibrant and clearly have more depth. The audio is also superb and completely in sync (unlike the Carlton DVD version).
If your a fan of this film then I would strongly recommend you buy the Blu ray version.
If you have not seen this superb film then what are you waiting for!! Buy it, you won't regret it.
David Lean was an absolute master at directing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British Drama, 13 Sep 2008
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Happy Breed [DVD] (DVD)
Don't let the b/w sleeve fool you, this film is in colour and the quality has held up fairly well. Where did they find all that colour film in 1944? This must have been regarded as an important national project.

It tells the story of a typical British family between the two world wars. It is almost trying to prepare people for the coming peace, like a reminder that it was not that far away.

Important historical events are weaved into the plot. The victory parades after world war 1, the general strike of 1926, and growing threat of war in the late 30s, are shown with music and fashions and advances in technology (radio, electric light in ordinary homes, talkies etc) contemporary to their time.

Blink and you could miss the one fleeting reference to the abdication of Edward VIII, when mother removes a 1936 calander of him. The event was too fresh to be dealt with fully during the war years.

Celia Johnson takes a good part as the mother. The character is a class or two below her parts in 'Brief Encounter' and 'In Which We Serve', but she seems just as comfortable and convincing here.

Robert Newton as the father displays typical British values of moderation and tolerance. While lecturing his son the night before his marriage, he even countenances the odd discrete affair, should the marriage become stale. What did our grandparents get up to? Perhaps they were not that different to us!

A well watchable movie and an interesting view of social history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The must-have edition, 4 Aug 2009
The description does not make it clear that this is the version of the film restored by the BFI in the last few months. The colour glows in a way the early almost monochrome technicolor does not, and the sound is much sharper than it used to be. The dialogue is clearer and the overall effect is a joy to watch and hear, and brings this wonderful film to life. What is not indicated is that the edition includes the original trailers and a second DVD showing two fascinating South Bank Shows, one on David Lean and most particularly the making of " A Passage to India", and another on Lean and Robert Bolt, the screenwriter. There is also a splendid booklet about the film, its cast and how it was made. All in all, marvellous value and a gem to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning- Sound & Vision not in sinc, 28 Oct 2009
By 
B. W. Richardson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fully agree with Brenda Watkins & John Collier. To restore a film & not get the picture & sound in sinc with each other is unforgivable.Wish I had seen their reviews before I purchased this item.I will certainly check the reviews before I make my next purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Happy Breed (DVD>), 16 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Happy Breed [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films of all time, and British! A very moving, heartwarming tale, brilliantly acted by a superb cast. (And, mercifully, no zombies, aliens from outer space, or computer-generated disasters.) A film for adults - not suitable for any one-brained-celled teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Happy Breed [Blu-ray] [1944]
This Happy Breed [Blu-ray] [1944] by David Lean (Blu-ray - 2012)
17.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews