Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars playstation 3d monitor
this item it amazing, fast delivery and in perfect condition, the 3d monitor is out of this world, makes your games feel as if you are in the action. This monitor will play 2d and 3d both are perfect and deal with two pairs of glasses is bargain ad £70 alone for one pair of glasses, in-built battery amazing 30min = 30hrs of constant use. Films in 3d great and 3d is crazy...
Published on 10 July 2012 by qwerty

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
Dated 08/04/13
I meant to updated this soon after leaving this review. I was able to adjust the clear type of font/pixels by simply lowing sharpness setting to almost nothing, most text is clear except when it appears too smooth when bold text is shown on some websites and PDFs. I still am not happy with the view angle of the screen, it is a downgrade in that regard...
Published 20 months ago by The Savant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars playstation 3d monitor, 10 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
this item it amazing, fast delivery and in perfect condition, the 3d monitor is out of this world, makes your games feel as if you are in the action. This monitor will play 2d and 3d both are perfect and deal with two pairs of glasses is bargain ad £70 alone for one pair of glasses, in-built battery amazing 30min = 30hrs of constant use. Films in 3d great and 3d is crazy feeling like you are part of film. No issues as yet with product was a bit sceptical buying item with other reviews but glad I made the purchase. Monitor + two pairs of 3d glasses+ 3d hdmi cable + 2 games, expensive but you get what you pay for..overall amazing 3d experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you find a good deal on it, then go for it., 29 Sep 2012
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
I've got one last week, knowing i would only use it on top of my desk, as an external monitor for my laptop (which now remains closed), sitting next to my ps3. For this used it's perfect, i think it's actually marketed this way, and that becomes quite obvious when you see sony's promotional video.

Screen:

Picture quality is very very good. Compares well to a macbook pro's screen, although viewing angles are not very good, as it seems to get darker when you move from side to side, or sit a bit closer to it.

Glare is definitely an issue during the daytime. It's just about okay most of the time when the picture is bright (and on a computer, it usually the case) but when playing games, it get's quite annoying on darker scenes, like shady indoors or night time. I mean it's a real issue... i get that the glossy display makes the colors richer and blacks deeper, but i recon that the cons outweigh the pros. That being said, when you put the 3d glasses on this effect is substantially less annoying, because the shade of they're lenses somewhat reduces reflexions on the screen but at the same time the whole image is darker as well...

3D is good, although not as immersive as i have seen on larger screens, for obvious reasons. It does enhance gaming substantially, and you do miss it when you turn it off. You should really try it out to see for yourself on this one. Again, much better at close distances (3-5ft)

Size:

Well i was used to my 19" LG Flatron monitor and this just feels humongous in the same spot. But, as it feels big on the desk, it feels tiny on a living room wall, plus, with no remote included, it would be nothing but hassle there.

Sound quality:

Depth is not so good. Even with the bass pumped up a notch on the settings it still feels roughly the same as if you were using external pc speakers with no sub-woofer. But that's not necessarily bad. I was just a bit disappointed knowing it has an on-board sub. The driver is good though, i had a great experience through my headphones.

Price:

It's floating a lot on stores these days, and you occasionally see promos on it. 310 pounds is still a bit too much, but anything under 250 is actually quite competitive. Specially when they bundle extra stuff like games and 3d glasses.

Hope this helps. I love mine! Looks great on the desk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 9 Feb 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
Dated 08/04/13
I meant to updated this soon after leaving this review. I was able to adjust the clear type of font/pixels by simply lowing sharpness setting to almost nothing, most text is clear except when it appears too smooth when bold text is shown on some websites and PDFs. I still am not happy with the view angle of the screen, it is a downgrade in that regard to my old 19" monitor. Unless you are dead on straight in front of the screen you will see blurring as if moisture or water is on the screen not noticeable while viewing moving imagery, video gaming (PS3 or PC) but awful for when reading text. I am leaving my star rating as is though! Wortht he buy, you decide if you want to have that as a comprmise and if prices do not drop import from USA at lower price to save at least 1/3 price after paying VAT/import duty! YES everything we pay for in the UK is marked up, for whatever excuses companies come up with, when we can import them cheaper even after paying EU taxes.

The Playstation monitor is good but not great. I didn't expect superb quality sound speakers from a flat panel like this so this part was not surprising, what was however surprising is the screen. It doesn't show good quality as my previous monitor, clear type text is awful even after tuning it numerous times I see no improvement on best setting. This means even clearest of text fonts like Helvetica are not crisp and clean, but pixels are rough on text and this is just something I am not used to. The other annoying thing with this is that the screen appears like a mobile device would after several hours of use without cleaning, sweaty, clammy moist hands would cause, since this is not a touch screen you would not expect this brand new out the box after only turning it on. Not sure this will break in either because I've never seen anything like this before. The coating or screen itself is to blame for this because when at a very slight angle it looks like the screen is moist and makes whatever is on the screen even more difficult to read. I would rate viewing of text on screen 2/5* because it is awful. The brightness and colour is great. Also displays PS3 games well, better than use for a computer monitor so I would say use it for a second display for PS3 if you need, NOT for computer use if its for your main monitor. Overall, a let down and definitely not worth the price. I imported my one and paid import duty and it worked out cheaper than UK retail price. Not happy with this one! Can't say I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Monitor, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
Came with two games; Killzone 3 and Gran Turismo 5. Two pairs of 3D glasses and a PlayStation HDMI cable. Not had any trouble with it and for £325.99 not a bad price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superb picture terrible product reliability, 4 Jun 2012
By 
Wayne (Burghfield Common, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
The display 2 and 3D is simply amazing. Sound quality is like a swarm of bees buzzing in a tin can strapped to the side of the picture; even if you plug in headphones you hear a constant loud hiss of white noise through the 'phones. This means that if you want to enjoy the sound from the game you need to buy the Sony virtual surround sound headphones that connect directly to the PS3 via their own special connection. You simply could not watch movies on this display without the additional Sony headphones. Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Worst thing of all is that less than 2 months after buying it the display simply stopped working (working fine in the morning, no picture in the afternoon or ever again). Looking online is it clear that these displays are fundamentally flawed in some way (many hundreds of people all saying the same thing, no picture, little flashing red light, throw it away) but NOTHING from Sony.

Shame, I really loved it right up to the point it stopped working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much Much Too Pricey, 27 Jun 2012
By 
G. Hamilton "Gerald Hamilton" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
This item gets mostly excellent reviews online for everything except its price. The price on USA Amazon.com is $235:00. This price difference is appalling. I appreciate it was available in USA probably 6 months before we got it in UK. But to stock it at this price is shocking. Though to be fair to Amazon I cannot find it cheaper anywhere else in the UK, yet.
To buy a much larger 3D TV would make more sense and some of the LG 3D TVs do the Dual Player Full Screen business with slightly different 3D glasses than the ones supplied.
If the price ever drops to a reasonable level I will buy it and I expect it will deserve 5 stars !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The price...how can Sony justify that when the USA retails for less than half, 13 July 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
The reviews for this TV weren't bad and got me interested until I saw this price! WTH Sony EU...do you really think people will pay that premium? No wonder it's a flop here. Boo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars over priced cheap poop..., 27 April 2013
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor (Accessory)
I will wait for the super slim edition. Might pay 20 bucks for one, just gotta wait on sony hanging their heads in shame over the pricing. Tell ya the import tax has fairly gone up eh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor
Sony PlayStation 3D Monitor by Sony (PlayStation 3)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews