Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful, powerful, packed with mystery - loved it
I can't tell you how surprised I am to have enjoyed Bone River so much. I wasn't expecting such a complex, meaty plot and anticipated more of an historical romance; more froth than grit. Happy to say I couldn't have been more wrong.

Bone River is a tightly woven mystery based around secrets and lies, both past and present, reaching out to impact upon Leonie...
Published 21 months ago by JK

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History, Mystery and Romance
In the year 1875 Leonie Monroe Russell is living in Washington State, a remote part of the Pacific North-West, and working with her husband Junius an oysterman, and also collecting and studying Native Indian artifacts. Her passion for this had begun with her father who died twenty years before. He was an "ethnicologist" who was obssessed with studying the Native...
Published 19 months ago by elsie purdon


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bone River, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book and could not put it down. I even re read bits afterwards, because I just didn't want it to end.
Set in Washington State in the 1800s, this is the story of Lea, the daughter of a man who collects indian artifacts to sell, and who also studies the local tribes.
The book is beautifully written, and the pace and tension build up as the book progresses. It is interesting from a historical point, the lives of these early settlers was so hard, but it is the story itself which draws you in.
This has to be one of the best books I have read this year, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys history and mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding...., 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, a proper story, a captivating beginning that draws you in to the main character Leonie's life. A passionate and heartbreaking middle and an on the edge of your seat end...brilliant will be looking for more titles by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected - and VERY difficult to put down!, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Dave (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book by accident, but for 99p, I thought it was probably going to be worth a read. This story was not at all what I expected - I thought it was going to be a spooky gothic backwoods horror story, but it unfolded into a complex and compelling story of hidden secrets, bones, clairvoyant dreams, and passion. As a male approaching retirement, I have no interest in reading love stories, but this clever story caught me in its meshes, before I realised what was happening. Good characters, good story, and the occasional surprise - plus bones, mystery, and strange dreams! Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Read, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully constructed story about a time and culture that is long past. Essentially this is Leonie story. Equally it is also story about outsiders and secret; about another way of viewing & makinig sense of the world as Leonie begins to find her own identtiy; to discover and understand why at times her life does not fit in with what she thinks to be true. The prose if tight and evocative.Loved every minute of it as the pieces of the puzzel fell into place
by Carol .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read!, 5 Sep 2013
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read. The story starts as a mystery and develops into a tale of sexual frustration and desire. You will not want to put this one down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a realy good read., 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
I found this was a good read and I did not want to put this book down. I would look for this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep reading!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
Initially I found this book hard to get into. However, I kept reading and by the time I was half way through couldn't put it down. It carries messages in layers - the actual plot, and then messages about race and the place of women in the 19th century backwoods of America. I suspect some of the messages are meant to resonate with the treatment native Americans and others receive in present-day America. This is the first book I've read by this author; I'll now look for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bone River, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
Good interesting story. More about the RED Indian way of life would have been good however I would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing read, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
This is a really great read....an exploration of relationships entering around Leonie...who lives a solitary life in a wild environment surrounded by the few men who have shaped her
.... the shadow of her dead fathers expectations.....the relationship with her husband and its unraveling in the face of a rival....and Lord Tom.....an Indian with whom she shares an unusual bond. The discovery of a mummy in the river bank leads her on a journey of self awakening....that will shake her memories, her relationships and her future...forever. Set in a backdrop of rustic cabins, wild storms and the whispers of native American superstitions about death and the spirit world....this story was not to be put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical journey, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: Bone River (Kindle Edition)
Fabulous read - a book to disappear in. Great ending - would love to see this in film!! Really enjoyed the spirituality and Bibi character. I was waking in the night to read a couple of chapters and began to wonder if I was being called for too!!!!! Recommend this to everyone - first read of Megan's - looking forward to the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bone River
Bone River by Megan Chance
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews