Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars142
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2014
A deaf lip-reading heroine is an angle with all sorts of interesting possibilities but confusion over money detracts from the story. If she has given the hero immense riches why are the loan notes held by the villain likely to ruin the hero? And if the villain holds all those notes, why is he on the verge of ruin too? Pay off the loans and get on with the rest of the story! It's a pity that this muddled thinking hasn't been edited out as lip-reading conversations that she shouldn't be able to follow presents all sorts of entertaining ideas that never got explored.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I truly enjoyed the character of our heroine, Jessica. I thought Ms. Landon developed her character very well and what a refreshing change of pace to include within her persona the "secret" which is unveiled rather early in the book but I won't give it away in my review.

I also enjoyed the build-up in the relationship between Simon and Jessica, however, from the time Simon's character was introduced in the book, he came across as "too" everything. He was too angry, too loud, too controlling, too bent on revenge. In fact, he was just too overpowering to the point, it contributed to the story seeming somehow contrived. Not enough subtlety - just overpowering in a way that didn't come across exactly right.

I almost gave up on the story - after all, I didn't pay any extra $$ for it as I got it through Kindle Unlimited - basically an unlimited lending type of library now offered by Amazon whereby you pay $9.99 per month and you are able to borrow a maximum of 10 books at a time on your Kindle. At any rate, I decided to stick with the story and it was worth it in the long run to see how the relationship developed between Simon and Jessica. He had been hurt in the past and was determined to never love again. He couldn't help himself though and further, the way he endeavored to protect Jessica because of her secret made all his overpowering ways come through in a good way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Interesting to think how deaf people were considered by society in the past. I read this book very quickly so it must have held my attention
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 October 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book it's self is pretty formulaic as historical romances go, with a brooding misunderstood hero with a tragic past, but it is different in one element in that the heroine is deaf. It is not something I have seen used in a book of this kind before, and I think it works. Being set in the Victorian Era, deafness was not something as socially acceptable as it is now, although it might seem hard to understand.

Simon, the disgraced Earl has returned from India, and the scandal of how his father died, clings to him. He is suspected of doing away with his father but there are secrets to be revealed. Jessica is the desperate heiress, with a secret life, who is desperate to find a viable husband and has only six days in which to achieve that aim.

They marry, and find they are a lot more compatible than they at first thought or hoped to be. Misunderstandings and perils along the way, lead to the conclusion, which is the nature of all these type of books. I found it an enjoyable page turner and perfect for a bit of light escapism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I enjoyed this story about Jessica and Simon. 6 days before her twenty fifth birthday Jessica discovers that her evil step brother Colin is not dead as previously believed and will take control of her inheritance on her birthday unless she gets married. However she is deaf and has hidden this from everyone in society so she does not have a lot of candidates for a husband. At the same time Simon has just returned to London after leaving when his father died and he was suspected of killing him. He also has some unfinished business with Colin and is seeking revenge. A marriage of convenience between the two of them seems to be the answer to both their problems but will Colin just give up on the inheritance and will Jessica and Simon find that the marriage can be more than just a convenience? This is a good book, the main characters are likeable and the storyline flows well. The ending is no great surprise but there are some interesting twists along the way and I will look out for some more books by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
This is the story of Lady Jessica Stanton (who is deaf) & Simon Westland, Earl of Northcote. When she proposes they get married so he can offer her protection from her evil step brother (who as it turns out, Simon has had dealings with in the past and basically is out for revenge against)and he can have all her money in return to prevent him losing everything, he turns her down flat thinking his friend has sent her to help him out of his troubles. However, once he finds out she offered of her own accord he consents to marrying her and the story of how love grows between the pair and the untimate revenge taken on the step brother unfolds. Jessica's obsession with people finding out about her being deaf does grate a bit but I found it a really nice read and I will certainly be reading more of Laura Landon in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Take a girl, deaf because of some childhood illness, who is able to lip read, take a hero suspected of killing his Father who wasted his inheritance and in to this mix add an evil stepbrother who will stop at nothing to have Jessica put in an asylum and thus gain control of her considerable fortune. Next add hero's selfish step mother and opium smuggling and settle down for some rip roaring fun!
The girl, Jessica and the hero, Simon, Earl of Northcote,marry for convenience, he to recover his birth right and to gain revenge on the evil stepbrother and her for the safety of his name.
I enjoyed this book no end, romantic rubbish probably but I couldn't wait to get to the end to make sure the couple are safe and sound.
A good romantic read, a bit Mills and Boon but hey ho, just go with the flow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a wonderful historical romance. The main female character, Lady Jessica Stanton is deaf but tries to hide it. This leads her to being stand offish and slightly reclusive. She finds out that her step-brother, who she had though was dead, is in fact alive and could inherit her family's wealth if she doesn't get married before her birthday which is only one week away. In steps Simon who is a bit of a rogue and blagard. Both character in fact are unitied in their wounded natures.

I loved the pace of this book, the slow way that the two main characters fall in love. I enjoyed the subtle change in Simon's character when he is around Jessica, which adds to his appeal, for me anyway.

There is plenty of plot to get your teeth stuck into and you will be sad when you reach the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really enjoyed this book. It is a love story but with many sub plots such as revenge, murder,smuggling all being planned at the fashionable gatherings of the "ton" in the late 1850's. Characterisations were very good. I loved Simon and Jessica and their friends were delightful. I really hated the bad guys with a vengeance. There was some lovely descriptions of the fashions and eccentricities of the ton which made me smile. Jessica's deafness (not a spoiler as it is mentioned on the back cover of the book and mentioned early in the story) is integral to the plot and is portrayed sensitively and well according to the attitudes of the time. I was rather lukewarm when I reviewed another book from this author but can only say I really enjoyed this one .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I enjoyed reading this book. The characters were credible and I would imagine disabilities were treated differently in that era but love conquered. I would recommend this book if you like a novel with a difference.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.