Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book
This book was very good I would recommend it to any one a very good gripping story enjoyed reading it
Published 24 months ago by ribbon queen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A light read..
Emily Barr believes she has finally made a life for herself when she becomes engaged to Giles Wythenshaw, son of the owner of Wythenshaw's jewellery factory. Emily overlooks all of his flaws knowing that he will be the answer of getting out of her step-father's clutches and the fish and chip shop she despises. Giles has other plans and loves and knows he needs a scapegoat...
Published 7 months ago by Zoe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Parade (Kindle Edition)
This book was very good I would recommend it to any one a very good gripping story enjoyed reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A light read.., 26 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Paradise Parade (Paperback)
Emily Barr believes she has finally made a life for herself when she becomes engaged to Giles Wythenshaw, son of the owner of Wythenshaw's jewellery factory. Emily overlooks all of his flaws knowing that he will be the answer of getting out of her step-father's clutches and the fish and chip shop she despises. Giles has other plans and loves and knows he needs a scapegoat if he's ever to keep it all a secret. When all is revealed can Giles keep it all from his wife's ears? Will everything one day be forgiven? For Giles the silver spoon is soon to be snatched from his mouth and have him understand truly how the other half actually live.

This book was good, it was interesting and it read well. It had its moments of dullness but that's really to be expected. It was written quite well. Its just I felt some of the story could have been kept out - it didn't add much to the overall story.

The characters were easy to connect with. The Wythenshaw men really got on my wick. They were far to arrogant, egotistical and hypocritical. After a while I found this got quite old quickly. Emily was very, very naïve almost to the point of being childlike. She took everything for face value and believed all the bull that came out of Giles' mouth. I was glad when she finally found her backbone and told him how it is. Sylveen I had a love/hate relationship with. I loved how she knew what she wanted and her strength but then I wasn't too keen on her willing to lie to keep face and keep what she had.

The story kept me guessing but I wouldn't put it down as a page turner. It just didn't keep me that hooked on it. I found by the end I was forcing myself to read on so I could move on to another book.

The ending was nice and not something I was expecting. It was definitely worth persevering through the boring-ish parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 28 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Paradise Parade (Paperback)
This book is an excellently researched book of the period. One can really emphasise with Emily Barr and almost smell the chip shop odours. A book on a par with a lot of Catherine Cookson's. Emily Blairs etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Parade (Paperback)
Anne Baker is a great novelist, every book I have read of hers are brilliant! I definitely recommend her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
By 
Mrs. B. Rimmer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Parade (Paperback)
Very good book. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended!, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Parade (Kindle Edition)
Excellent. Couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Parade, 10 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Paradise Parade (Paperback)
A great book to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradise Parade
Paradise Parade by Anne Baker
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews