Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy, but no fairytale
There may be a 'fan factor' at work here, as I've spent some time immersed in George Martin's Westeros prior to buying this game... so my review may not be completely impartial.

True, as others have commented; the graphics are not cutting edge. They are adequate though, and the environment created in this game actually feels quite true to the books / film. The...
Published 17 months ago by D. Hall

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful
Look at all the other 1 star reviews - I wish I had! The game is situated in Westeros and has a few similarities in the story line which affect the 2 featured characters in the game but other than that there is little else it has in common with the books/ TV series of the same name.

It is basically a monologue of cheesy cut scenes with woeful acting (the lead...
Published 14 months ago by D. Henderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy, but no fairytale, 21 Jan 2013
By 
D. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There may be a 'fan factor' at work here, as I've spent some time immersed in George Martin's Westeros prior to buying this game... so my review may not be completely impartial.

True, as others have commented; the graphics are not cutting edge. They are adequate though, and the environment created in this game actually feels quite true to the books / film. The 'sets' in some places are actually quite jaw-dropping (Kings Landing).

The story is (for an RPG) quite intricate, and ties in quite well with the 'feel' of the books, as well as the storyline in 'Game of Thrones'. The cameo of the author was amusing too.

Though it has also come in for some criticism, I quite liked the battle system; blending as it does an element of real-time with an element of turn-based. Queuing up complimentary moves between your player characters (and the warg!) to maximise your edge in battle is quite rewarding.

I've done all four endings now, and not even a whiff of Disney. Very dark indeed, and better for it.

In summary, I'll give this four stars. If I hadn't just played LA Noir and Red Dead Redemption it would get five. Finishing it has left me a little bereft, as good games should.

Shame they couldn't resolve one of the four endings to leave an 'open-world' game, like the above mentioned titles... perhaps blending in an element of 'Risk', so to speak - you you could participate in the chaos after Robert Baratheon's denouement, call the banners etc... Maybe I just want the moon on a stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good game, 10 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok so this game has had some good reviews and very bad reviews. It could have been better but over all its not a bad game. First of all its not Skyrim, dragon age, balders gate or any of them its more a hibrid of lets say dragon age as far as combat and world map is concerned. risen where the graphics and voice acting are concerned.

If you are expecting a game of player customization this game does not have it, unless you count being able to choose what you wear or which weapons you use. It does take a little while to get used to but most games do, at first i thought "have i made a mistake buying this game" but i didnt make a mistake after an hour of playing I was hooked.

The story follows 2 people, you will do a chapter as 1 then the next as the other then switch over again from what iv seen so far, i wont go anymore into it for spoilers, you will meet and interact with people from the series and books. The combat starts out slow but as you level up you become faster as do your enemies. My advice is save often. The choices you make through the game affect things later on, much like dragon age and in some ways Risen, but again this is a game of its own.

Over all this is a good game, if you are a fan of the series or books then buy it, you will love it, if not then again buy it but my advice is watch the series so you know what people in the game are talking about. Give it time i cant stress that enough. If you are a Skyrim fan boy then remember not every game is skyrim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, 16 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is slow to start off with what with the 20 min uncutable cutscene but once you get passed chapter one it gets into the story recommended for any fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful, 16 April 2013
By 
D. Henderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Look at all the other 1 star reviews - I wish I had! The game is situated in Westeros and has a few similarities in the story line which affect the 2 featured characters in the game but other than that there is little else it has in common with the books/ TV series of the same name.

It is basically a monologue of cheesy cut scenes with woeful acting (the lead characters speak in a Hollywood stereotypical hero monotone - imagine Schwarzenegger meets Stallone) interlinked with linear gameplay, occasionally requesting some basic choice selections from the player that I doubt very much affect the outcome. The fighting is farcical.. You hit me then I'll hit you back, now it's your turn again, repeat ad infinitum until somebody dies... Of boredom presumably. I tried not selecting any "queued" combat moves and just let the character get on with it himself - and I really struggled to tell the difference. I can't imagine a method of making the player feel more superfluous to the actions of the character and more removed from the actual gameplay than this one does.

There seems to have been an awful lot of effort spent in re-writing another (worse) version of Game of thrones, with a huge amount - too much in fact - of dreary, cheesy dialogue and not enough time spent on the "game' itself.

The graphics are ok for 7 years ago (the length of time this game has been worked upon, apparently) but the animation is woeful (an uncanny similarity to Thunderbirds puppets in animation format), the storyline is cheesy, monotonous and as dull as a dishwater and the less said about the gameplay the better.Give it a miss. Even if you are a Game of thrones fan... move along, there is nothing to see here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best storytelling licensed games out there, 27 Feb 2013
By 
D. B. Hubert (Marburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Although technically the game is definitively not an AAA title, it features one of the best stories in the RPG segment in the last year. It is more than likely that any fan of the series who likes RPG titles as well, will have a lot of fun with this game.

If you have no clue about the books and the series, you will still find a great story driven game, but will be let down by the somewhat mediocre gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline,character and... thats' it., 11 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I purchased the game because I liked the Game of Thrones TV show as well as the books and when I saw news that Cyanide works on a GoT RPG I was very curious about the results.

First of all let's be honest this game have some pros and a lot of cons but if you are old school gamer then a lot of disadvantages won't matter to you.

PROS:

GREAT storyline. I really tried to guess many possibilities of outcomes from many situations and always I was surprised to the very end. The method of leading the player through the story is also great. You basically switch from one character to another in every chapter what resembles a bit a... TV show(because we have 15 chapters here), yes it makes you thing something like I want to see what happens to him etc. Besides the author of the saga worked on the scenario and storyline as well and what can I say that this is 1st class storyline. You want to know more you should check it.

Main characters with really interesting background, personalities, not so glorious past(especially Mors) makes this game even more interesting. Also they were voiced very well(Mors sounds like a REAL badass).

I also really care in RPG games about equipment and here it looks good. You have standard items with different statistics and features as well as special/epic items with additional bonuses(some of these epic items looks great). In our equipment we have many types of weapons/armors shields and ... flasks. You see we don't buy here endless amounts of potions but we can fill empty flasks with some healing/burning/poisoning liquids which is another small but nice change after all.

I really liked special ,,abilities" and of characters like the dog who belonged to Mors. The minigame with finding people or items by following the scent was nice addition. Also the battle skills of dog/fire priest were useful.

Great antagonist. Valarr is a real evil bastard(not too original) but still a black character with an edge.

MIXED

Fighting system in this game resembles a bit Dragon age(from console) mixed with old Baldur's Gate. I mentioned those games here because here we have a wheel with skills to choose like in Dragon age and it is totally manual like in Baldur's Gate so you have to choose all special attacks and skills by yourself. Some people might like it some of them will complain. Also when you learn how to fight the game gets sometimes too easy(Mors as tank is almost unstoppable) The good thing is that there are 4 types of weapons and armors and they work against themselves in organized way(for example slashing weapon will be good on light armor but medium or heavy armor will prove too difficult to break but for example blunt weapon like war hammer will be great against heavy/plate armor)

Character development was average. It resembled a typical RPG character development and there are three totally different classes to choose for each character followed by skills and stats development. The only thing I disliked in it was that players weren't given a choice in developing characters like: sacrificing one skill to get another etc. Besides that it was good enough.

Voicing in this game can be compared to one sinusoid sometimes great sometimes terrible. It's because the characters which we know from show/books were voiced by actors from the show and they did a great job(especially the actor who voiced Lord Varys a job well done) also the main protagonists/antagonist were voiced really good but that's it because the rest of characters weren't voiced properly(it's not that terrible but you can hear the difference)

CONS

I'm an old school RPG fan and normally I don't even care about graphics but even so I must say it's terrible here the models of main characters/boss look ok but the rest are really bad. The other bad thing are locations which are small,boring and empty like King's landing for example. The animation is very poor, the npc's and any objects are just static and lifeless.

Soundtrack is another thing which concerns me in RPG's and here it's poor again. We just hear some quiet ambient music in some locations that's all. It doesn't make any impression at all.

The most of the game is focused mostly on fighting enemies and for many people which aren't too patient the game will become frustrating especially because of the fighting system which I have mentioned before.

The interaction with NPC's, objects etc is limited to minimum which includes only main storyline and few sidequests so again we have an impression that we are in empty world.

In conclusion this game has many disadvantages which are serious to casual or younger games and they will make experiencing this game frustrating but if you are patient enough or you're old school RPG fan and if you give this game a chance then you will discover a great storyline and some great characters like Mors and Alester.

In my personal rating I'll give it 6,8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bad just really really awful should be named garbage of thrones an insult to the series, 12 April 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Watling "gamergeek25" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i was very skepitcal of trying this game and after watching the review on youtube for this thought to myself surely this game although yes its an rpg style game it cant be that bad how wrong i was wen i bought this game.

it is by far the worst rpg game i have ever played and takes so long before you actually get into the combat which is by the way atrocious you play two brothers in this game and get a choice of which character you want to be there is only two characters you can play as inthis game one guy that looks and trys so much to be like darth sidous from star wars and the other a guard yes a guard looking sort of character.

you then before you even start the game have to pick strengths and weaknesses which you have to pick at least 3 only i didnt know that as i couldnt figure out how to play this game you dont get a tutorial like most rpg games and once i had finally figured out with the help of a friend how you do the strengths weakness part you than have to sit through alot of dialogue before you start playing.

i was bored when the game did actually start oh and then you have to execute your brother but i was so bored i just kept picking the enough talk just kill him already parts of the story.

so then after doing that i got control of the character and went into a courtyard to supposedly train your men how to fight and then this is where i gave up onthe game completly you have to pick 3 abilitles yes same as weaknesses and strenghs but get this you cant use them until they charge up i was like what the hell ive had enough of this game and turned it off and put fable 3 on which was much much better.

the game unfortunately doesnt not live up to the series and i figured with the success of the game of thrones series they would release a game based onthe books and films but i have to ask the question why do developers torture us by bringing out a really shoddy awful game if this game had been done in the same style of the lord of the rings hack and slash game this game would of maybe stood a chance but unfortunately it falls into rubbish garbage and downright awful and has c.e.x complete entertainment exchange written all over it avoid like the plague and buy fable series or any other rpg game other than this nonsense trype
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars terrible combat system, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i love GoT series and books so naturally i had to get the game. anyway, the game has a good storyline but the combat system is terrible. you have to choose a series of moves before performing them and then you have to wait for your energy to come back before performing more. all good but in the middle of combat it's very annoying. good game if you can put up with the combat system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Terrible storyline and graphics, fight style similar to runescape. Played it once and never plan to again. Slow and boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Love the books, TV series game is just not my thing, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This series of books and TV is faster paced, more graphic and more gritty to get your teeth into it. The game is rather slow and not overly fast paced. Battles are stilted by the constant need to queue attacks and wait for skills to recharge. You cannot just run in flailing a sword or firing a crossbow to kill the enemy you have to give him a chance to hurt or kill you. Players can't be over powered you must give them things like asthma, collapsed lungs, make them haemophiliacs, or cause them issues with previous wounds. These will all inhibit your game play and stop you from being too powered up. Not my sort of game mind you the opening of the game does play the overture which does give me a real boost. You should not expect the game to cover the lives of Eddard Stark, Robert Baratheon, or Sandor Clegane, in this you are a member of the Night's Watch and a Red Priest all of which make things rather different and this game is set during the time prior to the books, as Jon Arryn is the Hand of the King. The game is slow and requires much attention and forgives very few mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game of Thrones (Xbox 360)
Game of Thrones (Xbox 360) by Deep Silver (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: 15.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews