Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting Things In Place.........
.... this might just be one of the best Magnum albums ever. I'm not a die hard,a recent convert actually,in the last couple of years i've been working my way thru the bands back catalog,this disc just grabs you instantly,its a thoroughly enjoyable listen.

Highlights well the 'epic' opener 'All The Dreamers' just struts its way out of the speakers and you know...
Published 22 months ago by Mr Blackwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Heared it all before
A few stand out tracks but no classic Magnum album yet,much the same as every release since they reformed one word sums it up for me lacklustre.
Published 3 months ago by Let ur magic lantern burn


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting Things In Place........., 27 Sep 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
.... this might just be one of the best Magnum albums ever. I'm not a die hard,a recent convert actually,in the last couple of years i've been working my way thru the bands back catalog,this disc just grabs you instantly,its a thoroughly enjoyable listen.

Highlights well the 'epic' opener 'All The Dreamers' just struts its way out of the speakers and you know immediately its going to become a modern day classic,a must play 'live' surely. Then 'Blood Red Laughter' bounces along on throbbing bass and its an instant toe tapper,if its not already due to be a single then it should be.

Have to be honest i thought this album might be a similiar sound to THE VISITATION,its not ,where that disc was dark and brooding,this is the opposite,its up beat,catchy and well happy,only the melancholy 'Putting Things In Place' dropping the mood slightly.

Its certainly a commercial Magnum but without losing any of their heritage,choruses and sing alongs abound on the title track,'Didnt Like You Anyway' and 'So Let It Rain' without diluting who Magnum are.

Heavy moments can be found with the superb 'Dance of the Black Tattoo' with it rifftastic opening complete with menacing piano in the background,it vies with 'See How They Fall'(with its teasing opening riff) as the heaviest track on the album,showing these boys can still rock when they want to.

Personal favourites on this disc are pretty hard to come by,as i love it all but if pushed 'Shadow Town' is superb,a working man dig at the plight of society whilst the rich carry on untouched,if Seger or Springstein released this it would be held up as a modern day workin' class anthem(and probably fly to the top of the charts).

so there you have it a superb disc,if you bought the ltd edition,then you'll have a second disc,approx 30 mins with several live tracks/demo and acoustic,'Eyes of Fire' once again left of the main disc,do they not like this track? The best moments are the 2 acoustic versions of 'Blood Red Laughter' & 'Shadow Town',surely an idea in there lads for a whole album.

As usual its a solid performance from the whole band,Clarkin once again proving how under rated he really is,and Catley whilst allowing for age,his vocals i thoroughly enjoyed,yes time has aged his voice,for me though its still got a warm,earthy quality that enhances the current music.

So its 5 stars for them and a thank you from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid & punchy, just had to add a review, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
Okay, it can be pretty stressful being a Magnum fan. They're 40yrs old this year and there will be some that prefer the pre-SPV era and good on 'em I say but lets not cloud this album review with some nostalgic whims. Secondly let's recognise that the music industry has changed immensely since their widely acknowledged peak of mid to late 1980s. Had they remained entrenched in that era of ripped jeans then they'd not be around today and I for one think that their break re-energised them and they have released some belting albums with SPV.

So, back to that stress. I buy every Magnum album with perhaps one single release heard via Planet Rock or the internet links from the wonderful Annie Minion. Waiting for that album to land is nervy - will they deliver? At 40yrs old are they still relevant, still 'got it'?
The answer is yes, or indeed YES! This album has made me smile all day - to give a nod to other reviews there are some heavy riffs, some anthemic choruses (you'd faint if there weren't) and yes, one or two touches of Springsteen. You wouldn't have got that on a Goodnight LA album.....

Stop dwelling on pre-2000 and dabbling on web forums that discuss the merits of Fish Vs Hogarth, Bayley Vs Dickinson, Gillan Vs Coverdale - bands have to change and evolve and this just feels like another solid, mighty chapter in the history of one of the most under-rated and under-valued British rock bands period.

I'm not articulate enough to give a song by song analysis but I had to jump to the defence of the boys and say - Congratulations, what a album!

I for one will be back in the crowd for the tour in November - my umpteenth Magnum tour and by the way, if you've not been then you really are missing a treat. Oh, and Bob has not lost his voice and Mr Clarkin has certainly not lost his way. He's fresher and fitter now than he's been in years.

Five stars are kept for modern masterpieces etc but Amazon rating just says 'I love it!'. 'Nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 3rd Classic Magnum Album?, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
I've used amazon album reviews for guidance (and entertainment) for many years now but never been compelled to post a review until now. I buy lots of CDs, mainly rock but very little "melodic/pomp" rock, which is what Magnum always seem to be classified as. I don't have any Journey, Foreigner etc. It is very rare these days that I find an album that I can't stop playing and want to hear every track. This has now happened twice within in a few weeks. The new Ian Hunter one, "President", and "13th Day". I was first aware of Magnum when they supported Whitesnake in 1980 at Bath Pavilion. I bought "Trouble" instead of "Kingdom of Madness". I've seen them numerous times including the farewell gig in the Wulfrun in the 90s. Albums have always been a bit patchy. Except the two classics of course, "Storytellers Night" and "Wings of Heaven". Post the "come back" it wasn't until "Alice" that I wanted to hear any tracks more than a couple of times. I liked "Moonking" more but struggled to listen to it from start to finish. The Visitation was even more of a struggle. But 13th Day....... I don't know what it is. The songs are more varied? There seems to be more use of backing vocals? Perhaps is just the general song quality. I googled this year's tour set list and was disappointed to find they are only playing four tracks from 13th Day. I'd be happy if they played the whole thing and Eyes Like Fire & Those Were The Days from the bonus CD. What more can I say. It's brilliant. If you are new to Magnum or only know "old" Magnum this is the one to get acquainted with. As others have said it is well worth the extra few pounds for the 2 CD version. The 2nd disc is a mini album in it's on right. Well done Magnum. See you at High Voltage 2013?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God For Magnum!!!, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
Some people complain that Magnum's recent output isn't a patch on their glory days. How could it be? Today's musical environment is a world away from Magnum's 1980s pomp. They could no sooner make a 'Storyteller's Night' or 'Wings of Heaven' than Marillion could make a 'Misplaced Childhood' or a 'Seasons End'.
It's funny how some people also say "You know what you're going to get with Magnum". I disagree. There may be a fundamental 'sound' and formula to the music at times but if you listen to Magnum's back catalogue, each album has differed to it's predecessor, whether it's in the production or the power of the music.
Since Magnum reformed in 2001, this has definitely been the case. 2002's 'Breath of Life' was a stylised keyboard driven album with computer programmed drums. The follow up 'Brand New Morning' was a darker, harder and rougher sounding album that showed the band in a more aggressive mood at times. 2007's 'Princess Alice and the Broken Arrow' was an epic, heroic album with a smoother, lusher production and 'Into the Valley of the Moonking' was a more sedate, laid back, contemplative, rustic sounding record. 2011's 'The Visitation' had much more of a 'prog' vibe with a harsher tone.
'On the Thirteenth Day' sees Magnum blowing off the cobwebs with a more direct, straight ahead, ballsy rock approach. There are no 'big' numbers on here nor any complex numbers. Everything is up-tempo with catchy choruses and some crunching guitar driven tracks. At 55 minutes or so long, the album is a nice, digestible length and it flies by at some pace.
First track 'All the Dreamers' is a fairly typical Magnumesque opener with a slow build up before bursting into the melody with a killer riff and a majestic chorus.
Choruses aren't in short supply on this album; 'So Let it Rain' is an irresistibly catchy pop rocker with radio and chart appeal, reminiscent of 'Wild Angels' from last years 'The Visitation'. It's a gem of a song.
My favourite is 'See How They Fall'; a big powerful rocker that grabs you and never lets go.
The album also has its reflective moments. 'Shadow Town' is a mid paced rocker that deals with England's crumbling towns and the recession whilst taking a little swipe at the wealthy who remain unaffected. A simple, but effective lyric. 'Putting Things In Place' is quite a surprise. Normally, Magnum's ballads stay just about the right side of cheesy. This track is very contemplative and bitter-sweet and wouldn't sound out of place on a Fish record somehow. 'Didn't Like You Anyway' has a playful riff and a lovely swing and swagger to it.
The rest of the album is made up of great toe-tapping rock tracks.
When listening to 'On the Thirteenth Day', it is worth bearing in mind that at least three fifths of Magnum are seriously getting on a bit. The fact that the album is so upbeat and entertaining is indicative of the energy that these guys still have despite their age. Bob Catley sings his heart out on every track, giving arguably, his best set of vocal performances since 1994's 'Rock Art'. His harmonies are great too.
Tony Clarkin does what he does on every Magnum album. Top quality songwriting and a sagely guitar-style, with great riffs and well crafted solos. Such an underrated guitarist and composer.
Mark Stanway's keyboards add texture and classical sweeps here and there with stabbing synths that compliment the riffs beautifully.
The rhythm section of Al Barrow on bass and ex-Thunder drummer, Harry James is probably the most powerful the band has ever had. They're unfussy and just drive the songs home, raising the level of technical proficiency as and when appropriate.
Rodney Matthews adds his artistic touch to the sleeve once again and the combination of his drawings and Al Barrow's photography have helped make recent album packages top, top quality. Who wants downloads when you can get your hands on something real and proper like this?
Magnum really are in rude health. Since 2001, they have spent an incredible amount of time writing, recording and touring; building and increasing their fan base that little bit more with each successive album. Apparently, 'On the Thirteenth Day' is well on course to be Magnum's most successful record since 1992's 'Sleepwalking'. If that's the case, it's well earned and thoroughly deserved.
Magnum are national treasures as far as I'm concerned and this new album simply emphasises the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum Force, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
This really is a excellent Album from Magnum. It has everything you could possibly want from a rock album, great songs, great hooks and great lyrics. Guitarist and songwriter Tony Clarkin never seems to run out of ideas, and these songs seem as fresh as ever. Magnum have never received the acclamation they deserve and are so underrated and for the life of me I can't understand why. The single 'So Let It Rain' is catchy and radio friendly, yet still received very little, if any, airplay. This album has received great reviews from fans and media alike and deservedly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb..., 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the 13th Day (MP3 Download)
I would just like to say well done to Magnum for creating this absolutely BRILLIANT Hard Rock album.

Powerful Hard Rock of the highest order.

If anybody can play this album LOUD without grinning and rocking their head I will be surprised.

Very classy indeed. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any Rock fan!, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
I have now had the chance to have quite a few listens to this album and it is fantastic to say the least.
It has a fab mix of songs, some heavy, some melodic and some very relevant to today's society, especially the very thought provoking "Shadow town", "Didn't like you anyway" and the wonderfully haunting "Putting things in place",but my favourite track on the album is the excellent "from within".
Possibly in my humble opinion this album is Magnum's finest to date in a majestic 40 year Career.
The genius Tony Clarkin's songwriting and guitar playing just gets better with every album, Bob Catleys vocals as per usual are spot on, Mark Stanways expert keyboard playing is prevalent throughout and the rhythm section of Al Barrow on Bass and Harry James on drums are as tight and accomplished as ever.
A must buy for any rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, but...., 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
Odd album to review this one. When I first heard it, I was a bit underwhelmed. Every track seemed to be mid-paced, with the same simple drum beat and not much in the way of 'light and shade'. In truth, I thought that the band had become a bit formulaic. However, I have persevered with it and, do you know what?, I am now beginning to love it. In fact, it may even be the best of their recent albums! (how fickle am I, eh!?)

So, yes.....a great album, with some wonderful upbeat, catchy rock songs. The production is very impressive, too. However, I would still be interested to see the band be a bit more daring on their next release. I just have a feeling that with the talent in the band and Mr Clarkin's songwriting abilities they could produce something absolutely stunning.

Can't wait to see them on tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
Can I give it 6 stars? Every track ranges from very good to beyond excellent. For anyone who likes atmospheric and melodic rock, this is absolutely superb. A fantastic collection of melodic rock masterpieces. Thank you Magnum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best since..., 28 Sep 2012
By 
David R. Walters (Huntingdon, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] (Audio CD)
I've written a short review already, but I have to say that this is the best album since....their last one! Seriously, this and the last 4 have been so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi]
On The 13th Day [Ltd 2cd Digi] by Magnum (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews