Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I really really didn't want to like this book, I hate cheating. In. Any. Circumstance. Full. Stop. But instead I really, really loved this book, it is totally amazing and I had to read it in one sitting finishing up at 4.20 this morning.

Another reviewer referred to a train wreck, my God it sure was a train wreck. I was in such a rush to find out what...
Published on 28 Nov. 2012 by BevR

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chick flick kinda book
The book was mostly well written and easy to read. The story was about a young woman called Emmy she came for a rich family, who started a sort of relationship with her pig of a boss. He was already in relationship that he was unable or wanted to give up and there you get your love triangle. To make matters even more complicated she also starts dating another colleague...
Published on 27 April 2013 by Ladyjayneg


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
I really really didn't want to like this book, I hate cheating. In. Any. Circumstance. Full. Stop. But instead I really, really loved this book, it is totally amazing and I had to read it in one sitting finishing up at 4.20 this morning.

Another reviewer referred to a train wreck, my God it sure was a train wreck. I was in such a rush to find out what happened next and why I had to go back and re-read segments I had skimmed! I have not done this in a long time - speaks volumes for how truly fantastic this book is.

I laughed, cried and even had damn palpitations at times. I have had this book on my mind for days, the last time this happened was when I read Undeniable.

So, if I could give more than 5 stars I would. And I would quite happily have paid a lot more than the 77p I did. What an exceptional bargain, and a gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accidentally on purpose, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
Loved this story!!
It reminded me a bit of taking chances- Molly Mcadams, as the story is very similar due to loving two men and something happening after finding the main character is pregnant which changes everything and in the end, the people which should be together, do make up in the end
I'm giving it like 4·8 stars as it is similar to why I gave taking chances four stars, the whole abuse thing I couldn't believe he did it to be honest but would explain his moods but the thing I didn't like is the fact that it turned to abuse is why she finally left to be with who she should be with?
Altogether it is a brilliant book and really had me hooked from the start to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wowsers, totally wasn't expecting such a good read, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
An avid reader. - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
Oh my I can't believe how quick I just devoured this book. I so wasn't expecting such a good read!

I got a little concerned at the start as the relationship got underway really quickly less than 20% of the way in and undying love was conveyed and I thought OK where could this book possibly go from here and keep me entertained right to the end. Boy was I stupid being concerned by that! I was utterly glued to the pages as the story unfolded it was so up and down and all over the place. So many will she dump him? Will she leave him? Can she choose between the two? Is this who she is going to end up with? How could he do that? So many tidbits to keep the reader occupied.

As to how the characters were portrayed well 'damn good' is all I can say. Each were strong including the supporting characters. This story could have gone in so many different directions but I can honestly say L.D. Davis took it in the most perfect direction and conclusion.

Everything from her relationship with her mum to her choices were so well written, I found some parts extremely emotional, some parts as 'oh my god!' Some parts as 'awwww'.

I am so glad I read this book, I am looking forward to reading other books by L.D. Davis if they are all on the level of her writing in this book then I know they are gonna rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and powerful from start to finish, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. F. Richardson "FKR" (Midlands- UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
WOW, the title and professional book review do not give this book the credit it deserves. This is a very powerful story which highlights some very important subjects. Even though it is a lengthy book nothing about this read is rushed or boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gut wrenching!..., 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
Oftentimes after reading a good book, I would hold off reading another one for a few days, somehow wanting to savor that kind of euphoric happy feeling...gushing and daydreaming about the hero/heroin, wanting to keep in mind the joy of reading it and feeling inspired, :)

Not this one, in an attempt to not be so emotionally charged that might just keep me up all night, I immediately read a lighthearted and funny one right away (even when it was already two in the morning) just to completely eradicate off my mind the disheartening effect it left me. Please don't misconstrue my meaning, this book is one of the best story I have read and very well written, all characters have full dimension and their stories engrossing. And although I already know the synopsis of the story and have read some of the well written reviews, still, it left me feeling hollow...sad maybe? can't quite define it...
Emmy, the one telling the story, unfortunately grew up not knowing that special bond and the natural love between a Mother and a daughter, not even any attachment and closeness to any of her siblings...she was constantly belittled and berated by her Mother that left her angry, detached, so weak she couldn't bring herself to recognize she's heading to self destruction... so insecure and so depraved of love she desperately holds on to both men...she continuously undermine her own strength, refuses to acknowledge her chance of happiness if only she chooses "The One" who offers her love, stability...instead she hangs on to chaos and it seems like she thrives on insecurity, in not knowing what's to come...this is such an emotionally charged and gut wrenching roller coaster ride...but oh, what a ride!

I'm lost for words on the writers talent, her ability to hold off in sharing with the readers the most explosive part of the story till almost the very end and still deliver that blow...like a kick in the gut, was just brilliant!!!...and to find out this was her first book, I'm blown away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD Book and Great characters, 2 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
Well I don't really know where to start with this.. I finished this book last night and took some time to process it before writing this review, it was the first thing I thought about. 
This book started out quite fun and the Emmy is a tough strong independent woman who made me proud of her whiskey and tequila drinking skills and wickedly fast wit and one liners!! Then add a hot boss who is a complete dick in the office but swoon worthy outside and a colleague that all the girls would like to snag and sex with both and you have a complicated love triangle.  This book is based on cheating and I did struggle with the fact that it doesn't end when love gets involved but my oh my did this teach you the ramifications of making bad choices!!  I have always been one to root a little for the bad boy (can't help it, Kellan Kyle and Jake Wethers being an example) but I have to say for me that all changed with this book, though that may not be the case for everyone I loved Luke and honestly at points just wanted yell at Emmy to take a look at herself or see the bigger picture.
Anyway this book does end on a hea one way or another and that was great but it still left me a little hungover with all that happened and a little mind bruised about how life can go with a few wrong choices and the impact that can have on us as human beings, and that makes it a great book that deserves 5/5 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally Heart-Wrenching, 23 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
After reading some of the US reviews I honestly didn't think I was going to like this book, and I almost didn`t read it at all, but I'm glad that I did. It was a very emotional read with twists and turns that kept you guessing.

This book is about cheating, addiction, mental and physical abuse and living with the consequences of your actions. It was one of the most emotionally heart-wrenching romances I've read in quite some time. The situations Emmy put herself in ultimately breaks her and she has to find herself again.

I appreciated the human aspect of the story and how this abusive relationship was told without "fluff", about a STRONG, wealthy woman. It reinforces that no one is immune to this type of abuse and whether it is because of embarrassment, low self esteem or any other reason, getting out and leaving this type of abuse isn't as easy as some people think. I wanted to slap some sense into Emmy, but isn't that the reaction we always have when we hear a story like this, why didn't she just leave? It was hard for me to comprehend but it's also difficult to understand unless you have been there yourself.

I'm glad this story ended the way it did. Everyone deserves a second chance and if you have the love of a good man, anything is possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briliantly written, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
The main female character has two boyfriends, one of them already has a girlfriend. That information, from other reviews, almost stopped me from buying this one as I expected to find it uncomfortable reading matter and didn't expect to like her character.

However I really enjoyed the book - it is very well written, from how she gets hooked into seeing both men at once, to their characters. It is difficult for a long time as to which she should choose as both men seem good for her - but not everything is revealed at once, making it a real page-turner.

This book had its highs and lows and you really felt for the main characters. I loved the ending, when we finally got there! I don't want to say too much and spoil it but I would say this was a fantastic purchase especially for the price. I did go on to buy the second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chick flick kinda book, 27 April 2013
By 
Ladyjayneg (Burton upon Trent, staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
The book was mostly well written and easy to read. The story was about a young woman called Emmy she came for a rich family, who started a sort of relationship with her pig of a boss. He was already in relationship that he was unable or wanted to give up and there you get your love triangle. To make matters even more complicated she also starts dating another colleague ! The story includes some mummy porn but nothing to descriptive or alarming. She is unable to choose between the the two men and then the story for me looses it a little as you sort of find out what happened in the middle of the story at the end of the book. Perhaps if that part of the story was told then I could understand why her emotions were like they were. I enjoyed it, it didnt take me long to finish off but I was thankful there was no follow up to purchase off amazon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely and sexy book, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accidentally on Purpose (Kindle Edition)
This was actually a very good book. I liked the fact that I couldn't predict what was going to happen. This book had waves of excitement, sexiness, happiness, real low sadness.

I would definitely recommend this book and read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Accidentally on Purpose
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews