Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money = 5 out of 5
If you have a new flat screen TV and want to improve the sound on the cheap this is the one for you. Don't expect cinema state of the art surround sound but pound for pound you will not be disappointed. Its well built , does not look cheap and will make the tv sound 10x better. For £80 you can't go wrong. Simple to install..plug it in....connect to tv via Optical Cable...
Published 17 months ago by M. Ede

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars philips soundbar perfomance
Found Philips sound bar easy set up but is let Down by its performance, distorted on on high sound levels and sometimes muffled
Published on 28 Feb. 2013 by santdavid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money = 5 out of 5, 20 Dec. 2013
By 
M. Ede ""The Ego"" (Yateley , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
If you have a new flat screen TV and want to improve the sound on the cheap this is the one for you. Don't expect cinema state of the art surround sound but pound for pound you will not be disappointed. Its well built , does not look cheap and will make the tv sound 10x better. For £80 you can't go wrong. Simple to install..plug it in....connect to tv via Optical Cable (you'll need to buy one of these as it is not supplied) and connect the Sub speaker to the front speaker (wire supplied). Turn it on and turn it up !. The only minor down point is the remote control is TINY !...plenty of opportunity to lose this down the sofa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars philips soundbar perfomance, 28 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
Found Philips sound bar easy set up but is let Down by its performance, distorted on on high sound levels and sometimes muffled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Connection Cables Included, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
Figured they include at least some way to connect it the TV but after trying a plethora of different cables I ended up having to buy a 3.5mm Stereo jack to Stereo jack cable (which only cost 55p) which worked wonders.

The TV we're using at the moment only has speakers on the rear which makes it sound awful. The difference these speakers made was phenomenal. Plenty of bass, the level of which is easily changed with the dedicated remote. Sub is attached by a fairly long cable, nothing to complain about there.

There's a very noticeable hiss which stems from having the volume on the TV low but the volume on the speakers high. I'd recommend always having your TV at full volume and then exclusively using the speaker remote to turn it up or down.

4/5 because they go on about the 'Music iLink cable' and although they never specifically specify that one is included, they omit the fact that nothing to connect it to the TV at all is included. This lead to somebody receiving a christmas present which they had to wait a couple of days to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality is pretty good, as long as you don't use that ..., 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
Sound quality is pretty good, as long as you don't use that horrible virtual surround nonsense. Sub is too bassy, and normally set it to the 2 or 3 (out of 10). I have experienced a few freak distortions where the sounds goes all robotic and needs the wires disconnecting and reconnecting.

The real issue is the interface. The volume, bass and treble have 10 levels but you can't see where they are at. You also can't see the lights if you don't wall mount it. The remote doesn't have the quickest response time so you have to push the buttons rather that hold them down, otherwise you just go from silent to deafening.

It's a massive improvement on tv speakers and is a bargain at the price. If you don't have room or can't afford a proper system, this is very good option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unpacking took longer than set up !, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
OK - I'm not a music buff as far as woofers and tweeters go, but this basic piece of kit is fab. I recently purchased a Samsung UE32ES6710 32-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p 3D Smart TV with Built-in Wi-Fi - White and the sound on it is OK but not great. I was looking at all the different types of sound bars and wanted something white, which, of course, is pretty limiting. I wasn't going to pay the extra delivery for next day, and was starting to get impatient (it was still delivered within stated time) and was thinking of cancelling because I am so impatient !! I'm glad I waited.

It actually took longer to unpack than to set it all up and get it working. As per one of the other purchasers, on recommendation, I bought XO Digital Optical Cable 2m / 2 Metre Premium Install Series - suitable for PS3, Sky, Sky HD, LCD, LED, Plasma, Blu-ray, Home Cinema Systems, AV Amps and hooked it up to the TV, plugged in the power cord and connected the sub woofer. TV switched on and when I pushed the on button on the soundbar remote, nothing new. Then I realised I hadn't taken the plastic off the battery !

BINGO - great sound in a smallish room. For the price, the sound is excellent.

ADDITIONAL COMMENT - keeps turning itself off - not sure if this is due to the set up using the optical cable or whether it's standard in built stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - but mother-in-law hates it!, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
Bought this as Christmas present for my father-in-law who bemoaned the loss of sound quality when he upgraded his TV from CRT to LED. Had to order an optical cable as one was not supplied - a bit disappointing that one is not in the box (why don't companies add cables and charge a few quid extra!). The sound bar itself is a perfect size for a 40" TV and as the TV is on a stand in a corner the sub woofer is compact enough to fit behind the TV without the need to place on the floor - great for those who hate clutter!.

Once connected and powered up I was most impressed by the audio quality of the soundbar and power of the subwoofer. Father-in-law loves it, but mother-in-law hates it! Engaging the virtual surround sound proved immersive. I should add that the room size is quite compact - not sure how it would perform in a large room. However, for anyone on a tight budget and content with Dolby Digital sound (rather than DTS / True HD) this soundbar/sub woofer combo comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great for the price, 4 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
Nice tidy item, however the sound output is too low for something made by Philips, returned it and bought a different sound bar with more functions such as an iPod dock and radio, and louder sound output
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars soundbar hl2150, 13 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
does anbody know how to stop this knocking off ever 15 mins.driving me nuts cant seem to find any feedback on this issue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Phillips Sound Bar, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips CSS2115/05 60W Sound Bar Home Cinema Speaker - White/Silver (Electronics)
It is really good but I would have thought they would include the cable connection needed to link this to the TV/Skye Box, we ended up having to pay £45 to have this fitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews