Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molecular Gastronomy- Expoloring the Science of Flavor
This excellent translation of Herve This' work as the only Dr with a PHd in a molecular gastronomy, begins a journey of discovery into the science behind food and cooking. Ever wondered how to keep a joint of beef moist whilst cooking, or why a souffle sinks? This (pronounced Thees) not only dispels many old wives tales, but raises fascinating new questions and ideas! He...
Published on 4 April 2006 by Michael E. Little

versus
50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many anecdotes, little culinary knowledge
I bought this book hoping to learn some hard science behind cooking and I'm very disappointed. The book consists mostly of anecdotes of what scientists from Dijon found in one kind of wine/cheese/meat or another but hardly any of this can be extrapolated to everyday cooking and it doesn't give any sort of a big picture view on food - just a lot of details.

The...
Published on 5 May 2008 by Tomasz Wegrzanowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many anecdotes, little culinary knowledge, 5 May 2008
By 
Tomasz Wegrzanowski (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book hoping to learn some hard science behind cooking and I'm very disappointed. The book consists mostly of anecdotes of what scientists from Dijon found in one kind of wine/cheese/meat or another but hardly any of this can be extrapolated to everyday cooking and it doesn't give any sort of a big picture view on food - just a lot of details.

The book also contains a few interesting ideas, especially on non-traditional emulsions/foams/suspensions/gels - in particular chapter 97 "Everything Chocolate" is very interesting.

Overall I'd suggest buying another book. It's pleasant to read but amount of useful or enlightening content is quite low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could/should have been better, 28 Jan 2009
to be honest this book was a little bit of an anti-climax. The topics covered, although interesting, seemed to have little in the way of a conclusion. This book covers nothing that hasn't been covered in other more detailed books on the subject.
Harold Mcgee 'On Food & Cooking' covers and explains more.
Unless you want a coffee table book don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molecular Gastronomy- Expoloring the Science of Flavor, 4 April 2006
By 
Michael E. Little (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This excellent translation of Herve This' work as the only Dr with a PHd in a molecular gastronomy, begins a journey of discovery into the science behind food and cooking. Ever wondered how to keep a joint of beef moist whilst cooking, or why a souffle sinks? This (pronounced Thees) not only dispels many old wives tales, but raises fascinating new questions and ideas! He argues that molecular gastronomy is not just a stylish fad or media generated notion, but is a serious accademic pursuit, with great application. After all, says Herve This, 'what good is advice, if it isn't always good'? This is a witty and clever book, well worth adding to the collection of any devoted chef or the individual passionate about food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not really that useful, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite enjoyed this book but I found it a bit frustrating that it seemed to be predominantly composed of questions about food and cooking that were never really answered - it offered up a lot to think about, but if you're hoping you can flick through this book alone and learn a bunch of new stuff then you'll likely be disappointed.

It was well written though and an enjoyable read; I also enjoyed that it was comprised of lots of short (mostly 3 page) chapters which meant that you could pick it up and read a complete chapter whenever you had a spare minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and inspiring, 12 Mar 2008
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is very interesting book covering a wide range of topics on the subject of flavour, taste and smell perception as well as the application of basic science to food and drink technology. I was particularly interested in the recent research into the physiology of taste perception, which until recently was the poor cousin of that of the sense of smell. There is a fair bit of chemistry, biochemistry and physics to take in to get full value from the book so I think this book would appeal most to those not only interested in food and cooking but also with some scientific knowledge. The last section of the book focuses on how the physico-chemical properties of ingredients like eggs or fats can be manipulated into creating novel recipes for foods. One can see where the likes of the innovative chef Heston Blumenthal got his inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Feb 2010
By 
I got this for christmas and I really liked the short article format. It's a bit like the food version of the New Scientist 'last word' series of books. Informative without being too technical but this is not a recipe book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 3 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. Nicholas Tulett (Garden of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Strangely enough for a professional scientist, This' book contains an extraordinary number of basic temperature conversion mistakes (and I'm not talking a few degrees here and there, more like 100C in some cases).

That aside, the only real problem I've found is that I can't put the book down for long enough to actually try to cook something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not a practical buy, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very complicated. Not what i was expecting . Pure science not really something you could apply in your own kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference or personal knowledge enriching book, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Franklin Murphy (St. Vincent and the Grenadines) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this used and I am very happy with it. As a food technologist and product development specialist, I find it an enjoyable and interesting reference text and also for the odd moment of reading. A keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all those who want to know more about food, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hervè This is a Great Man and I wish I could practice something on food with him even for half day...Who knows! His approach inspires people. I never would have expected a senior gastronomer like him (talking in a video) about love trasmitted through the creation of dishes: you would expect him to talk all the way scientifically. "C'est la differance!"
This book is a nice approach to him and his works. I would probably love more working with him...but only because I'm practical person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews