Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for HTPC setup, powerful features at a great price
I built a HTPC around this board in November 2013, not one single incompatibility issue using the following components; AMD FX4350, 8GB Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600Mhz RAM, Radeon HD7950 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840EVO SSD, 2TB Western Digital Green Drive, all systems go and very fast.

This board has everything you need and good quality too, supports FX processors...
Published 16 months ago by Simon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!! WARNING!!
ive encountered a very strange issue with this motherboard. if you are pairing it with a corsair cx430 than it will not fit in, only by about 80%, i dont know why i think its just because the plastic ports holes are maybe not wide enough or long enough or something. an easy solution to this is to buy a 24pin extention which i got from maplin and it works fine now. this...
Published 22 months ago by L. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for HTPC setup, powerful features at a great price, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
I built a HTPC around this board in November 2013, not one single incompatibility issue using the following components; AMD FX4350, 8GB Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600Mhz RAM, Radeon HD7950 2GB, 120GB Samsung 840EVO SSD, 2TB Western Digital Green Drive, all systems go and very fast.

This board has everything you need and good quality too, supports FX processors out of the box with the latest bios updated already.
One of the best mATX motherboards out there that supports AM3+, to include 2 x Sata 3/6Gps, 2 x USB 3.0 ports, Gigabit Lan, PCI Express, DDR 3 overclocking and much more.

The best thing is some of the software bundled from ASRock is absolutely brilliant, my favourite is XFAST USB which speeds up standard USB 2 devices and makes them up to 5 times quicker, XFAST LAN also does a good job with Internet gaming and streaming. Excellent package of software included.

You can't go wrong with this board, only one thing missing I would say is a USB 3.0 header on the motherboard, if you need 2 USB 3 ports on the front, you need to get an adaptor and run the cables through to the back ports, no real hassle though and wouldn't knock a star off just for that.

Backplate, 1 X Sata 2 and 1 X Sata 3 Cables, CD Driver & Software and Manual in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!! WARNING!!, 31 Aug. 2013
By 
L. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
ive encountered a very strange issue with this motherboard. if you are pairing it with a corsair cx430 than it will not fit in, only by about 80%, i dont know why i think its just because the plastic ports holes are maybe not wide enough or long enough or something. an easy solution to this is to buy a 24pin extention which i got from maplin and it works fine now. this isnt a one time thing i returned the items and it happened again, infact because of that i had to remove the cpu, and than waste money buying thermal paste, and a cleanser (really strubborn thermal paste on the cpu fan).

aside from this the product worked fine, didnt have a dvd drive so i downloaded the driver files from asrocks website using my laptop. did its job perfectly fine except for the graphics which required manually going to amd's website because the screen was shifted half a cm to the right which was sorted by the latest update for radeon hd 3000.

the board is superb value, this is probably the cheapest sata 6, motherboard around, with usb 3.0, supports 8 core cpu. for this price i dont think youll find cheaper. the only thing ive got an issue with this is that their is slots for only 2 ram sticks, especially with the prices of RAM, you would want to be using previous sticks not just swapping them with new ones, that is why i wouldnt recommend getting single 2gb sticks, ive personally got a 4gb, in the future ill add another 4gb maybe that should be fine for gaming.

The IO port is a pain to sort out, the tabs are a real pain you have to bend out each pin takes about 15 minutes. well at least thats one thing ive learnt from all DIY computer jobs ive done, things never go as simply as youtube videos make out.

for anyone who wants to know im running this for:
asrock 960gm/us3
amd fx6300
western digital green 1tb harddrive
corsair cmx 4gb (now another 4gb of kingston too)
corsair cx430w psu (now a ocz 650w)
2 fans and and some LED's

overall with the graphics issue , the annoying IO shield and finally the dodgey 24pin socket i wouldnt recommend this board to a new builder, and im personally going to stay away from ASrocks budget line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cheap board with a decent feature set, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
A reasonably priced board for these features. Two USB 3.0 ports (although no board headers for USB 3.0 connections from the front panel - don't make the same mistake I did), and 3 internal fan headers, which is nice - cheaper boards often make do with 2.

However, I do have a complaint: although the board claims compatibility with 8-core AMD CPUs (it even says so right there next to the RAM slots), apparently by compatibility they mean only that the board will run using them, not that it will run well. The FX-8320 is a power-hog of a CPU, no questions, but the power circuitry on this board leaves a lot to be desired, and is completely bare, with no attempt at a heatsink. This is common enough on cheaper boards, but it means that if you try to run the FX-8320 at full load, the VRMs will heat up fast and quickly cause the CPU to throttle to lower speeds. This is a stock clocks, mind you - only a fool would try to overclock a 125W CPU on this board. A full CPU load isn't going to be common, but even at more reasonable loads I am concerned about the longevity of the power circuitry at these high temperatures.
This isn't an issue if you are using a more sensible CPU, of course, but for a board which proclaims support for the FX-8320, I would expect a little better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS really does rock!, 27 July 2013
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Fantastic motherboard, everything works correctly and fx 6300 and XFX 7870 DD fit very nicely! For those wondering if fx series compatible out the box, the answer is yes! Very good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb fast start, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Excellent motherboard bought together with Kingston Technology KHX1333C9D3B1/4G 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM (run at 1.5V, no problem fitting this first then CPU) and AMD ADX460WFGMBOX Athlon II X3 460 Triple-Core Processor (3.40 GHz, 1.5MB Cache, Socket AM3, 95W). Only has 3 slots: PCI express x16, PCI express x1 and PCI but with Ebest-2 Port ATA/133 HDD PCI IDE PC Computer Expansion Controller Adapter Card you can have 3 separate IDE drives (each with slave drive if your PSU and case can handle it). So best of both HDD worlds - legacy ATA133 drives and serial - SATA 6GB/s supporting SSD's. Also has USB 3.
The M/B fast start is brilliant with SSD such as Kingston Technology 60GB Solid State Drive V300 2.5-inch SATA 3 now only £41!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and pretty damn good, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Well, it does what it says on the tin. It's a motherboard for AM3+ processors such as the FX6300 which I put in mine and worked straight away. The only niggle (and it's a very small one) is that if you want to go into the BIOS settings (it's not UEFI) then you hit F11 but then have to wait until another screen has come up before entering, which I didn't know at first so kept restarting until I worked it out. I've not tried overclocking, but it looks easy to do from the BIOS. I needed to download drivers for the USB 3.0 ports and Ethernet to work at all and also listed on the website is a driver for SATA6, but I'm not sure if I need that one. Other than that, it's a very capable motherboard for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Came ahead of schedule got got loads of features. And unless your going to build a system with more than 1866MHz RAM , SLI or crossfire and quad channel RAM your sorted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As rock motherboard, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Purchased this on a request from my son and it arrived extremely quickly and lives up to the job. My son is very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good starter board, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Has lots of good features such as 5.1 sound built in, also it being as rock means you get helpful programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a very good board for even 95w CPUs, 13 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Not a very good board for even 95w CPUs.

It supports 8 core CPUs, but even the 8320E throttles if one overclocks it by 300mhz, courtesy of the weak power design and VRMs.

Good points for USB3 and SATA III, but I should have bought a Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3, it looks like a much more solid board and actually suitable for 125w CPUs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ASRock 960GM/U3S3 FX Motherboard
£43.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews