Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bleach hack & slash, great game to please some Bleach fans appetite (BE WARNED:Spoilers in game for dub viewers).
If I am being honest about Bleach : soul resurreccion I will state this. For it being a hack and slash type game I was having my doubts about how entertaining it would be as they tend to be very repetitive and get bored after awhile, This story mode for this only consists of 14 separate "episodes". To be honest it really isn't even a story mode, infact, its a pretty poor...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by JokerJawz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i thought but still good ....
Bleach soul resurrection is a good game. i love bleach alot but the game does not fully tell the story of what the anime did.

The story only takes about 3 hours to complete on easy but you can change the modes eg hard, very hard.

There are alot of characters and you can level them up but you have so little time to do this with only 12 levels in...
Published on 30 April 2012 by tracey woodward


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bleach hack & slash, great game to please some Bleach fans appetite (BE WARNED:Spoilers in game for dub viewers)., 18 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
If I am being honest about Bleach : soul resurreccion I will state this. For it being a hack and slash type game I was having my doubts about how entertaining it would be as they tend to be very repetitive and get bored after awhile, This story mode for this only consists of 14 separate "episodes". To be honest it really isn't even a story mode, infact, its a pretty poor one at that, no detailed back story for the main characters involved in the story of the anime itself, it only,sadly starts off at Hueco Mundo where Ichigo goes to rescue Orhime Inoue, the first two episodes are to just for you to get to grips with how to play. I think that was useless to add this as a tutorial, in a hack and slash not much tutorial is needed accept which buttons to mash over and over again to whoop some generic cpu horde butt. The 14th episode is the final one as you fight Aizen in a weird monster form powered by the Hogyoku, as FGT Ichigo (this is where I don't want to get into too much depth so not to spoil it for Bleach dub viewers) after doing some powering up and it ends with a cutscene thats not very faithful to what happens in the anime.

As I said, story mode is lack lustre for depth and has not much story behind it like the anime itself.You just go from the last episode to the next one with a long explanation at the beginning of each episode how you got to this point in time for the said episode(s) at a vague attempt to try and provide a back story to inform the audience playing this which was poor and failed in my opinion. There are also two LARGE boss fights, one is Captain Komamura with his Bankai, the other large fight is a massive Espada called Yammy in his resurreccion in Las Nochas. The main minus for me in this game is more to do with how story mode could have had more content added to it and better quality of story telling to it so new people who may have picked this up wouldn't be dumb founded at a boy in a shihakusho can thrust black streams of energy at weird masked monsters and white suited henchman in a bland environment from a black sword. This could have at least had a prologue to how Ichigo gained his powers as a sub soul reaper up till he had them taken away and left it at that part,then skip to the Hueco Mundo arc where this games poor excuse of a story mode started off.

Now for the positives for this game, one is graphics, as good as it gets and very faithful for graphics to how the anime looks and sleek and characters specials and move-sets for all 21 characters are very detailed and exact to how they did them in the anime and movie(s) so I give the game credit for being faithful for characters appearances and move-sets and is great to play each one as someone who has watched the anime. The next positive is MISSON MODE, now this is where the whole game is at, its the most fun part or longer part of the game as you have to start on low class mission to gradually unlock all 28 missions, each mission is slightly different to each other some can be set conditions like "one hit kill each side" and "finish the boss in 10 minutes" or "you cannot jump (X button)". These test how you can use each character to their fullest, for me my favourite is Gin Ichimaru as he has a great moveset and special that allows for fast rapid combos to earn more soul points to level up abilites and stats.
----------
* EXPLANATION : Soul Points are earned after each mission or episode on the game and you can multiply these SP's earned by chaining high combos together. For example getting over 300 hit combo gets you 3x the soul points earned while doing the combo and will earn them once you successfully complete the mission.
----------
To use these soul points you use a grid system (those how have played Final Fantasy X/10 will know what I mean) where you move from one circle to another, some offer abilites, others offer stat enhancements to better your characters basics, like health and longer spiritual pressure bar, which will help trust me. For me this game will have you doing more of mission mode or soul attack than anything else (story mode is where you unlock most of the characters, 3 are obtainable in mission mode), this mode kept me grinding on different missions trying to get soul points to level up my favourite character and enhance them and was on it for a few hours trying to do this, but this is coming from a Bleach fan.

For those of you who have watched the dub of anime and are in doubt whether to get it or not, either watch the rest on crunchyroll for subbed or prepared to be spoiled for character design, but story mode is bad so doesn't give too much away about exactly what happens. But this is the game we are talking about, so Bleach anime watchers or fans this is a MUST BUY for mission mode and you will be on it for hours leveling up your favourite characters, those who are not familiar with Bleach (the anime series) you may be wandering whats going on and be put off by it, don't be jst buy it for the gameplay and graphics and they are great and recommend for some mindless hack & slash fun.

Buy for the easy and fun gameplay and amazingly detailed cel-shaded anime graphics.Have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i thought but still good ...., 30 April 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bleach: Soul Resurrección (PS3) (Video Game)
Bleach soul resurrection is a good game. i love bleach alot but the game does not fully tell the story of what the anime did.

The story only takes about 3 hours to complete on easy but you can change the modes eg hard, very hard.

There are alot of characters and you can level them up but you have so little time to do this with only 12 levels in story. there is a mission mode that has 28 levels and a soul attack mode but you mostly just do the same thing all the way through which obviously gets very repetitive.

Some of the best characters are also left out like Orihime and chad. The best thing about this game for me would be that you can level up your characters but with so little time to do this you just find yourself doing the same thing for so long when your character only goes up by 5 levels.

I give this game a 6.5 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Resurreccion, 17 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic game for those who follow the series or read the manga, while it lacks a few vital characters such as renji, shinji and etc. it has a large 3d gaming environment with nicely thought out enemies (a large range of hollows and shinigamis). Furthermore each characters move's are completely unique which makes each of them great fun to explore.

There are three different gaming modes, firstly story mode which like the name suggests you play out the fights to the actual story, Soul attack where you can attempt to set new records in speed, enemy count defeated or highest points earned and compare them against other players around the world and lastly the mission mode which I found the most fun where you are set to win the game usually with some sort of handicap or time limit.

With a range of achievement and character levelling this game is sure to keep you occupied and is great value for money. The only cons i could say to this game are that it is very easy, even in very hard mode achieving an S rank is just a matter of getting a high combo so it's not very challenging. Another personal con is as a HUGE Zaraki Kenpachi fan this game just doesn't capture how epic he is and it is fairly unfair that he cannot perform high combo's and unless using his grabbing move which is quite fun but eventually is just time consuming.

So for those who are still in doubt buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All flash and mindless violence... the perfect Bleach game basically., 20 Sep 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Back in the day when I was really into anime, Bleach was a show I actually had a bit of a fondness for. It started off incredibly strong with it's opening story arcs, but I lost interest as the story gradually got more bloated, padded and inconsistent. It's a shame, there's a lot to like about it... which is why I decided to give this new game based off of the series a shot, as it looked quite nice in trailers and I still have a bit of a soft spot for Bleach despite it all. It thankfully is a good game, but damn is it lacking in the content department.

Skipping out a massive chunk of initial story and making no attempt to establish who any of the characters are or what their backstory is, Soul Resurreccion begins with superpowered Shinigami(Or "Soul Reaper") Ichigo Kurosaki and his equally powered up pals Ishida and Chad infiltrating Hueco Mundo, home dimension of the 'Hollows'(Soul devouring ghost monsters) in order to rescue their friend Orihime, who is being held prisoner by rogue Shinigami Aizen and his forces. So as Ichigo and pals split up to search Aizen's enormous palace 'Los Noches', the game charts a series of one on one battles between numerous characters from the series and the forces of Aizen's elite 'Espada' and goes all the way up to the final battle with Aizen himself. It has to be said, this game does a terrible job of conveying the story between the battles, with pretty much zero cutscenes used, heavy reliance on narrated text screens and any dialogue from the characters happening during gameplay. It really does feel like a rushed game, especially seeing as the story mode is only something like 4 hours long and the character roster of 21 is about half the number that it should be in order to properly get the whole story across. Some of the character omissions are just baffling, with the rather crucial 'Vizard' group of characters removed from the story entirely. It feels extremely stripped down and is a really bad way to experience the story that is being adapted here. I mean, I wasn't expecting something on the level of Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm 2(Which is as perfect an adapation of an anime storyline as I have seen in a game), but a little more work on this front would have been nice.

Thankfully, the gameplay at least is very well executed, if a little 'confined' for what it is. It's more or a less a Dynasty Warriors type affair, just with smaller, more linear levels and less enemies on screen at once. There is a trade off here though, as while it doesn't have hundreds of enemies at once swarming you like a DW game would, Bleach at least has some serious speed to it and far 'bigger' scale battles than anything you'll have seen in DW. A good example of this is when the 'Menos Grande' Hollow types show up. This things are the size of a skyscraper and can appear just about anywhere during gameplay in open area levels. The only way to fight them is to either lock on and pound them with long range attacks or fly straight at them and chop at their giant faces with your sword. It's quite an impressive sight to start with to be having to fly at top speed through the air to outrun a giant energy beam from a Menos' mouth, but it gets less charming when you're got groups of Menos' blasting you to death in seconds in harder parts of the game. The high speed of the game is pretty cool as well, depending on who you are playing as anyway. You can blast through the air at super speed any time by holding R2(Which is similar in execution to the high speed dash in the Dragon Ball Raging Blast games) and some characters also fight at extremely high speeds, with you being able to jump above a group of enemies and use Ichigo's airborne super attack to rapidly slash at them all like crazy, often racking up combos of hundreds of hits in a single use. Another neat addition is the 'Ignition' mode, where you fill up a gauge by attacking enemies and when it's full you can activate that character's 'powered up' form. Again, using Ichigo as an example, using the Ignition mode activates his 'Hollow Mask' form, which makes him faster, stronger and increases the size and range of all his special attacks, with you able to use an 'Ignition attack' at any time during the mode to unleash a MASSIVE super move that does enormous amounts of damage over a huge range. It can be extremely satisfying to turn the tide of a tough battle with a quick Ignition mode boost . Which brings me to the game's mission mode, which is in many ways much much better than the story mode as it not only has a much higher number of levels to it but also has far more challenging and satisfying to play battles that sees you fight through increasingly large swarms of enemies before fighting up to four of the game's bosses at once in what makes for some incredibly tense battles. It can be a lot of fun at times to be hitting someone with a super move that sends them smashing through a collapsing tower or building only for their partner to appear out of nowhere and do the same thing to you. There is also a pretty hefty character customisation system that sees you earn 'Soul Points' for every battle/level you complete based on your stats and you use those points to buy upgrades and skills on a board that is identical to Final Fantasy X's Sphere Grid system. It's quite deep for a game like this, but the almost compulsory grinding you will need to do can get pretty frustrating in it's slowness. Lastly there's the 'Soul Attack' mode, which offers up all the usual time trial and survival modes and such which come in multiple levels of difficulty. These are decent, but the mission mode is the real meat of this game. There are online leaderboard features too but it might have been nice to have a multiplayer option though.

Graphically, the game is very nice. It's not as nice as something like Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm perhaps, but the character models look great, the Bankai/Ignition attacks look superb and the performance is mostly solid. The dynamically shifting camera angles that zoom in and pan around for certain attacks make for some neat visual moments at times as well. The stages look a bit bland though. The soundtrack is competent, with the occasional really nice tune(The Ignition mode music is some hilariously OTT metal guitar work) but none of the songs from the series that the Japanese version had are in this version. Voice work is pretty excellent(In Japanese at least, as you can choose it or English), with some great touches like characters having relationship specific conversations with each other when they fight that add greatly to the authenticity.

It's a lot of fun to play, but the content is sorely lacking. You'll have enough here to keep you occupied for maybe a dozen hours at most before the gameplay can start to feel like a tedious grind fest as you work to level up every character to fulfill some fairly crazy trophy conditions. Whether you get any more out of it than that will depend entirely on how into Bleach you are.

This is easily the best game based on the series to date, but it's still sorely limited in what it gives you to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good game , but could've been better, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Sashev (Bulgaria , Varna) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleach: Soul Resurrección (PS3) (Video Game)
As a Bleach fan of the anime i was expecting so much from this game. I was so sad that it was only in Japanese, but thanks to NIS Amerika i can try it fully and understand every little detail of the game. I am writing this review and i have passed more of the content and unlocked everything.

First the most impressive thing about this game is the graphic how it resembles the anime perfectly . Hueco Mundo and the City are with so much detail. But at the cost of this great graphic there are also long load times.

Second is the music , the music is great is not your average bleach music , but the guitars are great for the fast pace of the game.

Third is the Story Mode. Well this mode is a disapointment because it covers so little of the anime, and skips most of the battles. And this is a big problem if a player for example is not familiar with the anime. Its most recommended to bleach fans who watch the anime or just read the manga.

The Mission mode is great. Lots of challenges.

The difficulty of the game is just right. From the easy normal mode to the sometimes difficult Very Hard mode.

The leveling has a great depth. So much leveling to do, but if you want to level all characters well you will need patience some more time and grinding.

For last at the first i did not like the game, but after the 11th hour i started to like it a lot, when i got to try all the mission and level my first character to max. This game is great, it could've been better. I recommend it to all Bleach fans not so much to those who are not familiar to the anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, if you're a fan., 18 Jun 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bleach: Soul Resurrección (PS3) (Video Game)
As a fan of Bleach, I enjoyed this game a great deal. I loved the fact that I could play as my favourite character (Tia Hallibel....ah...dear, sweet Hallibel...), and that much of the cast was represented. I enjoyed the RPG-esque character growth system, and I enjoyed the Dynasty Warriors-like fighting system (another series I'm a big fan of).

BUT....at the end of the day, the game is pretty mediocre in the long run. Once you've completed story mode and unlocked every character, there isn't really much to give it a lasting shelf life. There does not appear to be any DLC, and a lack of varying game modes leaves the game feeling a little half-baked. I do believe it's worth buying for Bleach fans, and you'll definately have fun while you're playing it, just don't expect it to be something that you keep coming back to.

If you're not a Bleach fan, then it's probably not worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
..................... .............. .......... ...... .. ...................... .................. ............ .............. ............... ............ .......... .... a a a good good good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul Resurrection, 14 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
A great game! Waited for an anime themed game for ages, and bleach is one of my favourite animes! Waiting for another bleach game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bleach, 28 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
great fun game to play if you enjoy the run around beat em up style of gameplay. its a pretty well laid out game for a linear platform game. the main storyline part could have been longer instead 0f only the 14 chapters covering the arancar arc from the series but the misson and high scores options add to a bit more time on the gameplay front even though it does get rather boring after a while as each character has an air combo attack and ground combo as well as 2 specific talents to each character on the circle button and 2 on the triangle with the ability to be able to carry these moves out in the air. comes with the ability to play as skullclad ichigo and final stage ichigo and the hollowfied ichigo is its own seperate playable character. as well as aizen in his various forms aswell and grimjow and the other arancars the captains fight in the series in the released forms. the game is basically the same sort of game engine as fist of a north star. so if your a fan of the bleach series you will probably enjoy playing through it. i gave it about a 7/10 could have been a bit better but still and enjoyable play through dosent take long to complete on normal difficulty so now going to go through it again on hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Community service.. don't get robbed by greedy opportunists., 18 Nov 2014
This review is from: Bleach: Soul Resurrección (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm not reviewing the game per say, just doing a bit of community service.
As I'm currently writing this, this game is only available from one seller..
Who's charging just under £42 for it including delivery.
Their justification for that is, "it's rare".. yeah it's not. Not rare at all, what an awful thing to do.. I'd happily report them if I could.
Anyway, if you're in the UK, order it from CEX.. it's £20 as of the time I'm writing this.
[...]

Even with that price, I urge to look around more.. paying £40 for this is just completely insane.

As for the game, I like it.. not very story based and it is a little grindy at times, but if you're a bleach fan you'll at least somewhat appreciate it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bleach: Soul Resurrección (PS3)
Bleach: Soul Resurrección (PS3) by Koei (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: £31.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews