Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cutting edge lunacy., 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
Hmmmmmmmmmmm.... well, i can honestly say i have never heard anything quite like this before. I have heard records that have hinted at such an uncompromising aural attack, flirted at the concept but never anything with this much conviction. Back in the day i liked a lot of death metal, Morbid Angel,Deicide and such like. My musical tastes have gravitated towards more rap stuff these days BUT, and heres my point,stick with me, 'The Money Store' after several listens now reminds me a lot of Napalm Deaths debut 'Scum'. Not musicaly of course but in terms of attitude, shape and form.
Its addictive, its unique, its also sometimes to much to handle. You have to be in the mood for this record because it absolutely does not take any prisoners, your neighbours will hate it.
How to descibe 'The Money Store' musicaly? Rapping/shouting/chanting over dense beats/noises/alarms/explosions, a digital, hellish black mass led by a lunatic shaman who moonlights as a serial killer. I feel im not doing this justice here...
If your reading reviews about this record then you must have more than a passing interest in the subject. What does it cost? a tenner? Buy it and experience it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
Everything they tried to do here, they succeeded. Great beats, lyrics, samples, drumming, rapping.
And I'm not even an hip hop fan. This is so unique, everybody can like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
Only thing I have to say is that this will not be topped in 2012
Never heard anything like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, 3 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
One of the best albums of 2012. Haven't heard a hip-hop record like this, and I'm not really into the genre but this album chewed me up and spat me out. The lyrics are cryptic, hilarious, creepy, and create this schizophrenic hobo of a character (even looks like one in the music videos) that's just fascinating to listen to in each of the songs. It's almost a concept album in that way. Yes, he can speak too fast but it fits the character and makes for a good challenge to sing-along, like the tongue twister opening of "Get Got".

I had no idea I'd be into something like this. Maybe because it's more crazy industrial-dance-noise punk with rapping than traditional hip hop, and I like grime too. It's more focused on the psychology of this crazy person than the typical subject matter of hip hop.

"I Seen Footage" is a very relevant look into this modern age of Internet shock videos and seeing all that real disturbing footage makes you lose your mind.

Some lyrics are hilarious like "I'll make your water break in the Apple store" (Hacker). I haven't spent this much time deciphering lyrics since an Interpol album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Money Store, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
Of Death Grips' four full-lengths so far, this is by far the best. And that's saying something.

Each track has a pop sensibility, insofar as they are not overly long and feature direct hooks that will stay with you for a long time.

I agree with Mr Ride; indeed, Gaga could not handle this s***.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enter it with an open mind., 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
There are two ways to approach this album, both equally bad:

You either enter it expecting it to be amazing, as I did, only to find that it's an incredibly difficult album to access;
or you enter it expecting it to be awful, as many do, BECAUSE it's so difficult to access.

This is completely different to anything you've heard before. Get Got will throw you off from the outset, The Fever will have you in a daze, I've Seen Footage will have you bopping your head whilst The Cage will make you question reality.
Loosen yourself into it, though, and this really is an absolute masterpiece from start to finish.

It's also completely worth it for that one hook in closer Hacker:
"TABLE'S FLIPPED NOW WE GOT ALL THE COCONUTS BITCH"
Gets me every time.
(You won't understand until you listen to it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 13 May 2012
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
This is one of the most challenging pieces of hip-hop I have ever heard, but its still amazing. Despite the attention to detail on the music, this album never becomes boring. Its a very wild and fun album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A merciless album - the absolute raw depths of music and humanity., 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
Watch the needledrops review on youtube, can explain it better than I ever could. Simply a ground breaking album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century Beats, 5 Jun 2012
By 
N. Cannon (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Money Store (Audio CD)
Like Watching Jacob's Ladder on mushrooms ( the magic variety) a hyper real tour round the skull of raving poet for the 21st Century.
Like being caught in a mosh at thrash metal gig, where the guitarists are playing samplers and keyboards and the singer recites stream of consciousness, pummeled aurally, and physically by distorted beats and samples you have no choice but to join in....!
30 years of MTV , and News blended together, beat matched and jacked into your skull through an overloaded cable...
William Gibson's Neuromancer made real...

From Hacker....

You'll catch a jpeg to the head
über reach
You're an intern
On wikileaks
Most loved therefore most hated
Come and knock on the door we've been waiting for you
Game changer
Reclusive aggressive
Yingin and yanging noided
Info warrior jack the hacker
The rolling stoner
Profit on disaster

At once opaque, and lucid in the same sentence, streaming recent events and calling up pop cultural/sci-fi references ... great stuff, challenging for sure, but it'll get your adrenalin pumping just listening....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (Insert-generic-I-don't-really-do-hip-hop-but review here), 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Store [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I downloaded Exmilitary last year on a whim, and was thoroughly impressed. On The Money Store, the band has only improved. The overall sound reminds me more of some uber-technical "math-rock" bands than anything I've heard in rap or electronic music (though like I say, my knowledge of either is limited), though there are a fair few moments that remind me of The Prodigy's best work. I've Seen Footage is one of thoes, and has the best synth riff I've heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Money Store [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews