Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb inventiveness
I bought this for reference for building mechanical toys to get some ideas for mechanical movement! It is an excellent book of engineering inventiveness! Incredibly it was first published in 1868 !! As stated, the left hand pages are diagrams with explanations on the right side.
It almost becomes like a game trying to figure out what the movement of the differnt...
Published on 26 Mar 2009 by Simon M Bush

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
This book was first published in 1868 and is now out of copyright (hence this budget reprint). The mechanisms depicted are fascinating and still a useful source of inspiration for anyone designing mechanical movements.
The book is freely available as a PDF from the California Digital Library collection, so I'd recommend downloading that first to see whether you'd...
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by Windom Earle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb inventiveness, 26 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for reference for building mechanical toys to get some ideas for mechanical movement! It is an excellent book of engineering inventiveness! Incredibly it was first published in 1868 !! As stated, the left hand pages are diagrams with explanations on the right side.
It almost becomes like a game trying to figure out what the movement of the differnt diagrams achieve then checking the right side to see if you're right! At a little over a fiver its a snip at the price and worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure trove of almost-forgotten knowledge, 29 Aug 2009
By 
J. Utteridge "Jaded cynic" (Gosport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a tinkerer, hobbyist, engineer, eco-warrior, steampunk, or Fred Dibnah then this book is a fantastic reference of some basic and not-so-basic mechanical contrivances from the industrial revolution, compiled and annotated seemingly by Raffles & Bunny from the pages of Viz. I enjoyed little digs next to some illustrations such as "French version" or "Improvement of Foreign design".

Very useful if you're making any sort of machinery and suffer from "Engineers block". Eco-warriors or those living the Good Life will find an invaluable collection of water wheels, fruit presses, mills, pumps, etc.

Also 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) is a slightly later, much-expanded version which contains a lot more, including furnaces & steam engines and even gasoline engines and electricity generators.

For the real anoraks out there, you can even spot some early mentions of engineering icons such as the original Mr Otis's patented safety elevator mechanism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 2 Aug 2011
This book was first published in 1868 and is now out of copyright (hence this budget reprint). The mechanisms depicted are fascinating and still a useful source of inspiration for anyone designing mechanical movements.
The book is freely available as a PDF from the California Digital Library collection, so I'd recommend downloading that first to see whether you'd value a paper copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 15 Sep 2013
All the information anyone could need and abit more. Very handy and informative. Would recommend to students and experienced engineers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Jan 2011
Great book about mechanisms. One sugestion about mechanisms pictures - they are a bit old - like from 100 old book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 507 mechanical movements, 3 Jan 2010
By 
A. Dixon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Poorly drawn diagrams of mechanisms from by-gone days. The cover design gives more of an impression of an up to date reference book, sadly this is not the case. I returned my copy for a refund. This is definitely a candidate for the "look inside" feature that would ensure people know what they are getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old stuff sold as new publications, 19 Dec 2010
By 
Dr. M. Ruffo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought of buying a new book on the topic and discovered that this is the usual 1921 collection of mechanical mechanism. It's nice to look at them but I was hoping in something more modern. Description are ok for basic mechanisms,a bit light on more complex machines.
However, can help in generating ideas for new inventions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
By 
john moylan (dublin, ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very basic. I am a Design Engineer and bought it to try and trigger a few ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mechanisms galore, 17 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a fascinating reference for the model engineer or for the historian from the days before everything was digital; well worth having on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not to bad, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 507 Mechanical Movements: Mechanisms and Devices (Kindle Edition)
This book give good diagrams and explanation of different types of mechanical movements such as cams, levers, gears. However, I was under the impression prior to purchase, from the internet book search, that it gave instruction of how to create different types of mechanical movement - it does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews