Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge with method
Scot McKee has cracked it: instructional text expressed in the form of coffee table pick up/put down magazine. It's simple to read: the points he makes are clear and concise, informative and reinforced with anecdotes and colourful experience. The guy has done it then written about it. Tough to find both skill-sets in one person working in the B2B arena in such an...
Published on 14 May 2010 by scorpiosallie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard work and verbose (experienced professionals should know much of the content)
I'm going to get one gripe off my chest at the top of this review - with the exception of a couple of people, the others that have reviewed this book (and who have given it 5 stars) have not reviewed any other products on Amazon.

With that said, I was looking forward to this book, especially as my employer had paid the best part of thirty quid for it and it had...
Published 10 months ago by G Marwaha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge with method, 14 May 2010
Scot McKee has cracked it: instructional text expressed in the form of coffee table pick up/put down magazine. It's simple to read: the points he makes are clear and concise, informative and reinforced with anecdotes and colourful experience. The guy has done it then written about it. Tough to find both skill-sets in one person working in the B2B arena in such an appealing way. He says what we'd like to think. And if we don't think like that we are formulaic and, ultimately, work in a way which is self-defeating. I like it. There's edge. But it's logical edge, not gratuitous. It's logical because it's founded on principles, built on method and finished with analysis. And the creative bit comes at the end of the process not the start. Which means it's got a chance or delivering results. (No, really).Creative B2B Branding (No Really): Building a Creative Brand in a Business World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B2B marketer, dare to be different!, 15 Nov 2010
By 
AJ Huisman (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Yes, yes, yes, that was a very nice brand thingy document whatsit. Now then, I need a new case study and my wife likes pink...' The first thing that you notice when reading Scot McKee's book is the style that it's written in. Mckee has a certain direct, elaborate and definitely humorous way of putting things. From its inception McKee takes us through a short history of B2B branding to its current state, mixing theory and practical examples and ends up taking a look into the (online) possibilities that lie ahead.

The journey that the book takes you through conveys the continuous need for improvement of B2B branding efforts. A brand is a confusing thing, it's not merely the badge or logo but a brand is all about perceptions in the minds of an audience. What we as marketers must manage are those perceptions in order to build a reputation that sets our company apart from the competition. Preferably we manage this in a creative way. The central message of this book therefore is: `B2B marketer, dare to be different!". In these often homogeneous markets we operate in, having a brand and reputation may well be the most important thing that makes buyers choose us. Not anything to think lightly of, and McKee doesn't. He pleas to B2B marketers to work on storytelling the benefits instead of merely stating the functional features of products or services. He uses a lot of real-life examples from his own experience to support this. The examples range from rebranding Eskimo's, using corporate brand tattoos, through to the use of dodgy stock photography and rocket science.

What's good about the book is that McKee uses his own voice to tell his story and while it makes you laugh frequently it helps you understand what he's on about. McKee is passionate about creative B2B branding - "Love is the magic ingredient" - and he manages to convey his enthusiasm effectively throughout this book. While McKee himself claims that he's never been able to read a whole business book I was happy to read his book, although I would have liked it even better if the form it was written in would have been more creative - it's a lot to take in and although the content is good, a more creative form could help to digest this even better. All in all a great expose on the way forward for B2B branding, with a lot of true to life observations, interesting statements and swipey, clicky things that you want to hug and kiss (really!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read: no business talk, great ideas, 17 Jan 2012
From the second I started reading this book, I was hooked. Real life examples are plotted through out as well as the bigger picture Scot paints. For me, the ending was by far the best. I don't want to spoil it for you but I'll never look at a B2B case study the same again!

Highly recommend this book to any marketer in the B2B arena who wants to get away from boring, unimaginative and 'safe' unsuccessful marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate, creative and convincing read, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd recommend this book to any B2B marketer who is thinking about giving their brand a lift. Scott is passionate, creative and convincing in the way he writes about B2B suffering from a lack of creativity. After a number of chapters I couldn't wait to get a conversation started - to speak with my team about how we are perceived, and how we can stand out in a busy marketplace.
The book does lack structure in places, and sometimes I felt as if Scott had gone off onto an unrelated tangent - however, the passion and ideas in other sections more than make up for this. A great inspiring read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gratuitous plug, 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: Creative B2B Branding (No, Really) (Kindle Edition)
It took me 6 weeks to read this book which means one of two things, either each chapter tells a story that you want to take and apply in a meaningful way to your business...or I'm not very bright.

Despite lacking the volume of swearing that I know Scot is capable of, it still contains the same blunt, butt-clenching beautiful story telling that he has become well known for.

The only business book that I have ever read cover to cover and if I'm honest, have genuinely applied. A masterclass in marketing and branding for todays ridiculously complex landscape. Ignore it at your peril.

Funny, charming and loaded with brilliant content. His talent is only surpassed by the author of this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book straight away, 6 Feb 2012
I've known Scot (the author of this book) for quite some time - and I've hired him more than once for good reason. His agency, Birddog, delivers breakthrough Brand Strategy, Creative Strategy & Digital Strategy - without a picture of a suited handshake in sight. Hurrah.

I recently finished reading this book (Creative B2B Branding: No Really) and I found it useful to get his perspective on creative b2b branding. I'm already looking at sections of the book for a 2nd time - and I think it is fair to say, I'll return to the book in years to come.

The bottom line is that Scot is a B2B marketing legend. And if you are a B2B marketeer with even a modicum of common sense - you'll read this book straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for any B2B Marketeer, 8 Aug 2011
the funniest, and best B2B marketig book ever! that's it! nothing more to say. The author also turned out to be a very nice guy, always ready to reply via Twitter to his readers

although i would have preferred it in paperback format, the hardcover looks a bit ridiculous on such a thin book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first business book I have read from start to finish. No nonsense, straight talking and honest., 19 Jan 2011
I'm not usually a fan of business books, colleagues have given me some in the past that have just seemed dull and talk utter pap. This one is different. I stumbled across Birddog (Scot's Agency) a couple of years ago and have enjoyed reading their pearls of wisdom and laughed out loud on many occasions - wishing I had the guts to commission them for some work. They have always appeared edgy, slightly barking, and it is great to see that Scot has carried through this personality into the book.

Personality is an important element of Scot's branding message. Scot doesn't rely on complex and theoretical models that are nonsense when applied in the real world, there doesn't even appear to be much science behind his methods. The main theme is to build a personality for your brand with the help of your customers and your colleagues.

Read it, enjoy it, laugh with it and then implement his ideas. If you are brave enough, you might end up with some adverts featuring a fat bloke with his head in a bowl of cornflakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every marketing student and practitioner!, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Peter R (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
For every marketing student or practitioner this book is a must. Throw away, use as doorstops or light the BBQ with the over-sized and clichéd texts that your Uni prof forced you to pay exorbitant amounts for.

Don't be put off by the rather specific 'b2b branding' title. Anybody involved in even the vaguest way with marketing will benefit hugely from this book. For example, there is a chapter on various research methodologies, their pros and cons and even how to best use each one, complete with story about why there is a fat man, face down in cereal on the cover. For those who use the words 'logo' and 'brand' interchangeably, read chapter 2 before Scot hunts you down and skins you alive.

This is not to say that the book is not about B2B Branding. It is. Specifically. And there aren't many of those around. So if that's your game then this is just the steroid you need.

Neither should you be upset that this doesn't have endless pictures of pretty logos or fancy marketing campaigns. In fact you could count on one hand the number of pictures in this book. Yes. Here is a book on branding that does not have a picture of Coca-Cola, the Coke bottle or anything else related to Coke. And yet you will learn more from this book than those loaded with pictures of brands that we see a 1000 times a day anyway. He replaces the clichéd pictures with delightfully dry British humour.

This is like no marketing book you have read - whether on branding or otherwise. It is evident that Scot McKee lives and breathes brands and specifically B2B brands. He writes in a way that is extremely accessible, entertaining and yet puts the point across in an easy-to-understand-and-apply manner.

Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Against invisible brands, 15 Nov 2010
In an economic climate of uncertainty Scot McKee makes the point that brands don't exist in theories and spreadsheets, they exist in the hearts and minds of people...even business people. His book is a timely reminder that the pursuit of risk reduction and quantifiable results is also a pursuit of the invisible brand when, contrary to popular opinion, there has never been a better opportunity for business brands to put their head above the parapet through creative strategy and communication. The point is enjoyably well made through his inimitable use of parrhesia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creative B2B Branding (No, Really)
£25.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews