Customer Reviews


391 Reviews
5 star:
 (327)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in transfers !
I've broken a golden rule with myself as I vowed never to buy a Blu-ray at its full price if I'd already owned the film on a multitude of different formats (VHS , Laserdisc , DVD) , but some films are just worth paying that extra for and I honestly couldn't wait for the price to drop as this is one of my all time favourite films.
Its going to be hard not to quote...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by Julian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital + Ultraviolet Scam
Jaws Ultra Violet and Digital Copy does not work in Ireland. Ultra Violet seems to be limited to USA and UK alone. In my opinion this is a very unfair and callous Marketing ploy - clearly the studios are only too aware of the amount of Apple products being sold and so stick a label on the front of their Blu Rays stating this can go straight to your device but neglects to...
Published on 10 Sept. 2012 by sherman31


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in transfers !, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've broken a golden rule with myself as I vowed never to buy a Blu-ray at its full price if I'd already owned the film on a multitude of different formats (VHS , Laserdisc , DVD) , but some films are just worth paying that extra for and I honestly couldn't wait for the price to drop as this is one of my all time favourite films.
Its going to be hard not to quote lines from the film or make any corny puns writing this review , so will do my best not too.

After the disappointing picture quality of Spielberg's Jurassic Park box set on Blu-ray , I was more than a little wary of this transfer , but I'm pleased to say that all is excellent with Jaws.
The 7.1 remastering is just incredible through my AV receiver! It was like being sat in the middle of a 94 piece orchestra and has now topped the best sound on any of my Blu-rays.
The scene where the shark attacks the guy in the estuary is a good example of a subtle change in sound. There's a nice deep bass thud through the subwoofer when he is pulled underwater from his upturned boat , and although its a tiny tweak to the sound , it really makes all the difference and now that scene appears more violent than it already was.
The night time attack on the Orca has a similar effect of making a scene more potent , with more bass thudding punch to the sound coming from every direction around your front room when the shark repeatedly hits the boat , and by NO means is the new sound overpowering to these scenes , its just the right touch.

The picture restoration is just fantastic , although I nearly spat my drink out at one point ! Not through being made to jump at a scene but at one stage , I thought Mr Lucas had broken into the editing lounge with his trusty laptop and tweaked about with Spielberg's masterpiece... Thankfully , I wasn't in for a world of hurt , pain and misery , and when I compared the DVD to this Blu-ray , it was more down to the new colour restoration and new clarity that I was unused to with this film. The scene in question is with the two shooting stars , which now appear to have more of a reddish hue making them look more vibrant , and not down to Mr Lucas's destroy, destroy , destroy mentality... PHEW !

Some excellent documentaries with this Blu-ray which is around 4 hours worth , some of which have been transferred straight from the Laserdisc and DVD with a couple of new ones. Notably , The Shark is Still Working documentary , which is a brilliant addition to the extras , but all the features are worth watching again and again.
It just doesn't matter how many times I see the deleted scene of Quint in the music shop , it cracks me up every time and its a shame that actually got cut from the film.
There's also a short documentary on the restoration process , which Mr Lucas might find helpful as to what is appropriate and WHAT ISN'T ! Can't help but think that Spielberg is sending a subtle message to Mr Lucas in one of his interviews by saying that 'less is more' and if he had the technology of CGI back when he was filming Jaws , it wouldn't be as good !

I do know some people who spend vast sums of money on the latest TV to ensure they're getting the best quality picture , but then still watch a film with the sound through their TV speakers , with the attitude of "so long as I can hear it , it doesn't matter" and just don't realise what a dramatic impact or difference a good sound setup can do to any film and can cost as little as £50 for a basic system , and really are only getting half of the whole Blu-ray experience without a good home cinema system.
For me , and this is a personal preference , sound is the most important element that I look for when upgrading a film to Blu-ray , picture quality a very close second and the amount of extras comes third.

This Blu-ray ticks all the right boxes and more and with the new picture and sound it really feels like your watching this film for the very first time , which I know sounds a little cliché , but just can't recommend this Blu-ray highly enough.
All in all I'm ecstatic with this upgrade and hope that the Blu-ray box set of Indiana Jones due out next month , is as good in quality as this JAWSome film... Sorry , couldn't resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pounding and hollering...., 13 Feb. 2014
Amity Island, a small community whose main business is its beaches.

When Sheriff Martin Brody discovers the remains of a shark attack victim, his first inclination is to close the beaches to swimmers.

This doesn't sit well with the Mayor and several of the local businessmen. Brody backs down to his regret as that weekend a young boy is killed by the predator.

The boy's mother puts out a bounty on the shark and Amity is soon swamped with amateur hunters and fisherman hoping to cash in on the reward.

A local fisherman with much experience hunting sharks, Quint, offers to hunt down the creature for a hefty fee. Soon Quint, Brody and Matt Hooper from the Oceanographic Institute are at sea hunting the Great White shark....

This is the film we have to thank for blockbusters like ID4, Jurassic Park, and Robin Hood: POT. It's also responsible in some way for Batman and Robin, Battlefield Earth.

It's basically the movie that started the summer blockbuster, and it's so easy to see why. Spielberg has crafted easily his most entertaining movie, with real shocks, laughs and some of the most emotional scenes in a big movie like this.

From the USS Indianapolis speech, to the opening scene, to the scene with Brody and his son, to the brilliant use of the camera in that scene, to the immortal lines 'gonna need a bigger boat' and 'smile you sonofa .....' there is something here that everyone loves.

And seeing it on Blu Ray just shows how terrifying the film really is compared to DVD.

In some instances the film can be seen as an insight into consumerism, and the fact that traditional celebrations are vanishing. The shark could be a metaphor for the changes in economy, taking away part of the July 4th celebrations of Amity, encouraging regulars to go elsewhere in future, scuppering local business.

But it's still a fun movie, with the film being infinitely better once it's the three men on the boat, being stalked by Bruce.

An excellent film by all accounts, wonderful performances, and the film that you always think about when you go for a swim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Going To Need A Bigger Boat, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blu Ray Info.
Running time 120 minutes approx, Region B, Extras:The shark is still working a exclusive Blu ray documentary, Making of Jaws a two hour Documentary featuring director Steven Spielberg & member's of the cast & crew, Deleted scenes, Trailer & more...

Trivia.
1)"Your going to need a bigger boat" wasn't scripted by Carl Gottlieb but improvised by actor Roy Scheider.
2)Robert Shaw couldn't stand Richard Dreyfuss & the pair didn't get on throughout production which creating great tenison between there character's Quint & Hooper.
3)Steven Speilberg named the shark "Bruce" after his lawyer.
4)Lee Marvin was Spielberg's first choice for Quint but Marvin told Speilberg he'd rather go fishing & declined.
5)Charlton Heston was fuming he was turned down for the role of Quint & made disparaging remarks against Spielberg vowing never to work with him.
6)A sequence shot but never made the final cut as director Steven Speilberg deemed it far to gruesome the sequence would've shown a second attack by the shark as it comes for Brodys son Michael who is swimming in the "shallow area" seeing the shark Michael is frozen with terror as the shark approaches him, the man who originally gets eaten notices the shark & races to push the Michael out the sharks way just in time & then the scene would've cut to the man being bitten by the shark showing his bloody upper body being bitten in the sharks mouth before being pulled underwater, This sequence can be seen in the making of Jaws documentary but isn't included in any of the deleted scenes.
7)Author Peter Benchley was thrown off set due to objecting to the movie's climax.
8)Production overan vy 6 month's due to many technical problems with the mechanical shark.
9)Robert Mitchum also turned down the role of Quint.
10)Airwolf star Jan Michael Vincent was considered for the role of Hooper.

Review.
When a gigantic great white shark terrorises the summer holiday town of Amity Island, Police chief Martin Brody attempts to close the beaches but is overruled by the Mayor as summertime is there most profitable time for attracting tourists.

A young boy is killed prompting Brody to enlist the services of Marine Biologist Matt Hooper who's autopsy report on the sharks first victim Chrissy, Hooper concludes it is in fact a shark attack not the alleged boating accident that it was claimed to have been.

Although a shark is eventually caught by fishermen it's not the shark Hooper suspects of killing the two victim's due to the sharks bite radius & after another tense encounter with the shark attacking holiday maker's in the sea & with a near fatal attack on his son Michael provokes Chief Brody into taking drastic action to hunt down the shark.

Enlisting the help of grizzled fisherman Quint & aided by Marine biologist Hooper the trio set out to sea on Quints boat the Orca in an attempt to hunt down & kill the shark.

Timelord Thoughts.

I seen this film when i was 6 year's old on it's ITV premiere in 1981 & it scared the crap out of me so much that I never went into the sea on our summer holidays at the seaside ever again.

This is one of Steven Spielbergs classic movie's as the iconic director directs a film Hitchcock would be proud of as Spielberg knows when & how to create great drama & terrify the audience.

The cast are excellent with the superb Roy Schieder as family man Martin Brody who's recently moved with his family to Amity Island & is trying to fit in & do the right thing by the townsfolk.

Quint is a mad eccentric fisherman bordering on madness is played brilliantly by Robert Shaw, Finally the young marine biologist Hooper is wonderfully acted by Richard Dreyfuss who's state of the art gadgets may help the trio kill the shark.

The shark effects have dated slightly but who cares as Director Steven Spielberg wrenches every bit of tension out of the spectacular shark attack sequences.

The Blu ray has been give a huge upgrade in both picture & sound quality which looks & sounds better than ever & is a vast improvement on the dvd version & is a highly recommended Blu ray purchase.

This is an all time classic & the first summer blockbuster movie & one of my all time favourite movie's.

So are you afraid to go back into the water?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Here's to swimmin' with bow-legged women!", 3 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
Dum dum. Dum dum dum. Dum dum, dum dum, dum dum, dum dum. What else springs to mind but the sound of that foreboding cello when one talks of Jaws.
Spielberg's classic movie finally comes to DVD. The plot, just in case you didn't know, is simple. Three men, one working class, one middle class, and one upper class all go fishing! Sounds simple enough, in fact it sounds a bit boring, but the end result is far from the truth. Jaws is an all-time classic film.
The casting choice was superb, utilising extremely credible actors to portray the main roles of Chief Brody, Matt Hooper and Quint from Peter Benchley's book. The character development is fantastic, drawing the viewer ever closer to each of the three protagonists respectively.
The attention to detail too that Spielberg places in his movie is second to none. If an example is needed just look to the human element that Spielberg focuses on. One need only look to the scene with brody and his youngest son at the dinner table, or Quint relaying his story of the USS Indianapolis, and one will quickly see just how Spielberg uses these fine actors to good effect.
The film is a true masterpiece in every sense of the word. The fact that the "monster" in this thrilling epic is not seen for a considerable amount of time only adds to reinforce it's menacing effect and impact upon the audience. Indeed, the reality that the shark looks a tad dated by today's standards matters about as much now as it did then. You simply won't care. If the end doesn't have you cheering, then nothing will.
Classic imagery, outstanding music, memorable characters, unforgettable dialogue (We're gonna need a bigger boat!), and a great big mechanical rubber fish; this coupled with the added features and improved sound and picture quality that can be expected from DVD makes this a must for any serious film buff's home cinema collection. Buy it - it bites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're going to need a bigger boat, 31 July 2000
By 
Mr. S. Carlin "arca20" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am of the firm opinion that Spielberg has only ever made three truly great films - Jaws being one of them. It may not sound much, the tale of a beach island community that is threatened by a giant shark but such is the storytelling and direction it quickly becomes more than just some monster flick.
Excellent performances from the three leads (Scheider, Shaw and Dreyfuss) guide us from a powerful beginning through to an adrenalin rush climax. Its not surprising to note that Spielberg's favourite scene from the film is not an effects moment nor an adrenalin rush sequence but a character scene as Quint (Shaw) talks about the USS Indianapolis incident. This scene, among others elevates the film to a height seldom equalled in other films.
As a previous reviewer remarked - ignore the sequels, don't even touch them. Watch this one.
The transfer is excellent with only one, insignificant flaw apparent at the start (blink and you'll miss it). The soundtrack is excellent and clear allowing the viewer to enjoy John Williams' memorable score.
The extra features are interesting, the documentary shows how Jaws nearly didn't make it and how so much of the pwer of the film was down to simple eleventh hour necessity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg Genius, 17 April 2007
This review is from: Jaws [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Jaws was very popular when released, it was the highest grossing film of 1975. It spawned three sequels, which were all inferior. In fact, no film about Sharks or any killer fish has been able to come close to the level of Jaws.

The genius in Jaws is its ability to build suspense. The Shark is never really shown till near the end of the film. When ever the Shark is approaching its victims, we get the Sharks point of view, instead of seeing the Shark. These shots combined with John Williams very effective score, make the scenes when the Shark is about to devour his victims much more effective.

Every actor does a nice job with their performances. Roy Scheider brings Martin to life. Martin is not a showy character but Scheider is able to make us like him. Richard Dreyfuss exhibits energy in his performance as Matt Hooper. Robert Shaw is very effective as Quint, that Indiannapolis speech is still very chilling to me. Lorraine Gary and Murray Hamilton also give solid support.

People always talk about how fake the Shark looks. I think its passable but today it would definitely be done by CGI. However, the Shark is not seen that much in the film so its not that big of a deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE film with forgettable special features, 12 Mar. 2003
By 
P. A. Curran "paul" (Tameside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nothing more needs to be said about Jaws. One of the best cast films of all time, which has its own place in the sub-conscious terror-zone of anyone who has seen it. After years of t.v. showings and worn down VHS copies, it will amaze you just how crisp and rich the print is on the DVD copy, and it is for this alone that it is a must have.
It must be difficult to dig up extras after more than two decades, and the completely pointless outtakes are a testament to this, though I feel that one or two of the deleted scenes add some interest, particularly the brilliantly shot hunt of the Tiger Shark. I always knew there was more footage of Quint's mate's dog somewhere (savagely cut as it comes into shot after the blackboard-scraping scene). Frank Silva eating his breakfast on the dock as Ben Gardner passes further comment on amateur fishermen is also interesting to minor-character hunters.
My DVD box lists features not on the disc, which is a little strange, and some kind of commentary could have been included. For this the release loses a star, but as others have said, this is a disc bought for the movie alone, and if that is your prize, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the ultimate fan, 13 Sept. 2005
This is the set for the ultimate collector. This limited edition set comes in a black box. Don't worry, the box will
fit on your DVD shelf, it is about the same height as a standard
box, and about as wide as two normal DVD boxes put together.
Even if you got the 25th Anniversary edition, splashing out on this one is definitely worth it. As with the normal version you get the two DVDs. Disk one contains the movie in 2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen with DTS 5.1 Surround sound. The picture quality is vey good, although there are a few 'white spots' here and there.
The second disk contains a 1 hour 50 min documentary, containing everything from Universal winning the rights to the novel, through production and the mechanical shark not working, all the way to the release of the film. Since the film is quite old, there is not much behind the scenes footages. This documentary is composed mainly of people just talking.
Other features include; a Spielberg interview on set from 1974, some shark facts, 13 deleted scenes, outtakes, storyboard and image gallery.
This collector's edition also includes a soundtrack C.D., a limited edition senitape, 8 lobby cards, 6 publicity stills and a sketch book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it right, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
I am almost lost for words. The picture quality and sound quality is immense, 10/10. They have properly remastered this film from the original cells and not done a cheap dvd upscale. There isn't a single bit of grain or noise to be seen in the picture.

The other good thing is that you get a digital copy for use with Windows and iTunes along with the worthless ultraviolet copy. Had it just been the ultraviolet copy, I wouldn't have bought this as I have had a lot of problems with Ultraviolet by way of getting the movies in the first instance and then having to use Flixster app to watch the films. I avoid all ultraviolet blu ray editions, no digital copy for iTunes, no purchase of blu ray.

I have had no issues with the digital copy in Scotland, I have seen some reviews with issue in other countries. The file size of the digital copy via iTunes is 2.05gb so it will take a while to download on standard 8mb DSL.

All in all, no matter how many times you have seen this film, you haven't seen it till you watch the blu ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We're gonna need a bigger boat!", 17 Feb. 2004
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What a cinematic masterpiece! I have watched this movie so many times that I have lost count. I remember watching it as a small child and consequently having nightmares! Like reviewers before me, I too had trouble going in the sea and getting in the bath or swimming pool without hearing THAT music or having to check and make sure there were no sharks around!!!
My favourite scene is the beginning, when the girl goes skinny dipping at the beach party. That to me is one of the scariest parts of the movie. The actress played it so well that you can actually believe she's being eaten. Another scene I'd like to mention,(because of my childhood nightmares!), is the head popping out of the boat!!! I have yet to meet anyone who wasn't scared when that happened!
The cast are fantastic and couldn't be played better by anyone else in my opinion. They work so well together and Quint's songs are a treasure.
I suggest you buy this movie as I have. I play it often and still watch the movie whenever it comes on the T.V.!!!
Well done Mr Speilberg!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaws [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Jaws [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Steven Spielberg (Blu-ray - 2012)
£14.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews