Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung netbook
This is an excellent netbook. I bought one each for my kids and spent an extra 9 each buying a 2GB RAM. This improves the performance of the netbook to that of something much more expensive. Samsung realise that this is what people will do because they make it so simple to replace the memory card. I paid 195 for each netbook. Don't be put off by the low price, this is...
Published 21 months ago by M. P. Clare

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Samsung memory
Quite good value but benefits from memory upgrade. The problem is that there are no spare slots so by installing 2GB you are left with unusable original 1GB.
Published 19 months ago by Richard Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung netbook, 20 Oct 2012
By 
M. P. Clare - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
This is an excellent netbook. I bought one each for my kids and spent an extra 9 each buying a 2GB RAM. This improves the performance of the netbook to that of something much more expensive. Samsung realise that this is what people will do because they make it so simple to replace the memory card. I paid 195 for each netbook. Don't be put off by the low price, this is a piece of quality kit. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SAMSUNG N102S Netbook, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
Great piece of kit retailing at 255. If you're buying for 199 use the money you're saving on upgrade on RAM 3GB.
It's useless without the RAM upgrade, but once you add memory it's a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and just what I needed., 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
i bought this to use in my lectures and just in general whilst studying at uni. it brilliant, quick, easy and very light to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
Have had numerous Samsung phones and other products so I hoped for the best from this netbook. Very disappointed. Flaky Windows installation. Very low quality build and finish. Awful speakers. The worst webcam I have ever seen. Samsung, you have really blown it on this. Planning to sell or dump it and buy an Acer. Steer WELL clear !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Samsung memory, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
Quite good value but benefits from memory upgrade. The problem is that there are no spare slots so by installing 2GB you are left with unusable original 1GB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Samsung Netbook 2013 - slow running and crashing, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
It is hard to get a netbook these days (so many tablets) and I bought this one because I had had the previous model for 3 years; I was really happy with it but after all the travelling I did with it, it is on it's knees (hardware-wise - buttons breaking etc).

The new model however is a MASSIVE disappointment. The first thing I realised was that despite the fact that it came 'Skype ready' it does not have a built in microphone - it does have a built in camera but no mic. so Skype could not be used until I got a mic. Checking to see if a computer comes with a built in mic. when it comes with a built in camera would be like asking if it came with a USB port.

The biggest problem however is that it runs slowly and crashes frequently. I have (after 30 minutes wait) had on several occasions had to remove the power jack and the battery to unfreeze it). It comes Microsoft Office 'sample' ready but I downloaded Office 2013 and it just cannot run this and have any other window open. It takes a good few minutes just to open up a document.

Even without office though, it runs slowly and crashes - I had a 45 minute wait for it to shut down while it installed updates the other day - hardly useful when you are on the move.

Samsung weren't helpful and simply said 'oh it doesn't come with a built-in mic. you have to buy one' instead of 'we should really tell people that' and they are not prepared to admit that it has not been devised to run Office.
The supplier said 'oh it can't really run office' though why they did not tell me this at the start I cannot imagine. - it's not as if I use a netbook to run complicated multi-media software.

Do NOT buy this product - it is hopeless. After being really happy with Samsung products in the past I won't ever buy Samsung again. The battery life is extremely long though - this is fortunate when you consider how long it takes to do anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
Do not buy this item. Incredibly slow, and it finds it difficult to perform even the most basic tasks i.e. opening a word document, loading a webpage. Any time any virus software is scanning in the background for example, it's almost impossible to browse online. Can't handle more than one thing at a time. Also, the screen often won't re-appear after sleeping/hibernating, and sometimes, when it does, it has what looks like a thin train track down the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuzion, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
Excellent service from this company - product arrived within 24 hours and quick contact response. Product good and even better with extra 2gb ram - easy to insert. Just what I needed for emails and word processing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars On Off Switch Hard to Use, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
The on off switch at the side is very difficult to use and has come off several times. We have been able to wedge it back on, but now the switch is not working at all, making the computer useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great little pc - but....., 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: Samsung N102S 10.1 inch Laptop - Black (Intel Atom N2100 1.6GHz, 1GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, BT, Webcam, Windows 7 Starter) (Personal Computers)
Great little pc - but if, like me, you want to use Skype (which is already installed) there is no mic, you will have to buy a combo mic and headset to use it. Why install Skype when you can't use it?? An added expense I was not expecting. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews