Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable classic
Molecular Gastronomy has became a catch-all term for the various activities of cooks to manipulate the flavour, appearance and even form of food and its constituent ingredients through scientific means. Of course, on a very basic level, combining ingredients is a form of science, yet it is fair to describe molecular gastronomy as taking things way beyond a basic...
Published 20 months ago by I. Darren

versus
52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many anecdotes, little culinary knowledge
I bought this book hoping to learn some hard science behind cooking and I'm very disappointed. The book consists mostly of anecdotes of what scientists from Dijon found in one kind of wine/cheese/meat or another but hardly any of this can be extrapolated to everyday cooking and it doesn't give any sort of a big picture view on food - just a lot of details.

The...
Published on 5 May 2008 by Tomasz Wegrzanowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many anecdotes, little culinary knowledge, 5 May 2008
By 
Tomasz Wegrzanowski (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book hoping to learn some hard science behind cooking and I'm very disappointed. The book consists mostly of anecdotes of what scientists from Dijon found in one kind of wine/cheese/meat or another but hardly any of this can be extrapolated to everyday cooking and it doesn't give any sort of a big picture view on food - just a lot of details.

The book also contains a few interesting ideas, especially on non-traditional emulsions/foams/suspensions/gels - in particular chapter 97 "Everything Chocolate" is very interesting.

Overall I'd suggest buying another book. It's pleasant to read but amount of useful or enlightening content is quite low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could/should have been better, 28 Jan. 2009
to be honest this book was a little bit of an anti-climax. The topics covered, although interesting, seemed to have little in the way of a conclusion. This book covers nothing that hasn't been covered in other more detailed books on the subject.
Harold Mcgee 'On Food & Cooking' covers and explains more.
Unless you want a coffee table book don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable classic, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Molecular Gastronomy has became a catch-all term for the various activities of cooks to manipulate the flavour, appearance and even form of food and its constituent ingredients through scientific means. Of course, on a very basic level, combining ingredients is a form of science, yet it is fair to describe molecular gastronomy as taking things way beyond a basic level.

In recent years molecular gastronomy has started seeping out of the kitchen laboratory and onto the restaurant plate, thanks to a pioneering group of think-ahead chefs who want to really understand and reinvent everything if they can. There is also an enthusiastic bunch of amateur cooks who are doing their own kitchen experimentation. The exclusive genie is really out of the bottle and books like this help shine light on this form of 'kitchen alchemy'.

This book has been translated into English from an earlier work (Casseroles et éprouvettes) and in essence it contains a good, general overview for the average person to this exciting world. This reviewer notes, with a little disdain, the relatively small physical size of the book and its printing - would it have really cost a lot more for another inch or so of paper?

The book is split into four key sections - Secrets of the Kitchen; The Physiology of Flavor; Investigations and Models and A Cuisine for Tomorrow. Each section is further sub-divided and presented by an excellent, detailed contents page at the front - at the back, after a great glossary and bibliography is a very extensive index too. It might be fairer to say that each mini section is effectively its own chapter, and everything that stands in the way is just a navigation tool. Whether it was luck or editing judgement that the tally of mini sections came to 101 we shall never know.

It is pleasing to note that, despite being an academic book by nature and necessity, the writing style has been tailored to be accessible to the average person who wants to learn more. Clearly where further technical or scientific detail is needed, this book would not solely suffice but there is sufficient pointers to the really-detailed reading that would probably be just boring filling to 95%-plus of this book's target audience. It is a great compromise that does not water the book down or make it out-of-reach. In the years that have passed since this book was released in French, more developments and advances have taken place. Maybe it is time for an update (hint, hint!). That said, this book still remains an excellent introduction to a subject that is by nature prone to being confusing to outsiders. If you are looking for pretty pictures and diagrams of the finished dishes this book is not for you - but the written word can be a very powerful, illuminative force in its own right.

To conclude, this is a great book on so many levels. It acts as an introduction to a nearly endless science, it sits as a memory aid to many key points and techniques and it sets off a taste for even further reading, experimentation and trial. Now, that hoped-for updated version can have more than 101 mini chapters and, oh, a little larger physical presence too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molecular Gastronomy- Expoloring the Science of Flavor, 4 April 2006
By 
Michael E. Little (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This excellent translation of Herve This' work as the only Dr with a PHd in a molecular gastronomy, begins a journey of discovery into the science behind food and cooking. Ever wondered how to keep a joint of beef moist whilst cooking, or why a souffle sinks? This (pronounced Thees) not only dispels many old wives tales, but raises fascinating new questions and ideas! He argues that molecular gastronomy is not just a stylish fad or media generated notion, but is a serious accademic pursuit, with great application. After all, says Herve This, 'what good is advice, if it isn't always good'? This is a witty and clever book, well worth adding to the collection of any devoted chef or the individual passionate about food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not really that useful, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite enjoyed this book but I found it a bit frustrating that it seemed to be predominantly composed of questions about food and cooking that were never really answered - it offered up a lot to think about, but if you're hoping you can flick through this book alone and learn a bunch of new stuff then you'll likely be disappointed.

It was well written though and an enjoyable read; I also enjoyed that it was comprised of lots of short (mostly 3 page) chapters which meant that you could pick it up and read a complete chapter whenever you had a spare minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and inspiring, 12 Mar. 2008
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is very interesting book covering a wide range of topics on the subject of flavour, taste and smell perception as well as the application of basic science to food and drink technology. I was particularly interested in the recent research into the physiology of taste perception, which until recently was the poor cousin of that of the sense of smell. There is a fair bit of chemistry, biochemistry and physics to take in to get full value from the book so I think this book would appeal most to those not only interested in food and cooking but also with some scientific knowledge. The last section of the book focuses on how the physico-chemical properties of ingredients like eggs or fats can be manipulated into creating novel recipes for foods. One can see where the likes of the innovative chef Heston Blumenthal got his inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book for the inquisitive cook., 23 Sept. 2011
By 
R. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The instructions in cookery books are based on little more than "I tried this and it was nice, or that and it failed". They are imprecise, sometimes wrong, and without explanation of cause. This is different, and attempts to understand, explain and define some processes scientifically. As a non-scientist, I failed to understand parts of it, but most chapters contained a some explanations and conclusions I found very interesting and potentially useful for a cook, and could place far more confidence in them than in most other books on cooking.

If you are seeking a cook-book this is not for you. If you want to understand some of the processes involved and gain some useful tips buy it - you will learn and enjoy - but if you are not a scientist you may want to skim and read selectivly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Feb. 2010
By 
I got this for christmas and I really liked the short article format. It's a bit like the food version of the New Scientist 'last word' series of books. Informative without being too technical but this is not a recipe book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all those who want to know more about food, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hervè This is a Great Man and I wish I could practice something on food with him even for half day...Who knows! His approach inspires people. I never would have expected a senior gastronomer like him (talking in a video) about love trasmitted through the creation of dishes: you would expect him to talk all the way scientifically. "C'est la differance!"
This book is a nice approach to him and his works. I would probably love more working with him...but only because I'm practical person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. Nicholas Tulett (Garden of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Strangely enough for a professional scientist, This' book contains an extraordinary number of basic temperature conversion mistakes (and I'm not talking a few degrees here and there, more like 100C in some cases).

That aside, the only real problem I've found is that I can't put the book down for long enough to actually try to cook something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews