Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars253
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2005
This is truly a Disney classic. With a wonderful story, breathtaking scenery and inspiring music, Pocahontas is a film I think everybody can enjoy. Based on the true story of Pocahontas, the film tells us of the sruggles faced by the Powatan Indians when their native land is invaded by English soldiers. Matters become more complicated when Pocahontas falls in love with Captain John Smith. What follows is an uplifting story of courage, bravery and acceptance. I think this film has some of the most wonderful settings ever seen in the cinema and this 2 disc DVD has some great extras. The Acadamy Award winning music, characters and story compliment eachother so well, I can't praise this film enough.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Pocahontas may not be Disney's most famous or commercially successful film, but it is certainly one of their most accomplished. Ditching singing animals and fairy princesses in favour of a very human story is a fairly bold move for Disney, but here it works wonderfully.

A tale of clashing cultures and of a blossoming forbidden love, Pocahontas has drama, action and a smattering of soppy songs. As to be expected the animation is top notch and whilst not all the voice actors feel totally natural here they are all suitabley emotive.

It doesn't reach the far heights of the likes of The Lion King or Beauty and The Beast but in a sense it was never meant too. This is Disney taking a risk and to my mind it works really well. Some interesting characters and an enthralling storyline set over a slim running time make this perfectly enjoyable for kids and adults alike.

Apart from some sluggish songs there isn't much to dislike here. Generally an underrated gem from Disney.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
I don't usually like Disney,but when my daughter was younger she wanted to see them. More often as not I disliked them, but this one is different; it actually addresses some serious issues such as colonialism and environmental destruction!

Yes, it's only loosely based on fact, but you wish that the romance between the chief's daughter Pocohontas and John Smith had really been as it is portrayed here. John Smith is a lovely hero, gung ho, funny and tender, and Pocohontas is brave and independent.

There is the usual Princess Obsession, but to some extent it's justified here - Pochohontas was a genuine princess, or anyway, the daughter of a chief.

Generally, the characters are excellent, the songs are good, and I loved the sparkly magic when John Smith and Pocohontas fall in love.

The usual one dimensional villan IS here (along with an obnoxious pet!) but for once he is a tool of social forces.

I snivelled at the ending, oh dear.

The best Disney film. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
The Disney film comes with the best of ingredients: a blossoming love story between incompatible worlds, a gorgeous graphic and songs that really stick with you through the years. But the story is supposed to be based on historical facts and we all know that is not the case here.

This Disney story has managed to focus the story on the romanticized encounter between the pale-faces and the American Indians, making the white colonists the unfortunate victims of a hostile neighbour. Luckily enough, their fate is saved due to the beautiful Pocahontas, daughter of the tribe's chief.

The historical tensions are totally left out, which makes it hard for a kid to later accept the historical facts about the battles between the settlers and the natives.

I must confess I loved it as a movie, though, if we are to leave its accuracy aside. But be careful what you teach your children and what you show them as being true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2006
I really enjoyed this production from Walt Disney. It is unique for Walt Disney in that the animation is based on a real person and story. The love that Pocahontas and John Smith have for each other is enough to bridge their different cultures.

The animation and the musical composition are of a very high calibre, with the 'Colours of the Wind' song being especially stirring. I also like 'If I never knew you' which, is a restored song in this Special Edition dvd. Furthermore, the voice acting is commendable throughout. The lovely Irene Bedard provides the voice talent for Pocahontas and big name actor Mel Gibson voices John Smith.

The movie is also especially funny in places with the animal characters of Meeko, Flit & Percy providing much of the humour. Wiggins is an interesting side character also worthy of note.

The movie ending is particularly powerful with Pocahontas casting herself over the prostrate John Smith to prevent her father from felling the love of her life. This dvd is crammed with special features that enhance your enjoyment of the main movie: an audio commentary, a veritable library of still images and fascinating featurettes amongst other things.

To conclude, a refreshing, uplifting animation that is enjoyable for all age ranges and a visual rendition that merits maximum marks.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
This is truly a Disney classic. With a wonderful story, breathtaking scenery and inspiring music, Pocahontas is a film I think everybody can enjoy. Based on the true story of Pocahontas, the film tells us of the sruggles faced by the Powatan Indians when their native land is invaded by English soldiers. Matters become more complicated when Pocahontas falls in love with Captain John Smith. What follows is an uplifting story of courage, bravery and acceptance. I think this film has some of the most wonderful settings ever seen in the cinema and this 2 disc DVD has some great extras. The Acadamy Award winning music, characters and story compliment eachother so well, I can't praise this film enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
A perfect Disney film for all the family. Children will definitely enjoy the music and the animals make you laugh. I think the message behind the story and the history is definitely more there for the adults but it's still a great classic. The story is a wild-card of a disney fairytale but i love the scenery, bright colours and characters, the setting and belief of the native people is definitely to be admired and makes the story interesting and grips you all the way through. I loved it as a child and i still love it now. If you're a lover of classic Disney films then you should enjoy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
Pocahontas is a delightful Disney film which although not as majestic as The Lion King or Beauty and the Beast still isn't a terrible film.

The animation in Pocahontas is breathtaking to behold especially the backgrounds. The music too is very nice with the score by Alan Menken and lyric's by Stephen Schwartz.

The conflict in the film between the Native American's and The British Settlers is dealt with in a mature and dignified way which was refreshing and not patronizing.

Good for children and adults Pocahontas is if not a Disney classic then an entertaining and child friendly film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Feeling slightly guilty that I hadn't watched this film and being born in the heart of the disney renaissance I bought this with my little sister. Even though it is slightly plotless it is an incredible film, with everything that I love about disney in one film. Despite the dodgy english accents I loved this film and everyone should watch it if they want a good disney film.

The songs are wonderful, especially 'colours of the wind' and 'just around the river bend' but 'savages' and 'steady as the beating drum' are also excellent.

One of my top 5 disney films :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
Stunning!Amazing!Beautiful!Epic! This movie is a master piece if ever i saw one! The music in it is some of the best in any disney film! The attention to detail wen it came to the drawing is amazing! The characters are very well thought out and the story will make u laugh and cry! I highly recommend this dvd for people of any age! Highly entertaining... a word of cuation! DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES LOOK AT ITS SEQUIL! This movie is perfect as it is and is by far By fav Disney film! I am 100% certain that it will bring enjoyment to any who watches it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)