Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best of the Lonesome Dove "spin offs"
This is an excellent production of a complex book and matches the high standards of the original "Lonesome Dove" series. The screenplay adapted by McMurtry and Diane Ossana is witty and interesting, the performances are uniformly excellent with val Kilmer quite outstanding as Scull; he can act!

The photography and light are spectacular, and give the sense of...
Published on 29 July 2009 by Bill Kelly

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall it's disappointing!
Each to our own I suppose. The danger of reading other people's reviews is that we all have different tastes and standards. I bought this set because the reviews were favourable but really this mini series is nothing as good as Lonesome Dove. Basically the plot wonders around being rather silly and quite comic in parts - mainly unintentionally. The main characters are...
Published on 25 May 2010 by I. Souter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best of the Lonesome Dove "spin offs", 29 July 2009
By 
Bill Kelly "willireid" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an excellent production of a complex book and matches the high standards of the original "Lonesome Dove" series. The screenplay adapted by McMurtry and Diane Ossana is witty and interesting, the performances are uniformly excellent with val Kilmer quite outstanding as Scull; he can act!

The photography and light are spectacular, and give the sense of place sadly missing form other admittedly fine adaptations such as like "Dead Man's Walk" and "Streets of Laredo". Worth watching on wide screen HD TV.

The tone as the review above says slightly sanitises the Commnche BUT not too much. We stills ee the random brutality to women and children. On a less serious note, the absence of smoking is quite unconvincing. That is sanitised TV!

Overall though a very enjoyable production which repays the considerable viewing time in spades. Watch if you have any interest in the "Lonesome Dove" series or westerns in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Contemporary Western, 12 April 2008
By 
David J. Nolan (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Quite a bit different from the book in some places. More psychological than most cowboy movies. The action slows in the middle of the movie to allow more space for Woodrow Call to portray his problems relating to other people. Great performance by him and Steve Zahn [Gus McCrae]. Also enjoyed watching Val Kilmer [Inish Scull] and his wife: Rachel Griffiths a hot, sexy woman [of a certain age] who 'takes no prisoners'. Wes Studi is also great as: Buffalo Hump. He appears more politically sanitised than in the book with focus upon the plight of his Commanche people, struggling to survive against a 'tide' of western settlers.
The scenery is great as are the photography and action sequences. Some of the violence has been toned down from the book for practical reasons [particularly the scenes showing Inish Scull when he is captured by Ahumado].
A worthy addition to the Lonesome Dove Saga and a satisfying experience in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great western, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comanche Moon - The Second Chapter In The Lonesome Dove Saga [DVD] (DVD)
This is another great western in the Lonesome Dove Saga with great actors a good buy for all western lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall it's disappointing!, 25 May 2010
By 
I. Souter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Each to our own I suppose. The danger of reading other people's reviews is that we all have different tastes and standards. I bought this set because the reviews were favourable but really this mini series is nothing as good as Lonesome Dove. Basically the plot wonders around being rather silly and quite comic in parts - mainly unintentionally. The main characters are really quite nondescript while there are bizarre characters introduced that just remove any depth or grit to the series. Overall disappointing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best westerns ever made!, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised to read that this series received mostly negative feedback. It's arguably the best of the Lonesome Dove Saga and one of the best westerns I have ever seen. Everything is perfect. If you're a fan of westerns, you can't go wrong with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the missing jigsaw, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comanche Moon - The Second Chapter In The Lonesome Dove Saga [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed watching it and now i know what happend to GUS / COL in the missing years.

Made a lot more sense of Lonsome Dove
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than the earlier ones in the series, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comanche Moon - The Second Chapter In The Lonesome Dove Saga [DVD] (DVD)
well worth watching , better than the earlier ones in the series , but you have to ignore that the actors are different for each character in each of the films in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comanche Moon, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comanche Moon - The Second Chapter In The Lonesome Dove Saga [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film for my collection as it is also runs along side other films I have bought. A good collecters film of the western culture of it's day in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Commanche Moon., 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comanche Moon - The Second Chapter In The Lonesome Dove Saga [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because one of my main interests are Native Americans. Although it is fiction it is based on fact.
One of the main characters Buffalo hump was a Commanche Chief. It is a brilliant movie and I can recommend it especially if you
enjoy westerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the McMurtry series, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comanche Moon - The Second Chapter In The Lonesome Dove Saga [DVD] (DVD)
I bought and loved all the Lonesome Dove series of DVDs, but there is no doubt in my mind that this one was by far the best. The story kept me sat in front of the TV, in a way that doesn't happen very often these days. The lead actors who played Call and McRae have changed throughout the series, but the film makers, have always kept and continuity in the way in which they behaved brilliantly. I would strongly recommend this to any lover of westerns. Especially those who have knowledge of the historical west. I personally wouldn't bother with John Wayne of Clint Eastwood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comanche Moon - The Second Chapter In The Lonesome Dove Saga [DVD]
13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews