Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Effort - but even Mud needs some polish
It's a solid 7 out of 10 for any motocross fan.
If you're looking for the Forza/Colin McRae Rally/Dirt of the motocross/motorbike games sadly this is not it. If you're looking to be amazed by unrealistic racing environments, impossible stunts and the Burnout "rush" feeling of the motocross/motorbike games, sadly again, this is not it.

What Mud is however...
Published on 6 Jun. 2012 by H. Spencer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars MUD - Fim Motocross
I read a review of this that told me this was mostly a Freestyle Motocross game so I was expecting to be able to ride around big arenas with loads of obstacles and ramps that I could do tricks off. Sadly it turns out to be mostly a racing game which are not my biggest favourites. The only racing games I've ever enjoyed playing are Carmageddon, BloodDrive and Demolition...
Published 2 months ago by Miss TFF


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Effort - but even Mud needs some polish, 6 Jun. 2012
By 
H. Spencer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's a solid 7 out of 10 for any motocross fan.
If you're looking for the Forza/Colin McRae Rally/Dirt of the motocross/motorbike games sadly this is not it. If you're looking to be amazed by unrealistic racing environments, impossible stunts and the Burnout "rush" feeling of the motocross/motorbike games, sadly again, this is not it.

What Mud is however is an official FIM Motocross game representing tracks and riders from around the world. If you enjoy or even ride motocross yourself you will find some enjoyment in this, however it is no simulation. From the rush for the holeshot at the start, the mad panic in to the first corner and the pitched feeling of the bike being thrown between ruts to the satisfying whips, perfect landings, the tight turns and sprawling jumps Mud does offer some of the key elements of motocross riding.

Perfecting jumps with a well timed scrub will reward you with a speed boost during play, and somehow the rider manages not only to stash 3 energy drinks upon his person, but also open them while riding and have a crafty drink for a bit of a boost as well. Not sure where Black Bean saw this when they were doing their research, but it's up to the player when/if they use the drinks.

Motocross by it's very nature is not a shiny sport. It may start colourful, but it's not long before the track, riders and bikes are covered in, well... mud. This makes it difficult for a developer to deliver an amazing visual experience because if they aim for realism, they deliver hundreds of shades of brown. Visually Mud delivers what it needs to. Lots of varied tracks (some more muddy than others) which undulate around the terrain as they should. Sound wise, for anyone not familiar with motocross imagine a hundred angry bee's trapped in a tin can, and you're not far off. Black Bean say they have recorded the engine sounds of each bike, and to be fair they've delivered it well. With surround you can even hear approaching riders on your sides.

When you're arms are tired from racing you can turn your skills to the trick section which plays out like a Tony Hawk style chill-out trick section, with the player earning money to unlock new and more difficult tricks.

Mud has a lot to deliver. Anyone who does not ride and is expecting Forza/Burnout/Dirt will be disappointed. Any gaming riders out there will find the experience sterile and almost frustrating. As tracks blend in to each other, and the game removes you once again from the air as it thinks you would not have made that jump which you will swear you could have made Mud could soon become a "wish I'd rented" title of your collection.
With enough love, the online play could be it's saviour (split screen would have been nice Black Bean!), but with so many mediocre reviews I fear there will soon not be enough players to hold regular matches.

Mud boasts 84 riders, 32 teams over 16 nations and then some. Will full FIM backing I would have gladly sacrificed some of this for a first person mode, split screen, some more playability and some testing by a testing team that actually ride. Not testing by motocross riders who know little about video games, and not testing by testers who think just because their car has 4 wheels it must handle similar to a Veyron, but who have never actually thrown their leg over a motorbike.

If you're looking for something to play while you wait for the parts to arrive for your engine rebuild and you yearn for that familiar 2-stroke ting-ting-ting, then Mud is worth adding to your collection. It is no better or worse than the other motorbike games on the consoles (MX Vs ATV, MotoGP, SBK etc.), but it will never set the charts on fire.

Until Turn 10 add Ducati, Yamaha, Honda, Suzuki, KTM, Aprilia, Kawasaki and even Harley Davidson to their formidable line-up on Forza then the game-playing riders have to make do with mediocre games which fill the time but never get the development time or funding they deserve.

Prepare to dodge the squids and chase the rooster tails online!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this for our grandchildren and the whole family think its brill, including the adults who play on it most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars MUD - Fim Motocross, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I read a review of this that told me this was mostly a Freestyle Motocross game so I was expecting to be able to ride around big arenas with loads of obstacles and ramps that I could do tricks off. Sadly it turns out to be mostly a racing game which are not my biggest favourites. The only racing games I've ever enjoyed playing are Carmageddon, BloodDrive and Demolition Derby. The graphics are ok and the gameplay is pretty good and I do play it just to while away time now and then. If you like racing games then you will probably enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great packaging and service to get the item to me ..., 2 July 2014
By 
brandon baker (aldershot, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
great packaging and service to get the item to me asap very happy about this products so I can be sure to recommend to all my friends A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, 27 Jun. 2014
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good game, no manual transmission lets it down for me, as any driving/racing game does, but it's good fun and worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than expectation, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game takes me back to my youth and emphasizes that the older i get the better i was, fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The mud review, 30 Oct. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic, sat in front of a 60" screen playing on MUD us like being sat on a real bike, the special effects are just spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mud Fim, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A fantastic game very enjoyable.The item arrived early and arrived in an excellent.The packaging for this product was appropriate aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best To Avoid, 5 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not bad, pretty dump compared to Mx vs Atv Reflex. to be fair i'd avoid this one. stick to the other mx games. good for an hour or so. no controller vibration amongst other annoying bugs. borrow or rent. dont buy mud! buy this>>>MX vs ATV: Reflex (Xbox 360)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulos, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
my boys realy enjoy the game, very quick deivery too, very great for game as a presant cheers x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MUD - FIM Motocross World Championship (Xbox 360)
£17.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews