Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited UK release doesn't dissapoint!
This movie was intended to cash in on Elvis' entry to the army with Newley playing an "idol" called Jeep Jackson. The great British public took the film seriously however and overnight Anthony Newley, former child actor became a fully fledged adult actor/pop singer. The film is a delightful comedy in the same vein as Carry On Sergeant with the added bonus of four musical...
Published on 23 April 2012 by P Goodhead

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Great old film
This film (d.v.d.) is a step back in time and a satire on the Pop movie industry of yesteryear,quite tame but great fun and a blast from the past many many thanks D. B.
Published 2 months ago by Braden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited UK release doesn't dissapoint!, 23 April 2012
By 
P Goodhead (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
This movie was intended to cash in on Elvis' entry to the army with Newley playing an "idol" called Jeep Jackson. The great British public took the film seriously however and overnight Anthony Newley, former child actor became a fully fledged adult actor/pop singer. The film is a delightful comedy in the same vein as Carry On Sergeant with the added bonus of four musical numbers performed by Newley.
Ironic that the original UK title is IDLE On Parade, referring to the army saying, yet this UK release uses the USA title of IDOL on Parade, referring to the pop star!
Look out for many star faces who later had very successful careers of their own - Sid James, Bernie Winters and Harry Fowler! Especially enjoy an early glimpse of Susan Hampshire, no lines just a glimpse!
Pure nostalgia enjoy!
Posted by Paul Goodhead - President of the Anthony Newley Appreciation Society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, 6 Dec 2011
For some unexplained reason, somewhere over the Atlantic Idle became Idol and the American banker, William Bendix, became the star ahead of Anthony Newley, Lionel Jeffries and the ubiquitous David Lodge. Reflecting the situation of poor Terry Dene as a pop singer who fell foul of National Service - but with a happier outcome - this movie features Newley's debut as both singer and composer - although he had served in most of the armed services several times during his earlier career - and has long been on my wish list. It does not disappoint, reflecting the times and providing amusing roles for Sid James, Harry Fowler, Bernie Winters and many other familiar faces. Now if only someone would release Hieronymous..... BTW those wishing to see Bill Bendix in full song and dance mode can enjoy A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court [not the remake].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idol on Parade DVD, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An old film that I first watched in the Cinema when it was first released. The Songs by Tony Newley have always stayed with me and on top of that it is a good comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idol On Parade, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
Gteat film starring Anthony Newley.A nostalgic look at the 1950's and national service.Newley being like an English take on Elvis...Fantastic film and very enjoyable to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film from the old days and really enjoyable watching it over again - Great actors and Mr Newley in good voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Ron Hills (Havant, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
This was a great film when it was released in the early 60s and I still enjoyed it today. As Anthony Newley was a good actor singer and everything else he turned his mind to do. The copy quality was very good and it was worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so it was great to roll back the years to enjoy it all ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I last saw this movie around 1960 when I was a young teenager and had a huge crush on the female lead Anne Aubrey, so it was great to roll back the years to enjoy it all over again. I must admit though now that the object of my affection seems to be a bit older than 'Jeep Jackson' as portrayed by Anthony Newley, who was the object of her affections in the movie. Due to the passing of quite some decades since I first saw it, perhaps the scales have fallen from my eyes.
Interesting to note a small part by Susan Hampshire, which was probably one of her early performances on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 10 Jun 2014
By 
M. J. Powell (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I bought this to remind me of my national service square bashing days. I saw it when it first cane out and I've had happy memories of this film. All the more wonderful for being dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I watched this film when it came out , and enjoyed it , but now it seems very dated and the storyline is a bit naff. Good performances from the actors, still glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars idol on parade, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] (DVD)
I have been looking for a copy of idol on parade for years . It was great a little dated but it took me back to when it was first released and I loved it . P ERCY Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959]
Idol On Parade [DVD] [1959] by John Gilling (DVD - 2013)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews