Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooooooo Interesting
This was sooooooooooooo interesting !!! It's subtitled "The Haunting True Story of a Unique Lady Mortician". Violet grew up here and also married an Englishman and then he and his brother decided to emigrate to Canada-the middle of nowhere in Manitoba. Violet ended up there widowed and alone with 5 kids and another on the way, sadly, so she decided to take over her...
Published 24 months ago by Lynda Kelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book review
This book is OK as far as it goes, but noway does it live up to what is promised in the sample, and there is very little of what it meant to be a female undertaker in Canada at that time, far more about social circumstances. An interesting read with a wholly misleading title.
Published 16 months ago by L. J. McQuillin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooooooo Interesting, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Lynda Kelly "Lynda" (Shipton Bellinger, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
This was sooooooooooooo interesting !!! It's subtitled "The Haunting True Story of a Unique Lady Mortician". Violet grew up here and also married an Englishman and then he and his brother decided to emigrate to Canada-the middle of nowhere in Manitoba. Violet ended up there widowed and alone with 5 kids and another on the way, sadly, so she decided to take over her husband's business herself.
How she managed in those awful winters out there with no heat or running water and trying to run a funeral directors I'll never know. This was in the early 1900's !!
Violet was a fascinating lady and had a terrific sense of humour and had a lot of tales to tell, both funny and sad. One of her daughters helped compile this book and she sadly died in April aged 95 !! Her granddaughter wrote it.
I'd really recommend it as a really interesting read. I did it in a day easily.....couldn't put it down !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars so mislead, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
this book is so misleading not at all what it discribes! speed read through the fist half to see if it got better but eventually gave up on it...........sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
This book is OK as far as it goes, but noway does it live up to what is promised in the sample, and there is very little of what it meant to be a female undertaker in Canada at that time, far more about social circumstances. An interesting read with a wholly misleading title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Facinating read, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this tale of a very brave and resourceful woman. It was slightly personal as some of her early life was spent in the area where she grew up and there are places mentioned that I know about. Above all you have to admire her tanicity and determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Lady London, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
I am sure this is a great story but much too hard to read for me at the moment, very harsh and cruel, and gory. Didn't do more than a few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the story of a pioneering woman, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't sure, when I first started this book, if I'd bother to finish it (life is too short to struggle through books that don't interest me) but it gradually captured my interest. It is about a society lady who was fond of the 'social round' and dancing but who married a man who was ambitious and wanted to emigrate to Canada in the early years of the last century.
So Violet, her husband Daniel, their 2 small boys and her brother in law set off for Canada where they were able to purchase a large parcel of land for £10. At first they farmed the land but later moved to La Pas (changed to The Pas) where Daniel and his brother set up a company transporting various commodities (after working as 'Honey Men' -emptying outdoor toilets for some time) and then did a course in embalming and started the only undertakers business in that part of Canada.
Violet produced more children (5 lived, in all) but first Daniel then later Lawerence died, leaving Violet alone with her children. At first it seemed she would go under once the money left to her had run out, but she pulled herself together and eventually became the first woman undertaker in Canada. She also continued to run the transport company and her home, with the help of faithful friends and employees.
The story takes us through the many trials and tribulations suffered by Violet and her children. There are chapters by her youngest daughter, Lorrie (who died at the age of 94 quite recently)that add to the interest of the book and cast a light on Violet as a mother.
Violet only visited England once more in her lifetime and finally died in Canada, cared for by her youngest daughter.
The story is well told and give a wonderful picture of family life and the struggles of women pioneers who had to do the work of men to survive.
I'm glad I persevered past the slow start and would recommend it to anyone interested in the pioneers in Canada last century and the developement and spread of Canada, as well as the social mores of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite an undertaking, 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
Great read what an amazing woman . It takes courage and strength to come out at the top and I don't mean in monstrous terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quite an undertaking., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
i really enjoyed this book, it was sad, happy times and lots of hard work but i did admire this woman, for what she did and went through, and how hard it must have been for her children , but she worked hard to give them the best she could,she took over the funeral business after her husband died and did all sorts of things not many women in those days would have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars give it a try!, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a great "historical story" fan, but this kept me hooked right from the start. The book reads like a novel, the historical bits are incidental and add to rather than detract from the story.
Violet's strength of character really shines through. Life was tough for her but her positive attitude really shows, without any whining or moaning.
Probably wouldn't read it a second time, but will keep it on my Kindle, and would definitely recommend giving it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as above, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite an Undertaking: Violet Guymer's Story - True Tales from the Mortuary (Kindle Edition)
have already done this????????????!!!! klrgjrtf nrgjkt rgtvjlj t,gjnrt glktgkj jgnvkjtrn jrgvktrnv lrktgv rt,nv rthkhrtv krthgklthf jrtg 5kgltirhgv jvlth k5thgkt htbg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews