Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light hearted fun
Having grown up with a flaky, hippy mother Allie wants her own life to be dull but secure. Her high power career as an accountant in LA has given her financial security and now at 32 Allie is looking for a husband with a secure job so she can settle down to a future with 2.2 children and a large home. For the last year Allie has been dating Brad, the sex is great so,...
Published on 30 Nov 2012 by Mondoro

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapist chick lit
I have to admit to being a fan of much weightier books, but occasionally I feel the need to... cleanse the palette? somewhat by reading something that doesn't require brainpower and that I can guess exactly what will happen in advance. A bit like watching Eastenders! And this certainly fit for me. Yes, it did the job - I am now ready for another REAL book, this book...
Published 20 months ago by Laura Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light hearted fun, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Disengaged (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having grown up with a flaky, hippy mother Allie wants her own life to be dull but secure. Her high power career as an accountant in LA has given her financial security and now at 32 Allie is looking for a husband with a secure job so she can settle down to a future with 2.2 children and a large home. For the last year Allie has been dating Brad, the sex is great so, although her best friends dislike him, and in truth she has little but sex in common with him, Brad seems to be the man who would give her exactly the future she has been looking for. Brad's sudden proposal that they get married is hasty and not very romantic but the ring he produces is beautiful,and he does fit the picture of her ideal man so Allie accepts with delight. Enter the major fly in the ointment -Sylvia Peterson the future mother-in-law from hell, who is determined to take complete control over the Allie and Brad's wedding.[there are other 'flys' but let the reader find those!] Brad is determined to ignore his mother's interference so that despite the fact that when they have time together the sex between Brad and Allie continues to be great,when they are apart Allie gets more and more involved in lives of her friends and more and more frustrated by Sylvia. Almost imperceptibly to both of them the rift between Allie and Brad grows. Do they, don't they marry, does the reader want them to marry? It would spoil the story to say anymore but this is a frothy, funny story which would make a delightful poolside or train/plane journey read.fjs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frothy, lightweight and entertaining, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Disengaged (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is not original and nor does it approach being great fiction but for a quick, easy and entertaining read it's ideal.

Allie is planning her wedding to Brad but Brad's Mother is the future Mother-in-Law from hell and her interfering is causing real problems with the wedding and the relationship. It is obvious from the beginning that Brad is not the man for Allie but the author has to be careful at this point because if Brad and his family appear to be too silly then Allie does too and the whole book falls apart. In this novel the author gets the balance right - we understand why Allie is prepared to marry Brad but we also know why he's not good enough for her. Watching Allie come to this conclusion for herself is great fun, especially when accompanied by the events around the wedding preparation. Most of this is amusing and bits of it are downright funny (although the bit with the inflatable doll is actually disturbing).

It was nice to see a heroine with a proper job in this book (Allie is an accountant for people in the film industry) and to find that she has real emotional issues around the marriage and her family which were realistically depicted. It all made sense to me in the particular way that light romance does.

This is one to read with a bottle of wine and some chocolate. It will keep you nicely entertained for a few hours and as it aims to do no more it is a very successful novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disengaged, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disengaged (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable and easy to read strong characters in normal life situations makes it easy to imagine the setting of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disengaged (Kindle Edition)
Captivating read. I don't normally do chick flick style books but this had a great storyline to it! Happy reader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Review :), 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: Disengaged (Kindle Edition)
Beth's blurb is a fantastic example of her writing style. It's easy going, realistic and very entertaining. I genuinely loved Allie and her best friends Claire and Michael. How do you know if it is true love or not, or if it is just a case of cold feet before the wedding?

Planning a wedding is very stressful, so it is easy to imagine the questions the bride may be having. I was very pleased that Allie did not turn into a `Bridezilla'; she very easily could have, given the circumstances she faced.

None of the humor in this story is so over-the-top as to not be believable, the story is character driven and the editing and formatting is flawless. I highly recommend any of Beth's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Val Birbeck (Sunderland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Disengaged (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Los Angeles entertainment people get engaged and HIS mother takes over all the arrangements for the engagement party and wedding, at one point even ordering the bride's wedding dress. Had problems relating to the engaged couple, and it became somewhat predictable too early in the telling of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but predictable, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disengaged (Kindle Edition)
Good story, well written. However I guessed the ending about a quarter of the way through the book. Very good holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light romance, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disengaged (Kindle Edition)
A nice light romance, funny but easy to read and a pleasant way to pass some time, at least it held my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disengaged (Kindle Edition)
Loved it, right from the start didn't want to put it down, some very funny bits too, I'm a bit sad it finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read with a smile on my face, 30 April 2013
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disengaged (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Disengaged is a good title for a story about getting engaged and the rocky journey that follows because of it.

It starts off with a proposal by Brad to Allie at a party held in honour of a soap star's Emmy Award (cue outrageous soap plot-lines that are so outlandish they could be real). Jax Montgomery applauds the pair believing they are actors new to the soap rehearsing their first scene but embarrassingly that is not the case. And thus the main characters are introduced.

The rest of the book follows Allie as she prepares for this wedding, although the interfering mother-in-law-to-be, who Allie has an icy relationship (leading to some humorous, barbed exchanges) takes over, much to Allie's dislike. It turns the wedding into a relationship-ruining affair and makes Allie reconsider her love for Brad.

And at the same time through the process Allie seems to be innocently meeting the Jax fellow from the opening scene ("And that's how I ended up on a second non-date with Jax Montgomery.")

Throughout much of the book I had a smile on my face. It is written in a light-hearted fashion but still has length. The humour never breaks up the story and the characters are defined, although maybe some a little one-dimensional (Brad possibly, and his dad who only seems to watch televised sport).

I enjoyed the book throughout, despite me being a man and it being aimed at women, and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disengaged
Disengaged by Beth Orsoff
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews