Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word......Magic!!!
This album is called "little broken hearts". It is dark, moody and bitter in content. For our darling heroin is suffering from a broken heart. Yet she is not taking it in poor spirits. Every song is another angle on what happens when a long term relationship comes to an end, a different feeling, a different outlook etc. Norah Jones vocal take on this album is pretty much...
Published on 23 May 2012 by Requiems-love

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Little Broken Hearts is OK
I bought this album for my wife after we'd seen Norah on Jools. There are some nice tunes but the strength of the material is quite variable, and not all of the songs are strong enough to make this a great CD. Norah does have a great voice though.
Published 8 months ago by Coxygoesvroom


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word......Magic!!!, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
This album is called "little broken hearts". It is dark, moody and bitter in content. For our darling heroin is suffering from a broken heart. Yet she is not taking it in poor spirits. Every song is another angle on what happens when a long term relationship comes to an end, a different feeling, a different outlook etc. Norah Jones vocal take on this album is pretty much what you would expect from the single most pretty voice on this earth. There are some minor shocks and frights to be had on this album, on one song, called Miriam, its a song that is basically a dirge, where she sings about her rival "Miriam" i guess, and eventually sings "Miriam, thats such a pretty name, and ill keep saying it until you die" and "you know you done me wrong, i'm gonna smile when i take your life" That sort of thing, shocking indeed. Yet this song contains one of many shocks, to be honest. A refreshing turn from a singer who had to find a new way to express herself. Yet it is not just the lyrics to her songs on this album and her trademark brilliant singing that make this album so good. Its the music. Gone are the days where the music was just...pretty much a generic frame to showcase her voice. It seems Norah figured out she could sing the alphabet and it would sound good. Something any long term fan has known for years. There are hooks within the music, and catchy bits and in places i dare say it even sounds rather grand...not talking Queen here, but grand for a Norah Jones record at least. There are many elements within the music, and no real genre, but it can be said its sonically influenced jazz/fusion rock...or something like that.

For a rating i have given 5 stars, though its more 4 and a half. The only slight detraction, is that despite the music being much more engaging and despite the singers many talents...this is still an album you can just put on in the background. It is not like her previous albums though. You can put this on in the background but you will miss out on a lot of good stuff if you let it float over you. In closing...i highly recommend you try out this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Norah , The Dark Side, 30 April 2012
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
Can it really be 10 years since Norah burst on to the music scene with the wonderful "Come Away With Me"? At just 22 years old that blend of pop and jazz made her an instant star. Now, with her fifth studio album and with Brian Burton, aka Danger Mouse, as her producer she has moved into different territory, difficult to categorise but bordering on indie or alternative.

All of the songs were co-written with Burton and chart the end of a sweet romance. Now, at the age of 33 she asks her former lover

"She's 22 and she's loving you
And you'll never know how it makes me blue
Does it make you happy?"

With her smoky voice and a simple piano arrangement picking out the subtle melody this is the sound of heartbreak captured to perfection and closer to her jazz pop style than the other songs on the album.

But heartbreak takes on a darker hue with the brooding "Miriam" who stole her lover. She will murder Miriam and she tells her

"Miriam, you done me wrong,
I'm gonna smile when
You say goodbye".

There is an intensity to her voice and with the insistent keyboard this is dramatic contemporary pop with edge.

This is much darker stuff than anything that Norah Jones has attempted before. "All A Dream" has the lyrics of a nightmare, the voice of an angel and an arrangement of strings, piano and guitar that makes it a most powerful evocation of heartbreak.

That said, the album is uneven. "Happy Pills" is a jagged little pop song, the beautifully crafted revenge lyrics of "Little Broken Hearts" are not served well by the arrangement and "Say Goodbye" is overloaded with irritating synthesiser and drums.

But "4 Broken Hearts" is exquisite and "After The Fall" is a perfectly nuanced song about being on your own when love has gone. The voice of Norah Jones is as full of effortless class as ever with some fine songs and lyrics that capture perfectly the heartache of a broken love affair. The downside is that Danger Mouse has given her arrangements that are unsympathetic to some of the songs and to her voice.

But, on balance, this is an album that is refreshingly different to much of 21st century popular music and one that will appeal to fans of Norah Jones and probably gather some new ones too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That which is unable to excite is equally unable to offend!, 3 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
As Jones has gone further into her career she has become more experimental and - yes - more self indulgent, which could be bad thing when you look at the indulgences of other artists, but what draws the line is that rather than disappearing into smug comforted blandness (man, did Tori Amos do that after Choirboy), Jones has just got more and more interesting. Much of the criticism levelled at this work will surely be how far away it is from Come Away With Me, but CAWM is timeless in it's own way so to continue down that alley would be pointless. In addition, Jones has grown up in those years in terms of her maturity as an person, whereas many of her audience were grown up in the first place, so have just got older and gone from jumpers to cardigans. This new offering has new voice in so many ways, and the continuity of the subject matter throughout lends it the feel of a concept album. She's still saucier than a direct hit on a Heinz factory; there is simply no sexier voice on the planet. Hifi writer Alvin Gold once said "That which is unable to excite is equally unable to offend" - I hope this excites many and sells by the truckload, and as for those who are offended - please post your reviews so people know what they are letting themselves in for, but remember - you don't Have to listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little Broken Hearts is OK, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
I bought this album for my wife after we'd seen Norah on Jools. There are some nice tunes but the strength of the material is quite variable, and not all of the songs are strong enough to make this a great CD. Norah does have a great voice though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You need to buy this, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (MP3 Download)
First review I've ever written on an album. Norah Jones's early stuff is good background music. I often think of her as a sultry version of Katie Melua (who is also excellent). This album, however, is different. Some of the songs are a bit on the dark side (Miriam is a bit creepy) - but every track is superb - it's the sort of album you'll automatically put on first if you're sitting down to chill out or deciding what to listen to in the car. What else can I say, if you're not the sort to listen to boy/girl bands and like just really good music - BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, memorable and affecting, 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
This is by far Norah Jones's best and most mature album to date - an honest reflection of relationship breakdown, with insightful and unflinching lyrics (reminding the listener of Springsteen's brooding Tunnel of Love).
The production and sound is different from her previous albums - darker and certainly not twee or "wallpaper".
Long may she continue to develop as a songwriter and singer. This is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
A different Norah, being experimental and clearly needing to get a few things off her chest judging by the lyrics. A great album which I really liked from the first listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Substantial, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
Needs more than one listen; it does grow on you after 2 or 3 goes AND Miriam, whoever she may be, is just stunning. Who in their right mind, any mind, would cheat on Norah Jones ......?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth repeated listening, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
Wasn't sure at first because it's heavier than previous albums perhaps a bit darker. But it's growing on me. It does range from lighter tracks to heavier dark tracks like Miriam, but I still enjoy listening to her vocals and the depth still shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Norah Jones is awesome, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Broken Hearts (Audio CD)
Lots of great music from the awesomely talented Norah jones. Follow the story as she deals with her relationship with her lover and his infidelities. This has been a favourite in my playlist since it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Broken Hearts
Little Broken Hearts by Norah Jones
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews